We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, room - and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We needed somewhere for one night before a booking at a hotel deeper into the Lake District and booked after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. You can only agree with the other five star reviews - it's an excellent stylish country house hotel with possibly some of the best views in the area. It was a quiet evening - so a little strange sitting in the deserted bar enjoying a meal from the bar menu - but it's really the bedrooms that are the main attraction. Super comfortable, clean with great showers, they really are delightful - particularly the views in the morning when you can see right across the Eden Valley taking in Cross Fell right down to the Yorkshire Dales and across to the Lake District mountains. To cap it all, probably the best breakfast I've had in a hotel for several years - excellent quality cooked food in a sunny and bright breakfast room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanSpavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have just returned from celebrating the wedding of our daughter at the Roundthorn Country House and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Roundthorn as an ideal venue for a family wedding. Although they can cater easily for large numbers for the wedding itself, the fact there are only 10 bedrooms means we were able to fill these with close family and therefore have exclusive use of the hotel.
Without exception the staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive – in fact nothing was too much trouble. Any request was dealt with immediately with a smile - in fact they went out of their way to make sure the day and evening ran smoothly.
The rooms were large and well appointed – room 10 on the top floor was ideal for a bridal party to get ready before the ceremony. The ceremony room itself looked beautiful, the food and service during the wedding breakfast was excellent and the buffet at night was delicious.
I am sure they do many weddings throughout the year but we were made to feel as if our wedding was as important to them as it was to us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have just returned from a family wedding at roundthorn and all in all it was a wonderful stay the staff could not do enough for us the building and grounds are impecabally maintained the friendliness of the staff and the homeliness of the building made the event feel even more special. My only comments would be that the main entrance could do with being more clearly signed as we drove right past, the rooms on the top floor although spacious and beautiful they do have low ceilings and exposed oak beams and anybody over 6ft will bang there head! And a few comments on the wedding breakfast the French onion soup although delicious did have too much red wine and this made it very rich as a starter the cheese on the cruton was Parmesan not gruyere. The loin of venison could have been trimmed more as my portion still had a layer of sinew which made it less enjoyable. But these are only comments not complaints! The evening buffet was fantastic as was the breakfast and to sum up this is lovely venue and I would be more than happy to return

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Three words describe this place - Perfect, Perfect Perfect!! We booked this Hotel for my Son's Wedding and the whole party stayed two nights. The arrival and checking-in was amazing. We were all greeted by a charming member of staff who immediately put us at ease and showed each member of the party to their respective rooms. Rooms all tastefully decorated and well appointed. We had been told prior to our arrival that the Chef would not be available for evening meals but sandwiches were available mid -afternoon. Copies of the various take away establishments were available and Nick, the Manager was quite happy for us to order in and cutlery & crockery was made available to us. As we had booked the whole hotel it was more like a family party! Drinks reasonable for the type of hotel and a wide selection on tap. Beds extremely comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities. The day of the wedding arrived and the Staff seemed to be as excited as us about the event. Again nothing was too much trouble and staff always there when you needed them but seemed to melt into the background when not needed. Room setting was perfect for our small family group and timing was flexible but although we didn't notice it, staff ensured everything went without a hitch. The room was set out beautifully for the meal and the waiting on staff attentive to our needs and requests. A special thanks must go the the waiter who made a fuss of my 6 year old grandaughter especially asking her if she would like to taste the non-alcoholic wine before he filled her glass! The meal was incredible and having two chefs in our party I was interested to hear their views on the meal. Both were highly complimentary on the high quality of the food and one saying that it was the best fillet of beef he had ever tasted. Crisp fresh vegetables and desserts to die for!! After cutting the cake, Nick, the manager presented the happy couple with the knife used to cut the cake in a presentation box and engraved as a momento of the day - a fabulous touch previously unheard of.
Evening Buffet arrived at 8.30 and although still feeling full from the meal, everyone had to try it as it looked so appetising and were were not disappointed.
Having visited numerous establishments not only in the Lakes but around the world, Roundthorn Country House is at the top of my all time favourites. It may not be on the edge of any Lake but it doesn't need to be, as the views are spectacular and the grounds immaculate and ample settings for that perfect wedding photograph but it has something rarely found in hotels today - staff that really care.
Many thanks to Nick and to his staff in making our wedding celebrations a memorable occassion for all the right reasons. I cannot praise this place and staff enough and yes, we will be back.

Room Tip: Extremely comfortable and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoanCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here in mid-August for one night, but wished we could stay for longer. The room was lovely, with a 4-poster bed and views southward across the valley toward Shap and the lakes, though to be honest on the day they were masked by the low cloud and rain! The staff were all most helpful and even recommended a local pub - The Cross Keys - for an evening meal, which was first class. The following morning the hotel breakfast was one of the nicest we have tasted. All in all, it was a most pleasant night stop and is a hotel to which we shall return.

Room Tip: A south-facing room will give the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

we found ourselves in the lake district having booked a deal with a neighbouring hotel where the room we were offered was completely unacceptable. We ended up at the roundthorn which was brilliant. We had room 10 which was on the second floor and was more like a penthouse suite than an hotel room, it was massive and exceptionaly well appointed. It had a wonderful bathroom and also a kitchen area with fridge and microwave . we lay in bed looking out of the roof lights at the night sky which was a lovely experience. Breakfast was a delight with fresh fruit as well as cereals to complement the full english breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who made us feel really special. Beautifull views of surrounding countryside and breakfast with a view many different birds in the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petez324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed for one night whilst visiting family nearby. Immaculately clean well decorated rooms (with a 4-poster bed in mine!), with thoughtful things like a bottle of water, good quality biscuits and a sachet of drinking chocolate as well as the usual tea and coffee in the room.
Sadly it was too wet to explore the gardens but they looked lovely and well-maintained. Great views, very well located, good value, excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff.
At only a few pounds per night more than certain national chains, there is no comparison - I shall be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
420 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £98 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing