We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Peel, Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Very nice hotel with lots of character. Staff were excellent and pleasant, the food was also very good.

Stayed at the beginning of December when there was snow fall in the area, I think this just added to the atmosphere.

lovely big room that was warm and full of character like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
109
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Roundthorn for 3 nights in room 10 on the top floor. We were allocated the room to avoid any noise from functions on each night but we heard no noise. A very restful and enjoyable experience with good bed, spacious room, clean and working shower room, nice towels. The kitchen area could be made more of e.g washing up liquid, towel but for a longer stay you could use it very well as a self contained unit. Breakfast was excellent with very helpful and pleasant staff. Food was extremely tasty. We had 2 evening meals at the Cross Keys, recommended by the hotel and it was also first class. We certainly intend to use the hotel as a base for this area again. It is slightly out of the Lakes but that often means better weather and more flexibility for days out.

Room Tip: Room 10 good if you want a self contained unit. Top floor rooms well out of function noise range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Location: 8/10 About 20 miles south of the Scottish border and very close to M6 motorway, so this is a good place to stop off on the way to the Highlands
Accommodation: 7/10 the rooms are traditionally furnished and perfectly OK for a stopover
Reception: 8/10. Reception staff were friendly and helpful
Breakfast: 9/10 Good quality and a good foundation for the day!
Atmosphere/Ambiance: 6/10 While this place would be absolutely superb for a family wedding, it lacks ambiance at other times because there are not enough guests to fulfil its potential
Dinner: we ate at the Cross Keys in Carleton, a 5 minute drive away. Good pub food especially the seafood platter

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAVERANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Arrived early evening, with regret signage not very big so drove past, turned around and parked up. We had been made aware of a 60th birthday bash by a phone call the previous evening so the car park was much busier. Found disabled bay and went in. As soon as the receptionist saw I was using a crutch, she immediately offerred to swop our room for an easier accessible one as she had put us in the top room as we had requested a quiet room. We declined and she took us up to our room, even offering to carry our luggage too. I think in some parts the hotel is not suitable for the infirm as the stairs are narrow. The hotel was fabulously warm and the decor although old was in keeping with the building.
Our room was very large and the bathroom was huge (room 9). Very warm and spotlessly clean. It had velux windows and these could be opened and you got a view over the eden valley.
We went downstairs for an evening snack and the bar staff were very friendly, and helpful.
We ordered our snack and we were offered anywhere we would like to eat. It was very prompt and very tasty, they even offered to close the doors to minimise the noise from the party next door. It was a lovely room with a log fire burning. Service was quick and we were approached several times to ensure that we had our drinks. We retired early and the room was comfotable and the towels in the bathroom were very soft and warm as they where kept on the towel rail. The bed was very comfortable, something you don't always find in hotels these days! We awoke early and breakfast on a Sunday was at 8:30 to 9:30. We went down and seated breakfast was a little hurried due to time constraints, and with regret there where more people than tables. There is an menu and you can request anything on it from porrige to scrambled eggs with salmon. The cumbrian fry up was pleantiful and fully enjoyed. We checked out with minimum fuss and were on our way when I discovered the room key in my pocket, after quickly returning to the hotel the key was deposited back without haste. Again I must say the staff were fantastic always checking to ensure everything was okay taking the time to find out a little about oneself a real make yourself feel at home .. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to feel appreciated and have a comfortable stay in a well run place.

Room Tip: Room 9 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having stayed at Roundthorn earlier on in the year, my daughter and I decided to visit again a couple of weeks ago. We couldn't have been happier from stepping into the hotel to leaving. The service was the same 5* experience we'd experienced before. We was rather hungry after our journey and it was no trouble to have a delicious selection of sandwiches and a pot of tea brought up to our rooms. The breakfast is still fantastic, the same high quality was still there. We nipped down to the local pub/restaurant 'The Cross Keys Inn' and was made so welcome by the lady manager. Our food was hot and delicious. It is clear why we went back again as my first review said it all. Our second visit just proved that the hotel and the local Inn are consistent in their high quality. Well worth a trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Being from the states you never really know what accomidations will be like. Driving through the U.K., Penrith was the next stop. Aproaching the Roundthorn Country House it looked wonderful, then the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was the best during our trip. Breakfast was lovely,wished we had more time to spend in the area. We would recommend Roundthorn to any traveling through the UK. Service and the breakfast were outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We planned a romantic night away in the Lakes District and although we found the place hard to find (our own fault... We were exhausted from a days trekking) we fell into this gorgeous and welcoming hotel. It was a pain to get our bags up the dangerously narrow stairs to the top level, but the room was divine. Massive room, beatifully furnished with a sky panel on the roof and a huge bath.
The food was great... But they could do with more than one vegetarian choice. Breakfast was lovely though.
Overall a great place and I'd happily stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
883 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
11.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing