We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Really Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed here after 3 of us had spent 10 days cycling round the lake district. The room catered for 5 people, perfect, the staff were brilliant and let us put our bikes in a downstairs room, the facilities are lovely. My 4 star is for the restaurant. Our meal was nice, we had the chateau briand, one of my children had the penne pasta as a childrens portion, it was a fairly large plate with a small bowl in the middle, filled with literally 6 pieces of penne, my 3 year old could eat more than 6 pieces of penne from being about 12 months old, my 10 year old wasn't impressed, we did joke about it and often do. Also at breakfast they started clearing away the buffet early and one of my children who had chosen to have cereals and fruit first hadn't had chance to get to the buffet, it was a good time before the advertised serving time too, so i had to ask for something. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again though, but would be a bit more careful about dinner choices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyBCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on dinner, which I promise to follow up. I do hope that this does dot deter you from returning soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
There are newer reviews for North Lakes Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here to break the journey to Scotland and it was great once again
Warm welcome, good food and drinks.
Children really enjoyed the pool and the treats left for them in the room
Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

'Highly recommended!' thank you ever so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Had a lovely experience the room was a good size as having a 5 year old with a lot of toys needs a big room. Room was nice beds were comfortable little one slept on a sofa bed and was spacious and cosy. The spa and pool were amazing spent hours there. Staff were all lovely and breakfast we had was very good. At night we sat in the bar with crisps and snacks and was nice and family friendly we will be returning to stay at the hotel. Very much enjoyed it. Can't wait till next time !!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank 363chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for the glowing review, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Awful. The room smelled faintly of smoke. No hot water.
Hopeless staff. Offered free stay after complaining to the head office, but not accepting this level of service. Have stayed on números ocasions in the part, big this experience a real surprise. Expected better of a 4 star hotel.



Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank lightpainter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I am genuinely sorry that our attempts to remedy matters for you whilst you were here were met with robust rebuff. I am also sorry that you deemed our offer of either a refund of your accommodation or a complimentary future stay unwelcome. That offer remains, should you wish to contact me. The hot water issues were quickly resolved, and I do believe that a future visit might give you a more representative experience.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel for a formal works function. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean only niggle no tissues in the bathroom. The pool and spa looked very good but we didn't try them. Bar area comfortable with a cosy log fire. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for the lovely review, and sorry about the tissues!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here while visiting family at Christmas. Firstly, the staff could not have been nicer. Throughout the hotel from the front desk, restaurant staff and Spa everyone made us feel very welcome.
Pleasantly surprised by the room. Very happy with the evening meal. Happy with breakfast and knocked out by the spa!
We will always stay here when we visit Penrith. Just a point that the town centre isn't really walkable from the hotel (ample parking at the hotel though).

Room Tip: Room was as you would expect. The real strength of this hotel is in its staff - all seemed genuinely...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbdale25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

And we look forward to your next visit.... Thanks for the comments about the team, it means a great deal!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and cannot really fault this hotel. There was a problem with our tv upon arrival and after phoning reception, someone was there to fix it within 5 minutes. Basic room but lovely, comfortable bed. The swimming pool and leisure facilities are great and the spa is lovely. We had a 3 course evening and the food was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much! - do come back soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
444 reviews
22.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £111 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing