We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel just as a wedding party were checking in. Thinking it would take a while to check in my husband and son went to explore. In the end I had to look for them as extra staff were drafted in to see to everyone. I was impressed with having my hands full with a new baby that an offer of taking our bags to the room were was made.

The room was lovely and clean and spacious enough for the 4 of us. Our 2 year old was so happy with his cookie plate which had his name in chocolate and a cookie left to great him to the hotel. The room was also stocked with lots of little personal snacks and touches that made it feel so welcoming, from little biscuits, lovely toiletries down to the warm fluffy white robes.

The spa and pool was lovely and clean and not over crowded. On the evening we ate at the hotel from the bar menu and found the food to be delicious and plentiful. The only issue I would have would be it costing over £9 for a 250ml glass of wine - very expensive!

We found the staff to be so helpful and on hand to help with anything. They even offered to clean our babies bottles for us when I realised we had left our washing up liquid at home and returned them to the room.

The rooms were very quiet and considering a wedding party had also checked in for the wedding at the hotel we a heard no one through the night.

Overall a fantastic experience and we can not wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was big enough for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Super comments, especially about the team, thank you ever so much. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at north lakes for one night on our way to a wedding in May. We had a really enjoyable stay and wished we were staying longer. The kids loved their cookies and thought the fold down beds were brilliant. The swimming pool area was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. The outside of the hotel doesn't reflect the inside or we would have carried on driving luckily we had read the reviews and knew what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33loubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback & glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the North Lakes during a 3 night break at end of May, booked through Laterooms.com. Although from the outside the hotel looks like a building from a few decades ago and painted baby blue it was however clean, tidy with plenty of parking. One advantage of the blue colour scheme was spotting the building on returning from a hard days sightseeing. On entering the hotel reception the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The double room was clean and tidy and the buffet breakfast (only meal we had at hotel) was excellent and we'll the money. The hotel is only a 15-20 min walk into the centre of Penrith. Overall an excellent base for exploring the Lakes and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Lovely review, thanks for the recommendation and for taking the time to post your comments.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nothing went wrong with our stay at this hotel on Friday 6th June,16 cyclists arrived tired and were greeted by pleasant staff, nothing was a bother,rooms were comfortable and after a sauna and swim we all enjoyed a lovely meal which had been prebooked with Rosemarie in the events department who organised our stay in advance. We would like to thank everyone who helped make our stay so memorable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22geordiebikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for the feedback, and it was a pleasure to look after your party. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your C2C, especially Crawleyside!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A bit of a shock on arrival, only what I could describe as 'smurf blue'. On entering the hotel although it was lovely I found it much too dark especially on a lovely sunny day. The room was very disappointing compared to cheap economy hotels I have stayed in, ripped sheets, very dated, scruffy lamps, tv channels were rubbish... and the doors, well they must have been the heaviest loudest doors I have heard in any hotel I have stayed in, we were kept awake from 1am until 4.30am by other guests in and out all night but because we didnt contact reception every time someone woke us up they werent prepared to do anything about it, although they didnt knock the breakfasts of our bill eventually. Food in the restaurant in the evening was lovely but lunch menu wasnt up to much.Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phonelogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your comments & for making us aware of your issues whilst you were here. It really does afford us the opportunity to restore a little faith, and I do hope that you might give us another try at some point in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having booked online through a generic booking website, a personal phone call confirming the booking was received within ten minutes, asking for our children's names in order that they could all receive a personalised cookie on arrival. Everything looked and sounded ideal for our needs as a family of five looking for a one night stop over en route to Scotland.

We had a moment of concern having read some recent reviews on here...' Wetherspoon quality food' and 'dirty dated rooms' spring to mind.

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed and everything was absolutely perfect. We knew not to expect too much from the external decor, but beyond that, as a family we were all over the moon. Personal little touches like the kids drinks / cookies in the room and the VI little P dressing gowns made it all the better. We had dinner in the restaurant after a swim in the pool and it was as far from a microwaved Wetherspoon quality meal as you could imagine. Service was excellent and the food amazing quality.

I really cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Staff were super friendly and made our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we could have wished for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

What fabulous feedback, thank you so much. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

As many have already said, the exterior aesthetics of this hotel would certainly put you off! The location isn't idyllic but the interior is lovely! Well decorated, warm, cosy and a gorgeous spa pool! The food is absolutely fantastic and such good value for money when paying as part of the package. Would not recommend if you are looking for a picturesque lake hotel but an excellent spot if you plan on venturing/exploring the lakes as it has good road links! Although others have disagreed, I visited as a tourist to the Lake District and was not at all disappointed by the location! Very close to Glenridding where you can get get a boat around Ullswater lake and a lot to do in the area!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
21.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £115 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing