We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD AND BAD - NEWLY REFURBISHED TO EXCELLENT STANDARD SPA EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“GOOD AND BAD - NEWLY REFURBISHED TO EXCELLENT STANDARD SPA EXCELLENT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I am a little baffled by the comments that its dated? its brand new, the inside of the hotel is literally brand spanking new and decorated to an excellent standard, the restaurant is superb the food is amazing, its not cheap but you get what you pay for. The gym/spa/pool etc is top class, very nice clean and seemingly recently renovated to a very high standard.

The only downside was that i booked through an agent on a comparison site and received confirmation that my room was a double with breakfast. When i arrived with my wife i was given a single room only? they said they couldn't change it as thats what expedia (whom i didn't book it with) had sent them? they refused to offer breakfast telling me i would have to pay £30 for it!!! very very poor from that respect, ended up having to go to ambleside for my breakfast!

The steak in the restaurant is Cumbrian beef and top top quality and i dont say that lightly....its expensive but was excellent and the service was very good.

Room Tip: rooms are expensive to be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review, and I am genuinely sorry that you chose not to accept our gesture of goodwill for the problems you encountered.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    352
    125
    63
    25
See reviews for
272
344
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

On a coach tour of the area we had no complaints at all with any part of the hotel. Either with the food or our room the staff who were wonderful ,very polite and helpful nothing was to much bother for them They made us very welcome during our four night stay.One small niggle the lift could be choosy as to how many it would accept at a time. Staff were aware of the problem.

Debourne

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your UK tour!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked through late rooms, had a superior double room for £145 instead of £180. Was disappointed for my money as have stayed in much nicer places for the same or less money. Quite dated, and nothing special. In hindsight, LOADS of better options available for the same or less money.

Few niggles with the room; Coffee machine had a used cartridge in and no spares, asked for more and was told they'd be sent over to the room- they never arrived, no communication or anything. Water in the iron had clearly not been emptied in some time as when used it spat white stains onto clothes. Hotel does not seem very well sound insulated at all. Loads of noise pollution from the corridor and adjoining rooms.

Whilst unpacking after being in the room for 20 minutes a room maid walked into the room UN-announced. Our door was closed and we had been through the check in procedure. Very disconcerting after not being there for long at all.
Had room service try our door again unannounced the next day too. Complained about this to the manager, who apologized but not profusely. Did not seem very sympathetic. Mentioned it to the receptionist when she asked if everything was OK with our stay. She offered to get the manager, but we just decided we wouldn't ever come back so couldn't see the point in escalating the incident.

Swimming pool nice, but very small for amount of rooms. Crowed a lot of the time. Spa fully booked for the whole of our tip, so advise booking in advance.

On the positive side, free wifi good and free on-site parking convenient also.

Room Tip: Book somwhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Clearly we appear to have scored some 'own goals', for which I can only apologise most sincerely. Please accept my re-assurance that your comments have been followed up internally with the Departments concerned. I would also like to think that your experience was not a representative one, and if you were inclined to give us another try, then please contact me personally to handle your reservation, when not only can I offer you the best possible rate, but also ensure that you are looked after superbly.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I am a member of the Shire Group, being based at the Kettering Park Hotel. We went away to the North Lakes Hotel for a 3 night stay over the May bank holiday. There were positives and negatives to this hotel. I'll be fair and start with the positives:

- The location was ideal for easy access into the north lakes and from the main A66 and M6
- The spa was lovely
- The members of staff were brilliant, always happy to help and provide service with a smile!

Unfortunately the negatives:

- The room (208) was extremely outdated, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the bath side panel was falling off and only just hanging on, the taps leaked and the whole room just needed a lick of paint.

- The food was extremely over priced for what we deem to be Weatherspoon quality, at fine dining prices. After one meal in the hotel we went to an alternative restaurant in Penrith (Four and Twenty) The food was well below par at North Lakes for a meal that cost more than the alternative. A fillet steak and sauce came to £30+ and for this i would at least expect hand cooked thick chips, NOT out of a packet french fries. We both felt that the menu needed work and was quite limiting if you had to eat there for more than one night!

Overall not worth the money either for the food or room and that takes into account the member discount rate! We would not be going back and try to find a better alternative.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Many thanks for your review, which I was disappointed to read. As a member of one of our Spas, we would have very much welcomed the opportunity to listen to your feedback whilst you were here, and subsequently to have restored a little faith. Equally, you will be aware that we constantly re-invest in our properties in order to maintain standards, and should be re-assured to note that the room you occupied is in fact earmarked for refurbishment.
Food is always a subjective area, however, I must challenge your comments on food quality, variety and value for money. We have options to suit all palates and budgets, and have held an AA Rosette Award for food quality for as long as I can remember.
I do hope that you might consider returning, and if so, please contact me directly to handle your reservation, and I will ensure that you enjoy a complimentary room upgrade, and that you are looked after superbly.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
233 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip .Although I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening I did have breakfast which was very good. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was quiet and clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Highly recommended! It doesn't get any better than that. Thanks for your review, and come back soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It is with regret that I have to write a poor review for North Lakes. Firstly the location is unfortunate. It's very urban and not in keeping with what you'd expect from the Lake District. The first impression walking into reception is great. The bar area and restaurant are very pleasing to the eye. However the room itself is very dated. The overall feel of the hotel is that it needs significant investment to modernise and remain in keeping with contemporary expectations. I would suspect most guests would select this hotel for the spa. If you are looking to relax and unwind this isn't the place for you. The hotel is very child friendly which is great for families but not so great for everyone else. Coupled with that the steam room was closed during our stay and wouldn't be fixed for 5 days apparently. The pool and jacuzzi area were incredibly busy the whole time which wasn't ideal either.

In summary, the hotel is very family friendly so if you have children then don't be put off. For everyone else there is a lot better in the region so keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jhs2mpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback. You will pleased to note that we are about to embark on the refurbishment of our Classic rooms, and that the Steam room is now fully repaired. My apologies for this, I do hope it did not detract too much from your stay, and that you might give us another try, perhaps avoiding school holidays where Families do play a large part.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

i was a little concerned when we got off the coach at this hotel, first we were hit with the smell of freshly placed manure and it wasn't much to look at on the outside, but inside.. WOW! beautiful fireplace and very happy staff, and i loved my room. the food was beautiful, definitely recommend to all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that the rest of your UK tour went well.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
18.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing