We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Organised a conference here and found the whole team at the Hotel great to work with.Nothing was too much trouble and looking after all our requirements,no mean feat was done really well.Conference over two days with over 60 people all of whom left well impressed was a real achievement.Food ,service and attention to detail can only be complimented.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review Peter, your group was a pleasure to look after. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for North Lakes Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff of the North Lakes hotel are all very welcoming and helpful, however.......the hotel rooms are very basic, not worth the price charged. The decor is very dated and the bathrooms are in desperate need of an overhaul. The shower curtains are awful, the sealant on the bath and around the shower was coming away, the whole bathroom appeared very grubby on closer inspection although seemed clean enough. The bed was very hard, like sleeping on the floor! The televisions date back to the eighties, as do the pictures on the walls and general appearance of the rooms. There is nowhere to sit and chill, simply a bed and a single chair, not very welcoming or relaxing. The doors to the rooms all slam despite best efforts to close them quietly which causes no end of disturbance and annoyance. Lots of noise coming from other rooms/guests in the hotel. The walls seemed paper-thin. We were offered a free newspaper in the morning but never received it. The main foyer of the hotel is lovely and welcoming but be warned, the restaurant is extremely over-priced. The food was nice enough but portion sizes are very small, especially compared to prices charged. Don't order the spinach and ricotta tortellini. The dish contains a mere four pieces of pasta on a tiny salad which is drowned in an extremely acidic dressing which overpowers everything. Sadly very disappointed with our stay, left feeling very underwhelmed which tainted our weekend away somewhat.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnglishRoseMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I am so sorry that you left feeling this way, and do hope that you made us aware at the time which affords us the opportunity to put things right. If you do decide to give us another try, then please contact me personally to handle your booking, and I will ensure that you are looked after superbly.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a family of five, we were made to feel very welcome at this hotel. The spa facilities are excellent. The restaurant is great both in it's offerings and it's service.
The room for five was slightly cramped, but we expected that to be honest. It was however, very clean and well presented.
The staff were excellent without exception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hiraeth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for the lovely feedback, and glad you enjoyed your family break. Come back soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were returning guests and booked last minute (same day) at a cost of £120, no breakfast (shockingly expensive, Mcdonalds is down the road!)
Yes, the interior is lovely and has lots of charm, but the room this time was shocking. It was a boardroom during the day and converted to a bedroom at night - horrible and not cosy in the slightest. Bathroom very outdated and tired, toilet dripped all night. We were checking in late and had to leave for a function fairly quickly, so arrived back after midnight for some long needed sleep after a hasty change and dump of bags. We had no chance whatsover of a nice stay here! We were the first room next to the lobby on the ground floor, so constant passenger traffic in the corridor, people congregrating at the door chatting, the noise is incredible, and no air con. It was stifling in the room, we couldn't breathe.
As an ex Shire Inn member, we have stayed in this hotel several times over the years and when I informed reception the next morning, all we received was I'm sorry, and you should have come to reception to tell us. Well lady, here I am telling you! No offer of anything, I think she was quite embarrased and did not know what to do.
We shall never return to this hotel - rooms can be nice, but it really is pick of the draw, you win or lose sadly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am dreadfully sorry that you had such a poor nights rest and, having stayed several times previously, that this one-off experience would prevent you form returning in the future. If you were to change your mind (and I very much hope you do) then please make your booking via myself and I will organise a complimentary room upgrade, and that you are looked after superbly.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice restaurant with good food and service
Rooms dated and in need of investment, bed linen stained, tatty paperwork, no shower gel, pillows poor, no Air Con so window had to be opened and then road noise disturbed
Staff informed at reception, no offer made
There are better hotels for less

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juzzymuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation. Without knowing which room you were allocated, it is difficult for me to comment, although had you made us aware at the time, it goes without saying, we would have done our utmost to send you away satisfied. I very much hope that you might give us another try at some point in the future, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited this house twice - end of May and mid-June.
You mustn't worry, when arriving and seeing the house for the first time in one of the strangest shades of blue! We were looked after very well and the room was simple but clean. Next time it was even rather better!
The first breakfast-experience was pretty bad. No proper service - empty plates were just left on our (small) table and the buffet was a wee bit poor.
Next time we thought to be in a completely different house! Mr. Ravel the, room's chief waiter, was excellent. Service was very quick and proactive. Buffet was rich with lots of choice, everybody tried to do his or her best! What a difference!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LutzOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments about Rene! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Within easy reach of the M6 motorway and simple to locate. Warm welcome, friendly and efficient staff. Clean and comfortable room with all the usual facilities. Good bar and restaurant and a very good choice for breakfast. The swimming pool looked very popular although I did not it myself. The only thing against the hotel was that everywhere inside the building was very, very warm. Would I stay there again - YES.

Room Tip: All rooms were very warm so make sure the windows open.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, and we hope it's not too long before you return.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £109 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing