We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$110
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
492
412
145
68
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
412
145
68
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombunk bedsjacuzzi and steam roomlovely hotelrestaurant staffreception areaswimming pooldressing gownsrelaxing staycoffee machinestayed here for one nightpublic areasleisure facilitiesopen firechanging roomsfresh milklittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Within easy reach of the M6 motorway and simple to locate. Warm welcome, friendly and efficient staff. Clean and comfortable room with all the usual facilities. Good bar and restaurant and a very good choice for breakfast. The swimming pool looked very popular although I did not it myself. The only thing against the hotel was that everywhere inside the building was very, very warm. Would I stay there again - YES.

Room Tip: All rooms were very warm so make sure the windows open.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, and we hope it's not too long before you return.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The North Lakes was an ideal venue to mix business and pleasure during a recent trip to the Lake District. Handily placed just off the M6, the hotel is only five miles from Ullswater. After a day spent with clients, it was great to relax with an evening walk along the lake shore. Our room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate for a short break. Breakfast was good and service friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks for your review, and glad that you found time to venture down to the lake. Ullswater is my favourite lake and really is just a stones throw away! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been touring in England Wales and Scotland for two weeks. The North Lakes hotel was the first hotel in which we stayed that had air conditioning. This was very welcome since the temperatures have been in the high 60's and low 70s. The room was very good and the bed was comfortable.
This hotel shines because of its outstanding service. We had lost an item and asked the front desk to help. They took the initiative in helping us to locate and mail the item. They even sent an email keeping us up to date on the status of the delivery.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast at the North Lakes hotel. We upgraded to a suite and couldn't have chosen better for our well deserved break.
Room was fantastic. Lots of little thoughtful extras. Bathrobes. Stocked fridge. Biscuits. Coffee maker. Bose sound system. Bed so comfy it was hard to get up in the mornings.
Spa and pool are top notch. And so easy to get to from our room making it so easy to make full use of the facility.
Food was the real treat. Dinner both nights was so delicious. Lots of choice and all freshly cooked to order. Breakfast terrific too.
Service was very very good. Right from reception, bar, restaurant and spa. Everyone was so nice and couldn't do enough for you. Particular mention for the maître de in the restaurant. He remembered our names which really adds a personal touch. Also a really nice surprise was a birthday cake for Gary on our first night. I had arranged champagne as a special treat I. Our room on arrival and it was there and waiting sparkling and chilled. I didn't expect the cake as hadn't specifically requested it. It was a lovely thoughtful gesture and added to our enjoyment of our stay.
Good parking on site and location great for exploring the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales.
Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite option is a good value upgrade.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Super review, thank you so much for taking the time! Hope to see you again before too very long.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on a journey to London. It's just off the motorway and very easy to find.
Family room was clean and spacious.
Swimming pool was lovely and spa staff/treatments excellent.
Restaurant is beautiful. Good portion sizes and food was delicious. Children's menu was lovely not just the usual nuggets and chips.
Breakfast had a huge selection and everything fresh.
Staff were all friendly especially resturant.
Highly recommend if you have young children.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for the recommendation and kind comments about the team. Hope you choose us again next time you need to stop off!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews