We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Very average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very average accommodation”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice restaurant with good food and service
Rooms dated and in need of investment, bed linen stained, tatty paperwork, no shower gel, pillows poor, no Air Con so window had to be opened and then road noise disturbed
Staff informed at reception, no offer made
There are better hotels for less

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzzymuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation. Without knowing which room you were allocated, it is difficult for me to comment, although had you made us aware at the time, it goes without saying, we would have done our utmost to send you away satisfied. I very much hope that you might give us another try at some point in the future, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    370
    135
    66
    26
See reviews for
283
375
25
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Heppenheim
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited this house twice - end of May and mid-June.
You mustn't worry, when arriving and seeing the house for the first time in one of the strangest shades of blue! We were looked after very well and the room was simple but clean. Next time it was even rather better!
The first breakfast-experience was pretty bad. No proper service - empty plates were just left on our (small) table and the buffet was a wee bit poor.
Next time we thought to be in a completely different house! Mr. Ravel the, room's chief waiter, was excellent. Service was very quick and proactive. Buffet was rich with lots of choice, everybody tried to do his or her best! What a difference!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LutzOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments about Rene! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Within easy reach of the M6 motorway and simple to locate. Warm welcome, friendly and efficient staff. Clean and comfortable room with all the usual facilities. Good bar and restaurant and a very good choice for breakfast. The swimming pool looked very popular although I did not it myself. The only thing against the hotel was that everywhere inside the building was very, very warm. Would I stay there again - YES.

Room Tip: All rooms were very warm so make sure the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, and we hope it's not too long before you return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The North Lakes was an ideal venue to mix business and pleasure during a recent trip to the Lake District. Handily placed just off the M6, the hotel is only five miles from Ullswater. After a day spent with clients, it was great to relax with an evening walk along the lake shore. Our room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate for a short break. Breakfast was good and service friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for your review, and glad that you found time to venture down to the lake. Ullswater is my favourite lake and really is just a stones throw away! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been touring in England Wales and Scotland for two weeks. The North Lakes hotel was the first hotel in which we stayed that had air conditioning. This was very welcome since the temperatures have been in the high 60's and low 70s. The room was very good and the bed was comfortable.
This hotel shines because of its outstanding service. We had lost an item and asked the front desk to help. They took the initiative in helping us to locate and mail the item. They even sent an email keeping us up to date on the status of the delivery.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast at the North Lakes hotel. We upgraded to a suite and couldn't have chosen better for our well deserved break.
Room was fantastic. Lots of little thoughtful extras. Bathrobes. Stocked fridge. Biscuits. Coffee maker. Bose sound system. Bed so comfy it was hard to get up in the mornings.
Spa and pool are top notch. And so easy to get to from our room making it so easy to make full use of the facility.
Food was the real treat. Dinner both nights was so delicious. Lots of choice and all freshly cooked to order. Breakfast terrific too.
Service was very very good. Right from reception, bar, restaurant and spa. Everyone was so nice and couldn't do enough for you. Particular mention for the maître de in the restaurant. He remembered our names which really adds a personal touch. Also a really nice surprise was a birthday cake for Gary on our first night. I had arranged champagne as a special treat I. Our room on arrival and it was there and waiting sparkling and chilled. I didn't expect the cake as hadn't specifically requested it. It was a lovely thoughtful gesture and added to our enjoyment of our stay.
Good parking on site and location great for exploring the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales.
Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite option is a good value upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Super review, thank you so much for taking the time! Hope to see you again before too very long.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on a journey to London. It's just off the motorway and very easy to find.
Family room was clean and spacious.
Swimming pool was lovely and spa staff/treatments excellent.
Restaurant is beautiful. Good portion sizes and food was delicious. Children's menu was lovely not just the usual nuggets and chips.
Breakfast had a huge selection and everything fresh.
Staff were all friendly especially resturant.
Highly recommend if you have young children.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy_currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for the recommendation and kind comments about the team. Hope you choose us again next time you need to stop off!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing