We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are a lot better options....don't be fooled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“There are a lot better options....don't be fooled”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It is with regret that I have to write a poor review for North Lakes. Firstly the location is unfortunate. It's very urban and not in keeping with what you'd expect from the Lake District. The first impression walking into reception is great. The bar area and restaurant are very pleasing to the eye. However the room itself is very dated. The overall feel of the hotel is that it needs significant investment to modernise and remain in keeping with contemporary expectations. I would suspect most guests would select this hotel for the spa. If you are looking to relax and unwind this isn't the place for you. The hotel is very child friendly which is great for families but not so great for everyone else. Coupled with that the steam room was closed during our stay and wouldn't be fixed for 5 days apparently. The pool and jacuzzi area were incredibly busy the whole time which wasn't ideal either.

In summary, the hotel is very family friendly so if you have children then don't be put off. For everyone else there is a lot better in the region so keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jhs2mpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback. You will pleased to note that we are about to embark on the refurbishment of our Classic rooms, and that the Steam room is now fully repaired. My apologies for this, I do hope it did not detract too much from your stay, and that you might give us another try, perhaps avoiding school holidays where Families do play a large part.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    360
    131
    64
    26
See reviews for
277
363
25
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

i was a little concerned when we got off the coach at this hotel, first we were hit with the smell of freshly placed manure and it wasn't much to look at on the outside, but inside.. WOW! beautiful fireplace and very happy staff, and i loved my room. the food was beautiful, definitely recommend to all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that the rest of your UK tour went well.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My heart sank when we first approached this hotel. It is painted bright blue and looks like a 1950's holiday camp. Overall look is cheap and nasty.

However, inside it is very nicely appointed with welcoming and polite staff. Good sized room with very comfortable beds. Only complaints apart from cost was that the shower was poor with low water pressure and variable temperature (odd in a Spa hotel) and the very good towels had a very strange stale odour which transferred to skin when used. Quite unpleasant. It may be the detergent used but not nice to use.

One night b&b for 2 cost £163 - much too much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claws2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I was genuinely sorry about the issues you appear to have encountered. I am not aware of any water pressure issues, and do hope that you informed us at the time. I'm sure that this contributed to your value for money rating, and do hope that you might give us another try, at which point I'm sure we'll deliver a more representative experience.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this hotel because we had afternoon tea here a few years ago and we loved the open fire and the comfortable atmosphere of the hotel. We had noticed it had a good sized indoor swimming pool. It's just off the M6 motorway at Penrith, so ideal for the traveller.

We were not disappointed, – the staff were very helpful, the log fire was burning and the hotel was very comfortable. The lounge has a high ceiling with wooden beams so you feel as if you were in an alpine lodge. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed using the swimming pool and had dinner in the restaurant. Altogether a very pleasant experience. The only comment I would make is that the price of breakfast and dinner is a little expensive but the service with very pleasant and helpful people serving you.

Room Tip: Try and book an all-inclusive deal to get the breakfast price down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Super review, thank you ever so much. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The outside of this hotel looks like a holiday camp but inside is very well furnished, lots of wooden floors and large fireplaces and the rooms were very nice. On the first evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent. The children enjoyed the swimming pool. However, when we made the hotel booking we were assured that children were most welcome and when I suggested they get some earplugs for our little ones was told they are quite used to boisterous kids and it would not be a problem. On arrival we went into the cafe for lunch. This consisted of sandwiches and chips for which the price was we felt extortionate! Our 3 year old and 4 year old girls were noisy to say the least finding the wooden floor excellent for practising their tap dancing. Needless to say we soon rounded them up to keep them quiet and to get them out into the fresh air. While we took them off to get their coats etc, one male member of staff, I believe he may have been from the restaurant, complained to my daughter about the girls behaviour. Of course we had already quietened them down as we were aware of the comfort of other guests. On entering the restaurant for our evening meal, the same rude man from the restaurant seemed quite happy to show us to our table in the furthest corner away from other diners. Well that was enough for us not to bother booking a meal the next evening. We went out to eat instead at a lovely Chinese where the staff more than welcomed the children. This was the first time all five children had had a couple of days away together, ages from 9 down to 6 months. Of course they were overexcited but we always ensured they did not bother anyone else. This hotel has a few children's facilities however if they do not want children who walk, talk, laugh, shout etc. to stay then please say so, but do not give the impression that children of all ages are welcome. Not so.

Room Tip: Rooms for families are okay for 2 adults & 2 children, there were 2 children 2 adults and a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for your review, and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Regarding children, as the father of two young boys, I would like to think that we are incredibly child friendly, and welcome children of all ages. If however, the behaviour of any guest, irrespective of age, has a negative effect on other guests experience, then I am sorry to say that yes, we would intervene.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed here after 3 of us had spent 10 days cycling round the lake district. The room catered for 5 people, perfect, the staff were brilliant and let us put our bikes in a downstairs room, the facilities are lovely. My 4 star is for the restaurant. Our meal was nice, we had the chateau briand, one of my children had the penne pasta as a childrens portion, it was a fairly large plate with a small bowl in the middle, filled with literally 6 pieces of penne, my 3 year old could eat more than 6 pieces of penne from being about 12 months old, my 10 year old wasn't impressed, we did joke about it and often do. Also at breakfast they started clearing away the buffet early and one of my children who had chosen to have cereals and fruit first hadn't had chance to get to the buffet, it was a good time before the advertised serving time too, so i had to ask for something. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again though, but would be a bit more careful about dinner choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyBCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on dinner, which I promise to follow up. I do hope that this does dot deter you from returning soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here to break the journey to Scotland and it was great once again
Warm welcome, good food and drinks.
Children really enjoyed the pool and the treats left for them in the room
Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
'Highly recommended!' thank you ever so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
377 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing