We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Celebrating our wedding anniversary my wife and I settled upon the George Hotel in Penrith as a base for our Lake District trip. Booked accommodation through Secret Escapes.

After a 6.5 hour drive (might have been quicker if we hadn't been stuck on the M6 car park), we found the hotel and checked in. Extremely pleasant member of staff offered us help with our luggage and because we were late checking in gave us a voucher for our complimentary tea and scones to be taken at some other time during our stay.

Our room, 3rd floor and no lift so please be warned that if you have an issues with stairs to enquire of the hotel if you can be accommodated on the 1st floor where there is at least a stair lift.

I would take issue with other guests who criticise the interior décor. It is not run down, it is clean, tidy and quirkily old fashioned. Just like hotels of the Georgian era. Rather this than the stereotyped décor of some large chain hotels.

Staff (all staff) were attentive, courteous and professional, stopping to have a chat if time allowed.

Accommodation was clean, comfortable the bathroom looked as though it had been recently upgraded. The housekeeping staff were extremely good. Never before have I been to a hotel where you pass the time of day with housekeeping, while on your way to breakfast, who are obviously working elsewhere, and upon your return your room has been clean and tidied. We were at the front of the hotel and found the room slightly stuffy so had both sets of windows open. Unfortunately this contributed to on an average score on sleep quality because of the noise outside of the hotel during the evening. Revellers on their way home at 2:00am then deliveries to hotel and the shops. I didn't find it much of an issue but my wife did and if she did then I have to !!

Restaurant - breakfasts were very good. Get your own cereal, fruit, yoghurts etc. and tell the staff what you want for your cooked breakfast. All done in a very timely manner. Again staff could not be faulted.
Dinner - on the first evening we booked for 20:30 but didn't get in until 21:00. No matter. Tom kept us up to date with matters, got us a drink and we sat in the lounge. We were on holiday and no going anywhere so did it matter ? The next 2 evenings we booked our tables and were seated within 5 mins of the allocated time. Thurs and Friday we ate from the normal menu. If I am honest the choice was limited and did we have to have chunky chips with everything ? Could chef no include mash or new potatoes or ..? But what there was was well cooked, presented and plenty of it. Saturday we tried the a la carte at an extra £10:00 per person. Better choice but still well cooked and presented and not a chunky chip in sight. Staff very good.
A word of praise for the chef. Two evenings the hotel had an Ullswater College prom and then the following evening a wedding. On both evenings we were not kept waiting anything more than the normal time for our dinner. Well done chef.

Belated tea and scones were taken upon our return from a day excursion. Slightly disappointing that it was only one scone per person. Aren't there normally two ? Also what happened to the clotted cream ? Cream appeared to be our of an aerosol ?

Can I also point out that the management might wish to look into why it was the fire alarm went off four times during our stay. Three times alone on Saturday. Now either it is the fault of staff or guests or a fault on the system. My money is on former rather than latter but still four times is four times too many. Still at least it made you focus on the escape room info posted in each room. How many of us never bother to read it when staying at hotels home or abroad.

Recommendation. If you like walking then do pick up a copy of the walking guide sold at reception. We did and did the walk at Little Salkeld and then the one up to the Penrith Beacon. The first one was very enjoyable, finishing with tea and a slab of cake at the Watermill Organic café. but the one to the beacon was disappointing because trees obscured the view over Penrith towards Ullswater. A note to the powers that be wouldn't go amiss.
Also we did go to Pooley Bridge and had a steamer trip on Ullswater which is about 7 miles from the hotel Note: the car parks charges are a bit pricey. £5:00 for 4 hours or £7:00 for 12 hours. We opted for a fiver and hoped to do a bit of a walk around Glenridding. With the steamer timetable and the length of walk we would have been back 10-15 mins later than our expiry time on the ticket. So we opted to stay on and do the round trip. £26:00 for two for a 2.5 hour round trip.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at the George and if we ventured north of Watford again to the Lakes then would opt for the George for our accommodation.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the front of the hotel. Although double glazed if you have to have the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Fareham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Fred_Fareham_uk

Many thanks for choosing The George to celebrate your recent wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed the fabulous new refurbishment of the Hotels lounge, Devonshire Restaurant and Bar.

Indeed a huge amount of time has gone into getting the décor to suit The George as a traditional yet professional relaxing environment with a thriving local and visitor base, of which we are very proud

I am especially pleased that the staff took time to chat with you and that you found them attentive, courteous and professional and I will pass on your comments.

Once again thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope we can be of service on your next anniversary

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    277
    90
    54
    32
See reviews for
102
432
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in Penrith, hungry and not in the mood for fast food. We'd been to the George many years ago and left disappointed but we thought we would try again and were delighted with our choice.

The restaurant is tastefully decorated in a traditional way and there is the option of a set menu or a la carte. We chose the 3-course option with wine (for a little over £20 per person) and we very pleased with what we had.

The service was discreet but friendly, the portions were a sensible size and we didn't feel rushed at all.

Would we go back? Yes, we would.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Steve C

Thank you for you recent review on Trip advisor.

The Devonshire Restaurant is perfect for a relaxed lunch and I am pleased that you found it good value with three courses and a bottle of wine at £20 per person.

The staff will be pleased that you found the service discreet and relaxed and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Once again thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The pictures and description are terribly misleading. The hotel is in the middle of ran down city, it is appr.10 miles from the Lake District. There is no ‘scenery' nor a ‘country’ luxury stay. It is a business hotel with the ran down interiors.

I drove 4 hours from London to enjoy nature and the country side in the Lake District- this hotel is nothing near to the country stay. I got a 4-night stay here. Needless to say I am checking out tomorrow.

Room Tip: room 33 faces the town church - the bells would not stop!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to point out the wording on the Secret Escapes page as follows :

"..A traditional hotel near the Lake District, with a cream tea on arrival, breakfast, three-course dinner and a free room upgrade (subject to availability)

The George Hotel in the historic town of Penrith is perched at the gateway to the Lake District National Park, giving you direct access to its spectacular mountains and shimmering lakes. Its location is perfect for long idyllic walks and summer picnics."

I would also like to point out that Penrith is not a City it is a Market Town that is steeped in history and is most certainly not 'Run Down' as you state in your review! The town traders I am sure will be disgusted to hear your comments on a town that they invest so much into.

The George Hotel underwent a full ground floor refurbishment 18 months ago and as you will see by the photos from travellers and other reviews and our website, that it is far from 'Run Down'!

I need not say that I take exception to your comments as very far fetched and shocked that you would have the nerve to ask for a refund through Secret Escapes after posting this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We dined in the restaurant with our 2 children and we're made to feel very welcome (even though the kids were getting abit wriggly). We were served by Yvonne and John, they were really friendly and chatted with us. The food was lovely, very tasty. This was our first time eating at The George but it certainly won't be the last. Thank you

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greatfoodseeker1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear cherrytree100

Many thanks for such a kind review on Trip advisor, and we would love to welcome you and your family back to The George very soon.
Yvonne will be delighted to have got a mention and kind words always put a spring in our step.
I am pleased you enjoyed your food in The Devonshire Restaurant and that you all had a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Being situated in the centre of Penrith, the George has loads of potential. The good is mediocre, but is the lack of customer service which lets the hotel down badly. Staff fail to make eye contact and walk away whilst taking orders or even ignore customers completely.
A real let down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear travelaholic_8

Many thanks for your review on your recent visit to The George and it appears we seem to have
not reached our usual standard on this occasion.
I am looking into the situation and if you could please contact me on 01768 862696 I would like to speak to you personally and hopefully restore a little faith and resolve the situation.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is nice. Clean and spacious room. Pretty decor. We happen to be here the night of June 14-15 while England is playing in the World Cup against Italy. Enjoyed popping into some local pubs seeing everyone watch the game. We returned to the hotel at 11:45 PM and walking past the lobby we wanted to check the bar where we had eaten earlier to see if anyone was in there. An employee asked us what we were doing and we told him we were heading back to our room, mainly to let him know we were guests. As we walked past the stairs to look at the bar he rudely said there were "no rooms down there". We stated we were looking into the bar, which had the game on the Telly but was vacant.
We are in our early 60's and are quiet types. My wife and I felt very unwelcome walking about the hotel we were guests of. Might want to stay away if you are under 70 years old, as most of the guests are. The manager might remind this fellow that he is in a service industry and harassing guests for no reason is poor policy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2thdrboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear 2thdrboyd

Thank you for your review
It is nice to hear that you found the hotel was nice and that you had a clean and spacious room.
Regarding your issue with our Night Porter.
After speaking with him, you indeed did say that you were going to your room, but then you went down to the bar to which there are no rooms.
That is why the night porter stated that there were "no rooms down there"
He did not mean anything other by it, only to let you know. I think this is just a case of crossed wires.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My sister and I recently spent two wonderful nights at the George and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Perfectly located, the George excelled in all areas of accommodation, service, meals and atmosphere. It is so popular with locals for everything from coffees, afternoon teas and lunches to evening meals that this speaks volumes as a recommendation. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear yentl51

Many thanks for you kinds words upon your recent stay at The George.
The George is an hotel that is very much loved in the local community and as you have so carefully observed does all things for all people, locals and visitors alike.

Once again thank you for a great summing up!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing