We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times now and it is consistently good. The facilities on site such as the pool, kids games room, bar and lounge area are all excellent. Rooms are well appointed, spacious and nicely decorated, even the family rooms. The extras for the kids like a special bathrobe with "V I little P" on the back and personalised cookie in your room all add to the lovely feel and welcome for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the brilliant feedback. It is great to hear that the children enjoyed it especially all the small details. We hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    352
    125
    63
    25
See reviews for
272
343
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great place and well worth a visit! I've been here for meetings before but this is the first time I've stayed. The rooms are bright, spacious and have everything you need! The staff are lovely - very helpful and nothing is a trouble for them. Free wifi which is always a bonus. Not used the spa but it's clean and inviting - bring your cozzie if you come - I forgot mine - and the menu is fabulous - lots of choice and some good daily deals and local fare

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Wow what a great review! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Lakes make sure you come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I received a gift voucher for the spa as a birthday gift and decided to book an afternoon treat (49 pounds for mini treatment, afternoon tea and use of spa facilities).
I was really really well looked after upstairs before,during and after my mini facial.Delightful,helpful friendly and knowledgeable staff.On venturing "downstairs"for the afternoon tea and spa facilities part of the afternoon treat ,I was left feeling disappointed and let down.
My afternoon tea was not of great quality,consisting of sandwich,average scone and large choc chip cookie broken in half and was left to eat in what is to all intents and purposes a corridor with pool staff noisily carrying on and all manner of people (even workmen)walking through.
I decided then to use the spa facilities, which consists of a very small sauna,a swimming pool full of children and toddlers- perhaps it is my fault for not checking but I expected the spa to be adult only-I have my own children and part of the treat was to have a rest from the noise for the afternoon.The other part of the "spa" was a Jacuzzi which was closed for planned maintenance, I was not made aware of this when I booked.With such limited facilities my spa facilities part of the afternoon lasted fifteen minutes. Very disappointing.
I would thoroughly recommend the upstairs spa treatment area but apart from that , this was not a relaxing pampering experience.I would recommend visiting Center Parcs Whinfell just up the road for superior spa experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am sorry to hear that your experience within our spa was not up to standard.I hope that you brought this to our attention at the time so we could try and put this right for you. If you do change you mind and decide to visit the spa again please contact me personally and we will make sure your experience is one which you remember. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We chose this Hotel as we where going to the Commonwealth games The hotel was a good standard and just of the M6. Rooms are a good size and the swimming pool was nice after a long drive. Breakfast again was good

Room Tip: The room we had was quiet on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for you great comments and taking the time to review the hotel. We hope yo welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
287 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Organised a conference here and found the whole team at the Hotel great to work with.Nothing was too much trouble and looking after all our requirements,no mean feat was done really well.Conference over two days with over 60 people all of whom left well impressed was a real achievement.Food ,service and attention to detail can only be complimented.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Peter, your group was a pleasure to look after. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff of the North Lakes hotel are all very welcoming and helpful, however.......the hotel rooms are very basic, not worth the price charged. The decor is very dated and the bathrooms are in desperate need of an overhaul. The shower curtains are awful, the sealant on the bath and around the shower was coming away, the whole bathroom appeared very grubby on closer inspection although seemed clean enough. The bed was very hard, like sleeping on the floor! The televisions date back to the eighties, as do the pictures on the walls and general appearance of the rooms. There is nowhere to sit and chill, simply a bed and a single chair, not very welcoming or relaxing. The doors to the rooms all slam despite best efforts to close them quietly which causes no end of disturbance and annoyance. Lots of noise coming from other rooms/guests in the hotel. The walls seemed paper-thin. We were offered a free newspaper in the morning but never received it. The main foyer of the hotel is lovely and welcoming but be warned, the restaurant is extremely over-priced. The food was nice enough but portion sizes are very small, especially compared to prices charged. Don't order the spinach and ricotta tortellini. The dish contains a mere four pieces of pasta on a tiny salad which is drowned in an extremely acidic dressing which overpowers everything. Sadly very disappointed with our stay, left feeling very underwhelmed which tainted our weekend away somewhat.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRoseMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am so sorry that you left feeling this way, and do hope that you made us aware at the time which affords us the opportunity to put things right. If you do decide to give us another try, then please contact me personally to handle your booking, and I will ensure that you are looked after superbly.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a family of five, we were made to feel very welcome at this hotel. The spa facilities are excellent. The restaurant is great both in it's offerings and it's service.
The room for five was slightly cramped, but we expected that to be honest. It was however, very clean and well presented.
The staff were excellent without exception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiraeth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback, and glad you enjoyed your family break. Come back soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
18.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing