We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Wanted”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

just returned from a couple of days here with a group of friends on a reunion. The staff were all very friendly and appeared to enjoy their work. We had room 19 which is of a good size and well equiped, king size bed ,trouser press arm chairs and a table. The food service for dinner was not very fast but I think this is because food is cooked to order and there were 20 of us. It was well presented and of good quality.We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went in the travelzoo deal for the night b&b, 3 course meal and mince pie&mulled wine inc.
On paper it seemed like a really good deal. The hotel itself as a whole is nice, it's old fashioned but has had some modernisation. And did seem really Christmassy. It's right in the centre of Penrith and the free parking is an added bonus.
However, the hotel room is very standard and not great to be honest. I think we had a room that had not been refurbished for some time. The most disappointing aspect was the food. The set menu looked good but when it came, all 3 courses weren't great at all. My main of pork was 90% fat and if I had paid a standard rate for it, I'd of definitely complained. The desert was frozen fruit with whipped cream on.
To be honest, it was just really disappointing rather then bad. We recently went to hillthwaite house in Windermere on a similar deal and it was twice as good.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent top rate hotel,perfect room,friendly and helpful staff, food was superb and web will certainly be returning. Been to Penrith many times usually self catering but we enjoyed being waited on for a few days and cannot fault the service we received.

Room Tip: room 5 large room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is welcoming, nice bedroom and excellent food. Great to be able to step out and straight into the centre of Penrith. Due to milk intolerance, I always request green tea, especially for breakfast, but on two of the mornings, this was not available. Oddly, there seemed to be a delivery on Sunday, because it was available on Monday morning. We also asked for some specialty tea for the bedroom - just standard tea bags were available. This is something many hotels include as standard. We were shocked to be charges £2 at checkout for a few tea bags. A letter to the manager has resulted in a very abrupt reply that I would have had to pay £2.50 per cup in the bar as (he strongly pointed out) I should have known. What an idiot - comparing me having to fill a kettle, open the tea bag packet, put it in the cup, heat the water, put it on the tea bag (having put the bag in the cup), and then remove the tea bag - with someone bringing me the tea to a nice comfy seat in the bar area. So, if you need different tea, pop down the Co-op around the corner and buy some. Oh - and there were no biscuits provided when the room was serviced on our final day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 440JOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on this site. I would like to state one fact that I am far from an idiot! your review on this site I see as a personal attack and it is not appreciated.

We go to great lengths to satisfy our guests and your quibble about the eight tea bags that we supplied and the lack of biscuits on your last day is very far fetched after the hospitality that you received.

As stated, our pricing policy is transparent. However if the sum of £2.00 has resulted in this personal attack I will gladly refund the amount if you would be so kind to call me directly at the hotel.

Again thank you for your review

Justin Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend, staying at the George Hotel in Penrith. We had previously had a drink there while passing through, but had never stayed.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Feature Room we asked for; this had a sitting room area, and it was great to have a feeling of space, and to be able to relax on the comfortable settee and armchairs, and do some writing.

The breakfasts, afternoon tea, and dinners were delicious, with good service.

The outstanding features of this hotel include:-
1) its history - which can be traced back at least to 1597; amongst the notable 'guests' was Bonnie Prince Charlie in 1745. Some of the ceilings still have original plasterwork, which to my mind looked more like 17th rather than 18th century.
2) its central place in the community. Penrith is one of the all-too-rare towns which has kept its integrity, and also its sense of community. It was heartwarming to see how so many local people use the hotel for drinks, meals and also for club and community events. I believe many hotels in other parts of the UK could learn from this.

Three minor quibbles:
a) The hotel was roasting hot. We nearly melted in the dining room, as our table was next to the radiator which could not be turned down or switched off. Fortunately we were able to switch our room radiators off.
b) The hotel was already decked out for Christmas. The decorations were tasteful, and clearly enjoyed by visiting children, but to begin Christmas in mid November seems completely over the top.
c) The music was 'dull' at best ... but thankfully rarely intruded.

However, these are minor issues, and we would wholeheartedly recommend the George as a place to stay.

For those who don't know Penrith: it really is a gem. Every building in the centre of this market town has architectural interest. The nearby parish church is interesting, as apart from the 13th century tower the building was completely rebuilt - after fire? - in the early 18th century. Do visit Arnison's, the gents and ladies outfitters close to the hotel: this has been trading since 1742! I came away with a wonderful blazer ... it is a joy that this kind of shop still exists.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sorry I have to write this as the hotel is lovely and the staff too, but too pay so much for a weekend stay and hardly get any sleep both nights due to the constant noise at the front of the hotel makes me have to say something. People arguing outside at 2am in the morning, waiting for taxis, getting takeaways from the pizza place opposite. And the noise of the traffic constantly all night long through the one way system is just too much. True the hotel has secondary glazing but even with the windows shut the is a lot of noise. To have the window open you might as well have your bed on the pavement outside! So may I say to the owners, who are not short of a few bob, the matter needs addressing, we were not the only ones talking about it at the Breakfast tables in the morning. Maybe traffic should be re-directed from midnight to 5am/6am in the morning to give residents some much needed sleep. Talk to the local council.
Lovely hotel, great break, but would NEVER stay there again if I was given a room on the front.

Glad I never booked for Xmas and new year !

Room Tip: Do not sleep at the front of the hotel, when checking in confirm with reception your at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brownmild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

A nice enough place for coffee and scones. Service was excellent by Vicki, a lovely waitress. The coffee was nice and the scone was ok. A better scone could have been sourced by the hotel as these were clearly bought it. Nice warm atmosphere with lovely Christmas decorations draped everywhere.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TheFoodCriticUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,151 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £80 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing