We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is the little things that count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Is the little things that count”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A family holiday over the easter period with my wife and 2yr old son, quick simple check in with an escort to our room, we were greeted with an easter egg on our sons bed which he was very excited about totally unexpected but a nice touch.

The room was spacious with its own fire (we never lit the fire due to having our son with us) but it looked like it was working, the bathroom came with good quality selection of soaps and moisturizers and the bath/shower was very powerful and instantly hot with no loss of pressure.

We had an evening meal on the first night which was well prepared and tasted lovely while the staff were friendly throughout.

Breakfast was by far the best breakfast ive had on my travels, everything was available from a vast selection of fresh fruit and cereal, a selection of fresh fruit juice to toasted fruit buns not to mention the availability of a design your own full english breakfast which was very well prepared and perfect to open the day.

overall a very enjoyable experience from the friendly staff to the little mini eggs placed around the hotel for people to help themselves, not to mention the fantastic views across the eden valley.

we did experience 2 problems during our 4 day stay,

1: on the last day a large family of foreign visitors arrived and we were running late at breakfast and when we arrived they had literally taken all the fruit and cereal, my wife noticed them putting it in their bags, however this left us with very little choice, my son who is very vocal for a 2 yr old preceded to tell the staff that "they had no strawberrys or blueberrys for him and he wasnt happy", the woman was a little embarrassed that the whole breakfast table had been cleared, but like i said the little things count, she went away and brought out a whole tray of fresh fruit just for my son.

2: the second problem is the place is used by a lot of family ramblers, because it is obviously a very old mansion the walls a pretty thin, we found that at between the hours of 05:45 and 07:30 these families could be heard leaving the hotel, not the hotels faults but the inconsiderate guests being noisy at stupid o'clock.

both bad experiences take nothing away from the hotel, but if your gonna stay here then be aware that some guests fail to remember that not everyone is awake before 08:00.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the room in our pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisfield1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
106
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I think the person who left the negative review in March must have stayed in a different hotel to me! Superb welcome, very professional staff. Room was clean, toiletries were really good quality. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in any hotel, lovely selection of cereals, fruit compotes and the cooked breakfast was to die for! Beautful position with magnificent views across the Eden Valley. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My partner and I were looking for a short break with peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of every day life, and this was exactly what we were looking for, beautiful setting and surroudings [ what a gem ].We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Eden valley. Staff very friendly and helpfull, nothing was to much trouble for them. Highly recommend for what ever the occasion. Food main menu was basic but this was offset by the specials menu every night, food was well cooked and presented. Would have no hesition in returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel overlooking the Eden Valley the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I required a one night stop over and off early the next morning. Reception was really friendly and attentive. The room was superb, clean, spacious with beautiful views. After a good nights sleep I enjoyed a lovely breakfast again delivered by an extremley friendly memeber of staff. What more could you ask for....well actually the biil which was suprisingly great value for money. If you can find a better hotel locally, stay in it!

Room Tip: The views are spectacular from rooms at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent two nights here last week and enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious with a large bathroom en suite. The bathroom window was very large and came down nearly to floor level which gave you the odd impression you could be seen but I believe you would have to be at a particular spot to see in and as there were only horses there I didn't mind. The view was excellent once the fog cleared.
The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went here for a 2 night stay for valentines day and cannot recommend this place enough.

I had chosen this venue due to recomendations on Tripadvisor and I can confirm it lives up to the hype.

Down the road is a lovely pub which is within walking distance but only £5 in a taxi which was required at night.

The food at the hotel was perfect and couldnt ask for more.

The service was great with everything you expect from a 5 star hotel delivered

We had a room 10 which had 2 rooflight windows which opened up to magnificent views in the room and the bathroom. The bathroom was massive with a massive bath and shower.

Only thing that could perfect this hotel would be fresh milk in the rooms instead of UHT.

Room Tip: Room 10 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazjlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel describes itself as a "country house hotel" - not in my wildest dreams would I describe it as that. It has very tired decor throughout the hotel. The room had a four poster bed, curtains falling off, dusty, grubby, uncomfortable. No bedside table on one side as an unusable dressing table put there. The tv is old enough to be in a museem. Window curtains that close in front of the tv. The bathroom was the worst part. The whole thing looks like some DIY bodge job; carpet on the bathroom floor, ugh; colour, ghastly; the sound of the next door bathroom being used on the other side of the dividing wall, I will say no more. Then, noise from bedrooms either side, noise from the bar, noise from the front door. If this is supposed to be the best hotel in Penrith, then I feel sorry for Penrith. At best it is a cheap conference hotel but not so cheap if you haveto pay yourself. The staff member was pleasant. On arrival she checked us in and did the bar. On leaving she served breakfast, cleared the tables and checked us out. Altogether a rubbish hotel and you would be better of in a Travel Lodge and it would be cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KD340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Penrith
#3 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing