We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lacking customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Being situated in the centre of Penrith, the George has loads of potential. The good is mediocre, but is the lack of customer service which lets the hotel down badly. Staff fail to make eye contact and walk away whilst taking orders or even ignore customers completely.
A real let down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear travelaholic_8

Many thanks for your review on your recent visit to The George and it appears we seem to have
not reached our usual standard on this occasion.
I am looking into the situation and if you could please contact me on 01768 862696 I would like to speak to you personally and hopefully restore a little faith and resolve the situation.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    276
    90
    54
    33
See reviews for
102
431
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is nice. Clean and spacious room. Pretty decor. We happen to be here the night of June 14-15 while England is playing in the World Cup against Italy. Enjoyed popping into some local pubs seeing everyone watch the game. We returned to the hotel at 11:45 PM and walking past the lobby we wanted to check the bar where we had eaten earlier to see if anyone was in there. An employee asked us what we were doing and we told him we were heading back to our room, mainly to let him know we were guests. As we walked past the stairs to look at the bar he rudely said there were "no rooms down there". We stated we were looking into the bar, which had the game on the Telly but was vacant.
We are in our early 60's and are quiet types. My wife and I felt very unwelcome walking about the hotel we were guests of. Might want to stay away if you are under 70 years old, as most of the guests are. The manager might remind this fellow that he is in a service industry and harassing guests for no reason is poor policy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2thdrboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear 2thdrboyd

Thank you for your review
It is nice to hear that you found the hotel was nice and that you had a clean and spacious room.
Regarding your issue with our Night Porter.
After speaking with him, you indeed did say that you were going to your room, but then you went down to the bar to which there are no rooms.
That is why the night porter stated that there were "no rooms down there"
He did not mean anything other by it, only to let you know. I think this is just a case of crossed wires.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My sister and I recently spent two wonderful nights at the George and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Perfectly located, the George excelled in all areas of accommodation, service, meals and atmosphere. It is so popular with locals for everything from coffees, afternoon teas and lunches to evening meals that this speaks volumes as a recommendation. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear yentl51

Many thanks for you kinds words upon your recent stay at The George.
The George is an hotel that is very much loved in the local community and as you have so carefully observed does all things for all people, locals and visitors alike.

Once again thank you for a great summing up!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

i cannot comment on the rooms as never stayed overnight but if they are to the same standard as the rest of the hotel they will be excellent , we regularly dine here and the food and service are really excellent , really friendly staff , food is also fairly reasonably priced , the hotel decor is old fashioned and tasteful and very clean , the dappers bar has been refurbished not long ago and is very nice , they do excellent bar meals in there , just been to a murder mystery night - really good night , recommended if you want something different .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Chris J

Many thanks for your review. The Murder Mystery nights have always been popular at The George and I am pleased you enjoyed the night.
It is nice to hear that you use the Hotel frequently and that you enjoy the surroundings, and staff and that you find the food reasonably priced
I am sure you know the work that has gone into the upgrade to the Bar and Lounges, being a local.
Next time you pop in ask for JD and you can have a look at some rooms to know that they are as tasteful as the rest of The George

Once again thank you for your review
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at The George Hotel after our children had booked us in for 3 night stay as a surprise silver wedding anniversary present. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Located right in the centre of Penrith the private car park to the rear of the hotel was an absolute godsend, the staff were warm and welcoming and made you feel very special immediately. The hotel itself exudes an old world elegance and charm with beautiful wood panelled walls, cosy corners filled with oversized armchairs to enjoy a pot of tea and read the paper, soft lighting and a feeling throughout of understated quality and excellance. Our room was pleasantly decorated, spotlessly clean with a lovely view of the chuch tower and a bed that was extremely comfortable. Dappers bar was a lovely intimate place to sit and have a drink and the staff in there were exceptional, as were the staff in the restaurant where we ate a 3 course meal every night, such a beautiful elegant room with food that was exceptional [would love chefs recipe for clementine and caramalised pineapple pavlova !!] Breakfast was also a delight with a huge choice of cereals fresh fruits pastries and continental meats as well as a full english that was superb or more subtly the smoked haddock. Penrith town itself was lovely too ,, lots of interesting little shops , bars etc and of course the whole of the Lake District Country Park on your doorstep. We loved this hotel and will definately be coming back for another stay, we loved the fact that the floorboards creaked, we loved the old wooden revolving doors complete with brass rails and original makers inscription on them , we loved the beautiful fireplaces and original features and best of all we loved the welcome we recieved, Norbett in the restaurant was a complete treasure as was young Tom and Callum in Dappers - you know who you are guys - thankyou . We had a fab time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sue1Kai

What a review! Many thanks for taking the time to pop it on Trip Advisor.
It is always fabulous to hear such wonderful comments from your stay with us to celebrate your silver wedding anniversary and I am so pleased that all the staff made you feel so special.
Norbert, Callum and Tom will be thrilled to have got a mention personally as they do try so hard to make everyone welcome to the George with, as you say, "it's old world elegance and charm"

We look forward to welcoming you again to Penrith, which is a great place to stay when your visiting the Lakes


Kind Regards and once again thank you for such a fabulous review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at The George Hotel primarily because of the Murder Mystery performed by After Dark and it was superb all round.

It was our first time at The George and everything was spot-on. The room, although overlooking the car park was quiet and extremely comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food, including a hearty breakfast, was excellent. The hotel was the perfect venue for the Agatha Christie Murder Mystery because George V was monarch during the period the mystery was set and his portrait adorned the wall!

As for the murder mystery itself, it was a departure from After Dark’s usual fare, but it emphasised just what a talented group they are. A thoroughly enjoyable evening’s entertainment from a murder mystery company without peer.

Anyone reading this who is considering a short break in the northern Lakes would do a lot worse than staying at The George Hotel the week-end of July 26th and taking in After Dark’s murder mystery event, Four Funerals and a Wedding. It will be completely different from Tommy & Tuppence, I’ll grant you, but well worth it. It will be a mystery if you don’t!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poultonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear poultonian

What a fantastic review and thank you for taking the time to write your views on Trip Advisor.
The Ballroom is indeed the perfect place to hold Murder Mystery events and George V looking on fitted the occasion so splendidly.
The staff will be thrilled to know that the food and service was "spot on" and we are delighted to see that you got your tuppence worth.

Once again Thanks ever so much
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Hotel is in the centre of town and as massive. Lovely big rooms which have been recently renovated. It has a large restaurant and separate bar area. It has a private car park around the back, which is good, as Penrith has a disc parking system. There is a lot of road noise if you are on the front of the Hotel, but it is quiet enough in the dark hours. Food is not cheap though, £13.00 for fish and chips!
My biggest gripe is the bathrooms, they condensate terribly as there is no heating in the bathroom, so the only was to let the room dry out was to wedge the door open.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room away from the road, I did but still had a roadside room, though they had upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Soniahart

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at The George and am pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade to a Superior room.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing