We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A bit of a shock on arrival, only what I could describe as 'smurf blue'. On entering the hotel although it was lovely I found it much too dark especially on a lovely sunny day. The room was very disappointing compared to cheap economy hotels I have stayed in, ripped sheets, very dated, scruffy lamps, tv channels were rubbish... and the doors, well they must have been the heaviest loudest doors I have heard in any hotel I have stayed in, we were kept awake from 1am until 4.30am by other guests in and out all night but because we didnt contact reception every time someone woke us up they werent prepared to do anything about it, although they didnt knock the breakfasts of our bill eventually. Food in the restaurant in the evening was lovely but lunch menu wasnt up to much.Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phonelogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your comments & for making us aware of your issues whilst you were here. It really does afford us the opportunity to restore a little faith, and I do hope that you might give us another try at some point in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having booked online through a generic booking website, a personal phone call confirming the booking was received within ten minutes, asking for our children's names in order that they could all receive a personalised cookie on arrival. Everything looked and sounded ideal for our needs as a family of five looking for a one night stop over en route to Scotland.

We had a moment of concern having read some recent reviews on here...' Wetherspoon quality food' and 'dirty dated rooms' spring to mind.

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed and everything was absolutely perfect. We knew not to expect too much from the external decor, but beyond that, as a family we were all over the moon. Personal little touches like the kids drinks / cookies in the room and the VI little P dressing gowns made it all the better. We had dinner in the restaurant after a swim in the pool and it was as far from a microwaved Wetherspoon quality meal as you could imagine. Service was excellent and the food amazing quality.

I really cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Staff were super friendly and made our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we could have wished for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

What fabulous feedback, thank you so much. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

As many have already said, the exterior aesthetics of this hotel would certainly put you off! The location isn't idyllic but the interior is lovely! Well decorated, warm, cosy and a gorgeous spa pool! The food is absolutely fantastic and such good value for money when paying as part of the package. Would not recommend if you are looking for a picturesque lake hotel but an excellent spot if you plan on venturing/exploring the lakes as it has good road links! Although others have disagreed, I visited as a tourist to the Lake District and was not at all disappointed by the location! Very close to Glenridding where you can get get a boat around Ullswater lake and a lot to do in the area!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times always as a stopover on the way up to the Highlands. We are therefore choosing the hotel to be as close as possible to the M6 and as value for money as possible for a stay. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a holiday. It is in the perfect location for business and travel as it is literally right next to the M6 and it not great to look at aesthetically. However, inside they have done a pretty decent job of decor and the public areas are pretty nice. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and of a good standard. We have stayed in a family room twice which provides a king size bed and bunk beds for children. Excellent. Works well and is very good value for money. They do dinner, bed and breakfast so as long as you don't rack up too much on the bar bill it's excellent value. They also have a spa pool that allows children which is just what everyone needs after a long drive! Therefore for us it's a perfect stopover.

My only downside would be that I would be disappointed if I had chosen this hotel to be a tourist in the Lake District. It's on an industrial estate next to the M6 and is constantly full of conferences, business meetings, weddings and functions.

I would like to commend the hotel for fulfilling its purpose excellently but if I were looking for an idyllic Lake District holiday this would not be the place. Well done though on what it does provide. It is excellent as a stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments, and I very much hope that you choose us again when next travelling north.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was staying at this hotel on business for one night. On arrival at the hotel the exterior does not give any indication of what the inside of the hotel is like. The outside is reminiscent of a 1970's building painted in what I have to say is a horrible blue. However, please don't let this put you off, the inside is lovely and is completely different to what I was expecting. I was lucky enough to be able to make use of the spa facilities and thought that the staff were very helpful and accommodating. I was impressed by the quality of the manicure and the taster facial that I had there. Elle was a great therapist. The one and only negative was the breakfast. I was very disappointed with the quality of the food. I did complain about this as the bacon had turned an odd colour and looked like it was going off. The waiter was very courteous and immediately took the breakfast away and offered me an alternative which I took them up on.

On the whole I would have no hesitation at staying at this hotel again and overall it was a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmetglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I am a little baffled by the comments that its dated? its brand new, the inside of the hotel is literally brand spanking new and decorated to an excellent standard, the restaurant is superb the food is amazing, its not cheap but you get what you pay for. The gym/spa/pool etc is top class, very nice clean and seemingly recently renovated to a very high standard.

The only downside was that i booked through an agent on a comparison site and received confirmation that my room was a double with breakfast. When i arrived with my wife i was given a single room only? they said they couldn't change it as thats what expedia (whom i didn't book it with) had sent them? they refused to offer breakfast telling me i would have to pay £30 for it!!! very very poor from that respect, ended up having to go to ambleside for my breakfast!

The steak in the restaurant is Cumbrian beef and top top quality and i dont say that lightly....its expensive but was excellent and the service was very good.

Room Tip: rooms are expensive to be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for your review, and I am genuinely sorry that you chose not to accept our gesture of goodwill for the problems you encountered.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

On a coach tour of the area we had no complaints at all with any part of the hotel. Either with the food or our room the staff who were wonderful ,very polite and helpful nothing was to much bother for them They made us very welcome during our four night stay.One small niggle the lift could be choosy as to how many it would accept at a time. Staff were aware of the problem.

Debourne

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your UK tour!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,997 reviews
21.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
21 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £108 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing