We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We (2 adults and 3 kids) recently stayed at the Roundthorn and had a super time. The setting was great with superbs views. Check-in was efficient and the staff were keen to welcome us and make us feel comfortable immediately. Our rooms were clean, well-appointed, spacious and very comfortable. We really liked the feel of the hotel especially the open fires. It was nice to be somewhere with character that felt so comfortable and welcoming. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, helpful and, unlike so many places we have stayed, went the extra mile to ensure that we were happy. Breakfast was superb with great quality bacon, sausage and black pudding. There was also a well-presented and appetising selection of fresh fruits. We really felt the benefits of staying at an owner managed hotel as against a faceless "chain" hotel. Overall we had a lovely, relaxing time and for the quality of service we enjoyed, we do not feel that we could have got better value. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
106
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Came across this little gem recently. The hotel set in its own grounds commands great views across the fells and is ideally situated a few minutes from Penrith ....a pretty market town with plenty of good pubs and eateries. The M6 is only a few miles away so easy to get to! The staff were very friendly and also helpful in advising nearby places to visit. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing....all local produce we were told. We stayed 2 nights and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoversManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us great feedback on your stay with us. We really enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again some point in the near furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were returning from friends in the Lakes, and decided to stop over a further 2 days to explore North Lakes and the Eden Valley. We were advised to visit the Roundthorn by friends, which turned out to be the best advice we received. With two children in tow we had the best family room we have frequented. The country house was warm, smart and welcoming, and catered well for both my husband and I and the children. The staff were attentive and very helpful dealing with our every request quickly and politely. Our room as mentioned above was brilliant, great charm, decor and spacious enough for everyone. We stayed in for one of our evenings and ate very well. Excellent food, well presented, nice ambiance and very tasty wine which was very more.. ish. We had fantastic views of the North Lakes and across the national park from our window - breathtaking!! We had some rain but more sunshine although cold but I have to say it provided spectacular views. This part of the Lakes has lots to offer and we will be back to explore even more as our children our outdoor mad, and we shall certainly be back to visit the Roundthorn Country House. Unmistakably one of the best country house visit's we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: They have a range of family rooms, but room 5 did it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amball_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Country House, and for your very kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you and the boys enjoyed your stay with us so much, and even the great british weather didn't dampen your spirits! We hope to be able to welcome you all back to the Roundthorn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Chose this as our Wedding Venue for both the ceremony and reception. It was absolutely perfect from start to end. Sarah was exceptional as our Wedding Coordinator, she looked after us at every stage, guiding us where necessary and helping us incorporate everything we asked for. Meine responded to all emails/queries promptly. Graham the owner and toastmaster fantastic. All other staff brilliant. We were looking for specific things e.g. exclusive use of the hotel, log fires, excellent food and wine (didn't meet the Chef & team but they did an amazing job), no hidden/extra costs (e.g.charges for hiring a room) - we got the lot. Really could not recommend this highly enough and were made to feel very special by the whole team.
Stayed in Room 5 which has superb lakeland views. Couldn't fault the cleanliness. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binlick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much Helen & Peter for your kind words, we hope you are enjoying married life together and are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day so much.

We very much hope that that we are able to welcome you and your family back at some point for future celebrations. Kind Regards, Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

First impressions on entry - a fabulous old country house with lots of potential having been refurbished but lacking in contemporary interior design and co ordiating furnishings. Bedroom furniture dated, apart from a lovely upholstered arm chair, bed rather lumpy and firm with a plastic backed mattress which reminded me of a hospital bed. Shower room was very cold, with no heating (no radiator or heated towel rail) but had a great power shower and was very clean. The bedroom itself was warm, clean, decent carpet and fresh decor on the walls. Super view over the hills in the morning once the condensation had been wiped away.
The staff were very friendly and efficient at all times. The area for bar dining had a lovely log fire but tables were dated and upholstered chairs were not in keeping with the period building and were narrow and not comfortable for a relaxing sit. The glass of merlot was awful, not off, but clearly very cheap french wine. Soup was fine but bread roll microwaved, fish goujons were good.
Breakfast was of a high standard with a great choice of cooked food including superb smoked haddock and smoked salmon. the breakfast room was very pleasant with a log fire and view from the window.
With a decent interior designer to bring everything together, and new beds & mattresses, this could be a fantastic boutique hotel. We felt it was over priced for what it was at £100 for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu-Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Overall your comments with regards to our hotel are mainly positive, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I feel it is important to respond to your points in particular concerning the bed, wine and decor:

Obviously our decor wasn't to your taste, however we do receive lots of lovely comments from many customers about the look and feel of our Country House.

We don't sell any French Merlot's, we do have a Chilian! this must not have suited your taste but I can assure any other customers reading this note that we take great care in putting together a fantastic wine list with a wide range of great wines.

Thank you for your comments with regards to the mattress in your room, you were right! we found that on inspection the bed appeared to have a faulty mattress cover. Please be assured that this has been rectified and that all our beds are of excellent quality and very comfortable!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a small hotel which has some lovely views but is a bit off the beaten track. The hotel is a nice traditional large country house, with lots of nice original features. Each room is different and the ones I saw where all very spacious and warm. The staff a very helpful and service was very good. There is a restaurant in the hotel which serves a good selection of food, that is very good value, the same goes for the bar, the drinks are not too expensive. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Couple of niggles, one was the room I was in (10) there is a water heater that when it starts sounds a bit like a kettle, and the room has a slight slope so that when you are in bed you fell like you are rolling into the middle of the bed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have limited head room due to the shape of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Was a guest of the brides family so I can't comment on value for money.

The hotel has beautiful views over the surrounding hills and was quite spectacular on a frosty morning. The bar area is quite snug with a nice room at the side with a fireplace. I was very impressed with all of the staff who were friendly, polite and genuinely seemed to enjoy making the event a good one. The dining room was laid out very well and the food was excellent - better than I have had in 5* hotels and I'm not easily impressed with food at weddings!

I had a room on the top floor which was very spacious and the bathroom was huge. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was fine if a little tired at the edges.

All in all an enjoyable stay with lovely hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedbird747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
867 reviews
11.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing