We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roundthorn Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
206
66
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
66
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic lodgetop floorwedding guestsbusiness or pleasureeden valleylarge roombreakfast was freshly cookedfour posterwonderful settingcumbrian breakfaston arrivalnext morningfamily roomlovely roomlowther castlelovely hotelan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent two nights here last week and enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious with a large bathroom en suite. The bathroom window was very large and came down nearly to floor level which gave you the odd impression you could be seen but I believe you would have to be at a particular spot to see in and as there were only horses there I didn't mind. The view was excellent once the fog cleared.
The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went here for a 2 night stay for valentines day and cannot recommend this place enough.

I had chosen this venue due to recomendations on Tripadvisor and I can confirm it lives up to the hype.

Down the road is a lovely pub which is within walking distance but only £5 in a taxi which was required at night.

The food at the hotel was perfect and couldnt ask for more.

The service was great with everything you expect from a 5 star hotel delivered

We had a room 10 which had 2 rooflight windows which opened up to magnificent views in the room and the bathroom. The bathroom was massive with a massive bath and shower.

Only thing that could perfect this hotel would be fresh milk in the rooms instead of UHT.

Room Tip: Room 10 has amazing views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazjlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel describes itself as a "country house hotel" - not in my wildest dreams would I describe it as that. It has very tired decor throughout the hotel. The room had a four poster bed, curtains falling off, dusty, grubby, uncomfortable. No bedside table on one side as an unusable dressing table put there. The tv is old enough to be in a museem. Window curtains that close in front of the tv. The bathroom was the worst part. The whole thing looks like some DIY bodge job; carpet on the bathroom floor, ugh; colour, ghastly; the sound of the next door bathroom being used on the other side of the dividing wall, I will say no more. Then, noise from bedrooms either side, noise from the bar, noise from the front door. If this is supposed to be the best hotel in Penrith, then I feel sorry for Penrith. At best it is a cheap conference hotel but not so cheap if you haveto pay yourself. The staff member was pleasant. On arrival she checked us in and did the bar. On leaving she served breakfast, cleared the tables and checked us out. Altogether a rubbish hotel and you would be better of in a Travel Lodge and it would be cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KD340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Very nice hotel with lots of character. Staff were excellent and pleasant, the food was also very good.

Stayed at the beginning of December when there was snow fall in the area, I think this just added to the atmosphere.

lovely big room that was warm and full of character like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Roundthorn for 3 nights in room 10 on the top floor. We were allocated the room to avoid any noise from functions on each night but we heard no noise. A very restful and enjoyable experience with good bed, spacious room, clean and working shower room, nice towels. The kitchen area could be made more of e.g washing up liquid, towel but for a longer stay you could use it very well as a self contained unit. Breakfast was excellent with very helpful and pleasant staff. Food was extremely tasty. We had 2 evening meals at the Cross Keys, recommended by the hotel and it was also first class. We certainly intend to use the hotel as a base for this area again. It is slightly out of the Lakes but that often means better weather and more flexibility for days out.

Room Tip: Room 10 good if you want a self contained unit. Top floor rooms well out of function noise range.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews