We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Penrith
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Howtown Hotel(Howtown)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
62
39
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
39
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamping podsgypsy wagonlovely campsitefire pittoilet and shower facilitiesworking farmcommunal roomhard standingshower blockpot wash areacool campinggrass pitchessmall radiatordishwashing facilitieskept lovely and cleantroutbeck innfridge freezer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in a camping pod and it was great. We stayed in a slightly larger family pod, myself, my husband and our 10yr old daughter. The pod came with 5 x comfortable filled mattresses, a heater, electricity and 2 x lights. A picnic table, bbq stand and storage box were also provided. With our beds laid out there was still room for a small eating area. The pod was warm, carpeted, secure and sturdy with plenty of room for my 6ft 2" hubby to stand up comfortably.
The site was lovely with fantastic views to Blencathra when clear. The loos/showers looked and smelt clean every time we used them.
A communal area was provided near the childrens play area which had seating, TV, magazines, microwaves and a fridge/freezer.
Breakfast barms, porridges or croissants can be ordered from the farm house the night before. Very tasty and on time as promised.
All in all a beautiful site, well maintained and away from the madding crowds.
One thing I think the pods could do with is a hook or two...just for hanging coats up. Everything else, fab!
Hope to be back there soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank NellyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent family run working farm and campsite offering everything from a holiday cottage to a place to pitch a tent or even try one of the luxury pods as well as a night in a gypsy caravan!

Having been coming to the Lake District on family holidays for all 20 years of my life and having heard of my parents' experiences before my time, I can safely say that Gill Head Farm is the best place to stay in the Lake District.

We have stayed at this excellent family establishment for roughly 7 years and have camped here, rented the self catered farm house and even enjoyed the B&B services that are no longer offered - I am still in mourning as I will never enjoy a better farmhouse breakfast with such an amazing selection of foods on offer!

After a few poor experiences camping where it seemed a farmer had just cleared off the sheep and decided to charge campers, we stumbled upon the Gill Head Farm camping site and immediately knew we would never go anywhere else. With laundry services, clean bathrooms and showers and even a club house to relax in you could tell that time and effort had been put into designing a purpose built camp site that provided for all ages and needs. Over the years with the rise of 'glamping' the campsite has begun to offer options for those who want something more than a canvas sheet between themselves and nature, and they now offer luxury pods with electricity, a gypsy wagon and 'armadillos' all at reasonable prices and well worth a try.

So to put it straight, you can spend years trying everywhere in the Lake District to see what is on offer but that would all be a waste as there won't be anywhere better for such a reasonable price so call up Gill Head Farm today, pack up your car and spent a weekend, a week or even longer exploring the Lakes!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank JordanH1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our first time in a Self-Catered Cottage which we booked with Cottages 4U and it was great! Very cosy and homely, with a tv, dvd player, full kitchen and a lovely electric fire. The bed was enormous too, and the walk in shower was great. The location was easy to find, not a lot around in walking distance but we knew that and had the car to get about. Great stay, we hope to return again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a lovely weekend in the self catering cottage it was very comfortable and well equipped with plenty of room for everyone. The owners were very friendly and helpful would love to go back to Gill Head Farm in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This site, which is large but quite isolated, has some stunning views. The toilets and showers were clean. There is a children's playground with trampolines, a communal lounge with a freezer for ice packs, and areas for dishwashing.

There is a small shop at the site that sells some basic provisions and fresh milk but otherwise the nearest places to buy provisions are the garage on the A66 by the Rheged Centre, the shop at Glenridding or somewhere in Keswick.

I really can't fault this site - it was everything we hoped it would be - but it would have been nice if just one of the camping fields (even the small one along the edge) could have been dog-free. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find sites that don't take dogs (not everyone likes them) and, while most people were responsible in terms of controlling their dogs, I didn't particularly appreciate having my burners nearly knocked over by someone's wayward not-on-a-lead mutt while I was cooking dinner. Not the site's fault, I know, but to have been in a dog-free area would have been so much more relaxing.

Places that we visited included the Aira Force waterfall area, which includes some good walks, Ullswater (where we went on a lake 'steamer' - the coffee and flapjack sold on board are highly recommended), and Hill Top, the former home of Beatrix Potter.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Canetoad71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews