We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay, quality breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundthorn Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb stay, quality breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I think the person who left the negative review in March must have stayed in a different hotel to me! Superb welcome, very professional staff. Room was clean, toiletries were really good quality. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in any hotel, lovely selection of cereals, fruit compotes and the cooked breakfast was to die for! Beautful position with magnificent views across the Eden Valley. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    59
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
104
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My partner and I were looking for a short break with peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of every day life, and this was exactly what we were looking for, beautiful setting and surroudings [ what a gem ].We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Eden valley. Staff very friendly and helpfull, nothing was to much trouble for them. Highly recommend for what ever the occasion. Food main menu was basic but this was offset by the specials menu every night, food was well cooked and presented. Would have no hesition in returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel overlooking the Eden Valley the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I required a one night stop over and off early the next morning. Reception was really friendly and attentive. The room was superb, clean, spacious with beautiful views. After a good nights sleep I enjoyed a lovely breakfast again delivered by an extremley friendly memeber of staff. What more could you ask for....well actually the biil which was suprisingly great value for money. If you can find a better hotel locally, stay in it!

Room Tip: The views are spectacular from rooms at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent two nights here last week and enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious with a large bathroom en suite. The bathroom window was very large and came down nearly to floor level which gave you the odd impression you could be seen but I believe you would have to be at a particular spot to see in and as there were only horses there I didn't mind. The view was excellent once the fog cleared.
The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went here for a 2 night stay for valentines day and cannot recommend this place enough.

I had chosen this venue due to recomendations on Tripadvisor and I can confirm it lives up to the hype.

Down the road is a lovely pub which is within walking distance but only £5 in a taxi which was required at night.

The food at the hotel was perfect and couldnt ask for more.

The service was great with everything you expect from a 5 star hotel delivered

We had a room 10 which had 2 rooflight windows which opened up to magnificent views in the room and the bathroom. The bathroom was massive with a massive bath and shower.

Only thing that could perfect this hotel would be fresh milk in the rooms instead of UHT.

Room Tip: Room 10 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazjlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel describes itself as a "country house hotel" - not in my wildest dreams would I describe it as that. It has very tired decor throughout the hotel. The room had a four poster bed, curtains falling off, dusty, grubby, uncomfortable. No bedside table on one side as an unusable dressing table put there. The tv is old enough to be in a museem. Window curtains that close in front of the tv. The bathroom was the worst part. The whole thing looks like some DIY bodge job; carpet on the bathroom floor, ugh; colour, ghastly; the sound of the next door bathroom being used on the other side of the dividing wall, I will say no more. Then, noise from bedrooms either side, noise from the bar, noise from the front door. If this is supposed to be the best hotel in Penrith, then I feel sorry for Penrith. At best it is a cheap conference hotel but not so cheap if you haveto pay yourself. The staff member was pleasant. On arrival she checked us in and did the bar. On leaving she served breakfast, cleared the tables and checked us out. Altogether a rubbish hotel and you would be better of in a Travel Lodge and it would be cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KD340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Very nice hotel with lots of character. Staff were excellent and pleasant, the food was also very good.

Stayed at the beginning of December when there was snow fall in the area, I think this just added to the atmosphere.

lovely big room that was warm and full of character like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Penrith
#3 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing