We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at The George Hotel after our children had booked us in for 3 night stay as a surprise silver wedding anniversary present. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Located right in the centre of Penrith the private car park to the rear of the hotel was an absolute godsend, the staff were warm and welcoming and made you feel very special immediately. The hotel itself exudes an old world elegance and charm with beautiful wood panelled walls, cosy corners filled with oversized armchairs to enjoy a pot of tea and read the paper, soft lighting and a feeling throughout of understated quality and excellance. Our room was pleasantly decorated, spotlessly clean with a lovely view of the chuch tower and a bed that was extremely comfortable. Dappers bar was a lovely intimate place to sit and have a drink and the staff in there were exceptional, as were the staff in the restaurant where we ate a 3 course meal every night, such a beautiful elegant room with food that was exceptional [would love chefs recipe for clementine and caramalised pineapple pavlova !!] Breakfast was also a delight with a huge choice of cereals fresh fruits pastries and continental meats as well as a full english that was superb or more subtly the smoked haddock. Penrith town itself was lovely too ,, lots of interesting little shops , bars etc and of course the whole of the Lake District Country Park on your doorstep. We loved this hotel and will definately be coming back for another stay, we loved the fact that the floorboards creaked, we loved the old wooden revolving doors complete with brass rails and original makers inscription on them , we loved the beautiful fireplaces and original features and best of all we loved the welcome we recieved, Norbett in the restaurant was a complete treasure as was young Tom and Callum in Dappers - you know who you are guys - thankyou . We had a fab time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sue1Kai

What a review! Many thanks for taking the time to pop it on Trip Advisor.
It is always fabulous to hear such wonderful comments from your stay with us to celebrate your silver wedding anniversary and I am so pleased that all the staff made you feel so special.
Norbert, Callum and Tom will be thrilled to have got a mention personally as they do try so hard to make everyone welcome to the George with, as you say, "it's old world elegance and charm"

We look forward to welcoming you again to Penrith, which is a great place to stay when your visiting the Lakes


Kind Regards and once again thank you for such a fabulous review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    282
    91
    54
    32
See reviews for
104
439
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at The George Hotel primarily because of the Murder Mystery performed by After Dark and it was superb all round.

It was our first time at The George and everything was spot-on. The room, although overlooking the car park was quiet and extremely comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food, including a hearty breakfast, was excellent. The hotel was the perfect venue for the Agatha Christie Murder Mystery because George V was monarch during the period the mystery was set and his portrait adorned the wall!

As for the murder mystery itself, it was a departure from After Dark’s usual fare, but it emphasised just what a talented group they are. A thoroughly enjoyable evening’s entertainment from a murder mystery company without peer.

Anyone reading this who is considering a short break in the northern Lakes would do a lot worse than staying at The George Hotel the week-end of July 26th and taking in After Dark’s murder mystery event, Four Funerals and a Wedding. It will be completely different from Tommy & Tuppence, I’ll grant you, but well worth it. It will be a mystery if you don’t!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poultonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear poultonian

What a fantastic review and thank you for taking the time to write your views on Trip Advisor.
The Ballroom is indeed the perfect place to hold Murder Mystery events and George V looking on fitted the occasion so splendidly.
The staff will be thrilled to know that the food and service was "spot on" and we are delighted to see that you got your tuppence worth.

Once again Thanks ever so much
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Hotel is in the centre of town and as massive. Lovely big rooms which have been recently renovated. It has a large restaurant and separate bar area. It has a private car park around the back, which is good, as Penrith has a disc parking system. There is a lot of road noise if you are on the front of the Hotel, but it is quiet enough in the dark hours. Food is not cheap though, £13.00 for fish and chips!
My biggest gripe is the bathrooms, they condensate terribly as there is no heating in the bathroom, so the only was to let the room dry out was to wedge the door open.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room away from the road, I did but still had a roadside room, though they had upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Soniahart

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at The George and am pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade to a Superior room.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 2 days as a couple while walking in the region. It's a charming old fashioned hotel with creaky stairs and tilting corridors. Room was small but well done, quiet (good double glazing) with a good modernised bathroom. The let down is the restaurant. The food is mediocre; even the breakfast was not very well done (a real rarity in Cumbria, in our experience). Dappers Bar, with no windows, is rather depressing

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Max P

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am pleased that you found the Hotel charming with well appointed Bedroom and Bathroom. I am concerned to hear that you found the food disappointing, but hope next time you are up in the Lake District you will give us another opportunity to impress

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked 3 nights, including dinner each night via a Secret Escapes deal. Main reason was as a base for a short exploration of the Lake District, as neither of us had been there before.
The hotel is quite traditional but has been refurbished fairly recently.
Our room (19) was probably the best we've stayed in. Very clean, well decorated and furnished and the en-suite was really good too.
Best of all though, the staff were outstanding. From the time we checked in through to the time we checked out, they couldn't have been more helpful or friendly - a real credit to the hotel.

All-in-all, had an excellent stay. Would definitely choose again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room we had was at the back (I think). Anyhow, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Marc S

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
The staff at the George pride themselves on creating a friendly atmosphere for us all to enjoy whilst ensuring that we provide an excellent product and customer care.
I am pleased that you found your room "one of the best we've stayed in" and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Once again thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here with family (no children) when attending a nearby wedding. We had 2 rooms 11 which is at the back of the hotel and 42 which is on the top floor at the front of the hotel.
Rooms were pleasant, well appointed and spotless, although 42 was more freshly decorated. There's no lift though so if you have mobility problems or are responsible for carrying the luggage you might want to ask for a room on the lower floors (there is a stair lift but it only goes to the 2nd floor).
Found every member of staff we came across to be very pleasant and efficient.
I would stay here again without hesitation despite what I am going to say next.
The noise from the pizza shop opposite the hotel was quite loud and went on to the early hours. It was nearly 2am when we returned to the hotel and the noise persisted for a good while afterwards. The hotel have done everything they realistically can do to combat this. The windows have an extra double glazed layer and insulated blackout curtains etc. It was just unfortunate that as it was such a warm night we had to have the window open. There are also very enthusiastic and persistent bell-ringers operating in the Penrith area of a Sunday morning!
My other moan is that in the process of updating our room (42) they have put in a corner bath which does not quite correlate with the position of the shower head so you find yourself leaning over quite awkwardly when showering.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear linny78
Many thanks for your lovely review and for noticing how much effort we have put in to control outside influences. I will pass on to the staff your kind words and look forward to your next visit to Penrith.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a fantastic night last night- a murder mystery by the sensational After Dark in the lovely setting that is the George Hotel. I had a fabulous vegan meal cooked to perfection and served with professional staff. This hotel is warm and friendly and one of these murder mystery evenings is a must do! We sat with wonderful friendly people that made the night extra special. Thanks for the laughs Sally!

Next time we would park on the town car park nearby as it is a tight squeeze on the hotels car park and a hassle to get off as a pass code is needed too get out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear KAREN B

Fantastic review of our excellent Murder Mystery nights here at The George and thank you for the time you have taken to do so.
The staff take great pride in delivering an excellent evening of fabulous food and entertainment with the help of our good friends After Dark.

We are already looking forward to Four funerals and a wedding on the 26th July!

Once again we thank you for your fabulous review

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing