We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne Afternoon Tea.....”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went to the George Hotel for a champagne afternoon tea at the weekend. The hotel is very charming and full of character. The staff were attentive and the plate of goodies that were brought to us were very tasty; the sandwiches, scones and a top layer of cakes that we just couldn't manage.
When we first sat down a pot of tea was brought straight over......the only problem was that after 10 minutes we still didn't have any milk. So I had to go and ask for some. Then when we tasted the tea it was horrible! I would have expected Earl Gray or at least a decent English breakfast tea but I think we had Basic of Basics tea dregs! The tea didn't compliment the scummy cakes and sandwiches at all.
If you're going to go to town on the cream tea, then at least serve a decent tea...one that actually tastes like tea and not some discount brand!
A shame but the rest was nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoosieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear MoosirEm

Thank you for your recent review of the your visit to The George. I am pleased that you found the staff attentive and that you enjoyed the section of scones, sandwiches and cakes.
We serve Twinings Tea at The George and we could have replaced your tea to Earl Grey if you had mentioned at the time.
Hopefully the fact that you enjoyed your Afternoon tea overall will ensure that you have a return visit and enjoy some Earl Grey in the near future

Many thanks
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was great. Myself and my fiancé (both in our 20's) stayed here for our 4 year anniversary together last week and it was a really good stay.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has some real character. We specifically chose a hotel like this instead of a boring generic travelodge and we are so glad we did. The secret escapes deal which we booked was extremely good value and we could not fault anything. The three course meal was excellent. I chose from the included menu and my fiancé chose from the a la carte paying just £10 to upgrade and both meals were of a very high standard and were lovely. Compliments to the chef. The room was great and breakfast was really nice too. All in all we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and we will go back next time we are in the area.
I cannot understand some of the other reviews of this place - just your usual trip advisor moaners! The hotel and Penrith is far from run down if you book here you will have a great stay.

Thank you to all of the staff working on the 26th and 27th June you were all great and made us feel really welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bigblade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Bigblade40

Lovely review of your recent stay with us!
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay for your 4th anniversary and for choosing The George.
It is strange sometimes when people cannot see the investment that has gone into the premises but it gives me great satisfaction to see that most people can see the obvious!
I will pass on your thanks to the staff on the dates of your stay as they always appreciate the comments and I am pleased you had a relaxing stay

Hope to see you next year!

Kind Regards and Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Celebrating our wedding anniversary my wife and I settled upon the George Hotel in Penrith as a base for our Lake District trip. Booked accommodation through Secret Escapes.

After a 6.5 hour drive (might have been quicker if we hadn't been stuck on the M6 car park), we found the hotel and checked in. Extremely pleasant member of staff offered us help with our luggage and because we were late checking in gave us a voucher for our complimentary tea and scones to be taken at some other time during our stay.

Our room, 3rd floor and no lift so please be warned that if you have an issues with stairs to enquire of the hotel if you can be accommodated on the 1st floor where there is at least a stair lift.

I would take issue with other guests who criticise the interior décor. It is not run down, it is clean, tidy and quirkily old fashioned. Just like hotels of the Georgian era. Rather this than the stereotyped décor of some large chain hotels.

Staff (all staff) were attentive, courteous and professional, stopping to have a chat if time allowed.

Accommodation was clean, comfortable the bathroom looked as though it had been recently upgraded. The housekeeping staff were extremely good. Never before have I been to a hotel where you pass the time of day with housekeeping, while on your way to breakfast, who are obviously working elsewhere, and upon your return your room has been clean and tidied. We were at the front of the hotel and found the room slightly stuffy so had both sets of windows open. Unfortunately this contributed to on an average score on sleep quality because of the noise outside of the hotel during the evening. Revellers on their way home at 2:00am then deliveries to hotel and the shops. I didn't find it much of an issue but my wife did and if she did then I have to !!

Restaurant - breakfasts were very good. Get your own cereal, fruit, yoghurts etc. and tell the staff what you want for your cooked breakfast. All done in a very timely manner. Again staff could not be faulted.
Dinner - on the first evening we booked for 20:30 but didn't get in until 21:00. No matter. Tom kept us up to date with matters, got us a drink and we sat in the lounge. We were on holiday and no going anywhere so did it matter ? The next 2 evenings we booked our tables and were seated within 5 mins of the allocated time. Thurs and Friday we ate from the normal menu. If I am honest the choice was limited and did we have to have chunky chips with everything ? Could chef no include mash or new potatoes or ..? But what there was was well cooked, presented and plenty of it. Saturday we tried the a la carte at an extra £10:00 per person. Better choice but still well cooked and presented and not a chunky chip in sight. Staff very good.
A word of praise for the chef. Two evenings the hotel had an Ullswater College prom and then the following evening a wedding. On both evenings we were not kept waiting anything more than the normal time for our dinner. Well done chef.

Belated tea and scones were taken upon our return from a day excursion. Slightly disappointing that it was only one scone per person. Aren't there normally two ? Also what happened to the clotted cream ? Cream appeared to be our of an aerosol ?

Can I also point out that the management might wish to look into why it was the fire alarm went off four times during our stay. Three times alone on Saturday. Now either it is the fault of staff or guests or a fault on the system. My money is on former rather than latter but still four times is four times too many. Still at least it made you focus on the escape room info posted in each room. How many of us never bother to read it when staying at hotels home or abroad.

Recommendation. If you like walking then do pick up a copy of the walking guide sold at reception. We did and did the walk at Little Salkeld and then the one up to the Penrith Beacon. The first one was very enjoyable, finishing with tea and a slab of cake at the Watermill Organic café. but the one to the beacon was disappointing because trees obscured the view over Penrith towards Ullswater. A note to the powers that be wouldn't go amiss.
Also we did go to Pooley Bridge and had a steamer trip on Ullswater which is about 7 miles from the hotel Note: the car parks charges are a bit pricey. £5:00 for 4 hours or £7:00 for 12 hours. We opted for a fiver and hoped to do a bit of a walk around Glenridding. With the steamer timetable and the length of walk we would have been back 10-15 mins later than our expiry time on the ticket. So we opted to stay on and do the round trip. £26:00 for two for a 2.5 hour round trip.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at the George and if we ventured north of Watford again to the Lakes then would opt for the George for our accommodation.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the front of the hotel. Although double glazed if you have to have the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred_Fareham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Fred_Fareham_uk

Many thanks for choosing The George to celebrate your recent wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed the fabulous new refurbishment of the Hotels lounge, Devonshire Restaurant and Bar.

Indeed a huge amount of time has gone into getting the décor to suit The George as a traditional yet professional relaxing environment with a thriving local and visitor base, of which we are very proud

I am especially pleased that the staff took time to chat with you and that you found them attentive, courteous and professional and I will pass on your comments.

Once again thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope we can be of service on your next anniversary

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in Penrith, hungry and not in the mood for fast food. We'd been to the George many years ago and left disappointed but we thought we would try again and were delighted with our choice.

The restaurant is tastefully decorated in a traditional way and there is the option of a set menu or a la carte. We chose the 3-course option with wine (for a little over £20 per person) and we very pleased with what we had.

The service was discreet but friendly, the portions were a sensible size and we didn't feel rushed at all.

Would we go back? Yes, we would.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Steve C

Thank you for you recent review on Trip advisor.

The Devonshire Restaurant is perfect for a relaxed lunch and I am pleased that you found it good value with three courses and a bottle of wine at £20 per person.

The staff will be pleased that you found the service discreet and relaxed and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Once again thank you

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The pictures and description are terribly misleading. The hotel is in the middle of ran down city, it is appr.10 miles from the Lake District. There is no ‘scenery' nor a ‘country’ luxury stay. It is a business hotel with the ran down interiors.

I drove 4 hours from London to enjoy nature and the country side in the Lake District- this hotel is nothing near to the country stay. I got a 4-night stay here. Needless to say I am checking out tomorrow.

Room Tip: room 33 faces the town church - the bells would not stop!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to point out the wording on the Secret Escapes page as follows :

"..A traditional hotel near the Lake District, with a cream tea on arrival, breakfast, three-course dinner and a free room upgrade (subject to availability)

The George Hotel in the historic town of Penrith is perched at the gateway to the Lake District National Park, giving you direct access to its spectacular mountains and shimmering lakes. Its location is perfect for long idyllic walks and summer picnics."

I would also like to point out that Penrith is not a City it is a Market Town that is steeped in history and is most certainly not 'Run Down' as you state in your review! The town traders I am sure will be disgusted to hear your comments on a town that they invest so much into.

The George Hotel underwent a full ground floor refurbishment 18 months ago and as you will see by the photos from travellers and other reviews and our website, that it is far from 'Run Down'!

I need not say that I take exception to your comments as very far fetched and shocked that you would have the nerve to ask for a refund through Secret Escapes after posting this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We dined in the restaurant with our 2 children and we're made to feel very welcome (even though the kids were getting abit wriggly). We were served by Yvonne and John, they were really friendly and chatted with us. The food was lovely, very tasty. This was our first time eating at The George but it certainly won't be the last. Thank you

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Greatfoodseeker1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear cherrytree100

Many thanks for such a kind review on Trip advisor, and we would love to welcome you and your family back to The George very soon.
Yvonne will be delighted to have got a mention and kind words always put a spring in our step.
I am pleased you enjoyed your food in The Devonshire Restaurant and that you all had a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Being situated in the centre of Penrith, the George has loads of potential. The good is mediocre, but is the lack of customer service which lets the hotel down badly. Staff fail to make eye contact and walk away whilst taking orders or even ignore customers completely.
A real let down.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgehotelpenrith, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear travelaholic_8

Many thanks for your review on your recent visit to The George and it appears we seem to have
not reached our usual standard on this occasion.
I am looking into the situation and if you could please contact me on 01768 862696 I would like to speak to you personally and hopefully restore a little faith and resolve the situation.

Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £81 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing