We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation Stay”
Review of Smithy Cottage B&B

Smithy Cottage B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smithy Cottage B&B
Ranked #45 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We (2 women) came over from Germany to spend a 10 day holiday at the Smithy Cottage because of the Potfests. The best choice we ever could have made. A wonderful room with comfortable and fantastic twin beds, a very luxury bathroom and every day a delicious breakfast freshly made.
The family is very friendly and caring. Highly recommended - if you ever have this B&B on your route you should book there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlbacher_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We've just had a 2 week 'staycation' all over England. This was without a doubt the best B&B we stayed in, and outshone a few of the hotels too. Not the chepaest place we stayed, but beautiful room, comfortable bed and fantastic bathroom made it worthwhile.

Don't want to give too many details in case it spoils the experience of discovering the place for yourself, but if this B&B is on your route and they can take you - book it - I doubt you will be disappointed. Great restaurant a few miles away as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is as close to the perfect B&B as you can get: lovely house, beautiful, quiet room, superb bed, luxurious bathroom, all immaculately clean and classy, delightful but non-intrusive family and delicious freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice.
Ideally placed for stopping off while travelling by car and the recommendation for food at a nearby inn was sound - good quality and value.
This enterprise deserves to be highly successful.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank oldie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed here after a last minute change to our cycling trip and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this b&b. It is by far the best b&b we have ever stayed in! We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and stayed in a very luxurious room. The room was beautiful - spacious, amazing views and a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic, fresh and delicious! A real treat!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anotherplanetwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
5.5 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#17 of 65 in Penrith
108 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
433 reviews
5.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
11.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Sowerby
231 reviews
6.5 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithy Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithy Cottage B&B

Address: Unthank | Skelton, Penrith CA11 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £88 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Smithy Cottage, luxurious B & B accommodation in the Eden Valley close to the Lake District National Park.Smithy Cottage is ideally located to explore the breathtaking views and the activities that Cumbria has to offer. Easy access to lakes, mountains, coast and countryside make it an ideal location.Enjoy a relaxing stay in a traditional sandstone Cumbrian home with modern comforts including modern en-suite facilities. Take advantage of the sauna room or simply relax in the comfortable lounge, conservatory or garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithy Cottage B&B Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing