We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect respite.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect respite.....”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel looking for a relaxing stop over to break up our journey coming back from a wedding in Scotland. Having been in the car for 6 hours and running late we found the hotel very accommodating. The guy on reception was only too happy to help with our late check in and then proceeded to make two very hungry people happy by stating the chef was still in the hotel and they were still serving food despite it being 10 o'clock.
The same guy sat us in the bar, offered us drinks, brought the menu, showed us to our table, served us and even brought our room key over that we had left in the bar! There was no rush to get us out of the restaurant and we had a coffee in front of the real log fire, another member of staff even came over to put another log on for us!
The room was clean, very comfy and quiet. A great nights sleep was then followed by a fantastic breakfast. No fuss from the hotel whatsoever, straight down to the restaurant to be greeted by your own room labelled ready table.
No rush to check out and then a wander round the gorgeous garden. A beautiful hotel with a gorgeous view. Would 100% go back! Thanks!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milesy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments, we are delighted to hear that we made your stay comfortable and accommodating - we’re always happy to help!

We’re also so pleased that you found your room comfy and quiet followed by a ‘fantastic breakfast’ in the morning!

Thank you again for your lovely words, we would love to welcome you back to the Roundthorn in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
106
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last month as part of a family wedding. Hotels tucked away in the beautiful countryside and the hotel itself was lovely. Our room was a little on the small side, and even with a (slightly) subsidised rate for being part of the wedding party, the room was a bit on the expensive side. We also woke up in the morning to find three wasps in the room that weren't there the night before, and as the window didn't open, no way to get rid of them! Bed was comfy, the staff were pleasant and professional and the grounds were pretty.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, both lovely and constructive.

Our sincere apologies for the wasp situation, we hope it didn't spoil your stay too much. However, we're delighted to hear that you found our staff pleasant and professional.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Roundthorn again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stopped overnight on the way the Scotland. Highly recommended. The most lovely welcoming staff, a fabulous setting, relaxed atmosphere, a very comfortable room, spotlessly clean, a window that opens, fresh air, blissfully comfortable bed and a fine breakfast.

What more could you ask for? Free Wifi? They have that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much, we're so pleased to hear such fantastic comments about your overnight stay with us! We're delighted that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed our breakfast in the morning!

Thank you again for your kind comments, we're pleased we made your stop off so enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to the Roundthorn in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A beautiful setting with excellent views to the fells and the pennines. This hotel is setup and obviously makes its money doing weddings but is also an excellent country house hotel. The room was at the front with great views and a recently modernised bathroom with an excellent shower. I was a little disappointed the the room was boutique-sized and struggled to accommodate a four poster and all the usual furniture. The food here is excellent. Don;t just have the breakfast, try supper as well. The staff are friendly and efficient as others have said before. Nice to see that this is one of those hotels that provides free wifi as well, instead of using it as an excuse to gouge customers - well done ! If I must be picky, It can be difficult to attract someone's attention when you want a drink - none of the staff seem to monitor the lounge and there were times when we were just sat there for ages - missed opportunity for the hotel to sell us a beer or something.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarshaltonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are very lucky to be in such a fabulous location and are glad that you loved it so much too! It's great to hear that you were greeted by friendly and efficient staff, this is a standard we strive to naturally achieve.

Also, thank you for your constructive comments regarding bar service, we will definitely take this into account and will try to improve on this.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband & I were at The Roundthorn Hotel on 01.08.14 for the wedding reception of of our nephew & his new bride. The food was exceptonal, Graham & his staff were polite, helpful and very courtious, nothing was to much bother.The whole day was wonderful,even though the weather was not. we will be back in May next year for another wedding reception- keep up the good work Roundthorn, looking forward to next year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are so delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the wedding you attended! It really is wonderful to hear such kind comments about our staff being polite and helpful. I will ensure all staff involved in the wedding are made aware of your lovely message!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Roundthorn next May and hope that you enjoy this occassion as much as the last!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We broke our journey from Derbyshire to New Lanark at Penrith, and were very happy that we chose Roundthorn. From the welcome on reception, through to the friendly chat with the gardener/handyman on departure, the staff were without exception polite, friendly and helpful.
Not a large hotel, but the rooms were very spacious and well-maintained, as were the grounds.
A charming fountain fed small ponds surrounded by rockery and lawn, with seating and tables ideal for a relaxing evening drink. Our room overlooked this feature, and also gave good views across the pleasant Eden Valley, and The Lake District in the distance. We could even see TWO castles from the bathroom window!
We didn't dine there in the evening, but breakfast the next morning was excellent, with most tastes catered for including veggie sausages if required. And fresh fruit always goes down well with us.
We resumed our journey having been well-fed and rested in this lovely hotel. Another one 'bookmarked' for a return visit ...!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Eden Valley offer lovely views to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review and make us aware of your wonderful experience.

We really are delighted to hear that your short visit with us at the Roundthorn was so enjoyable! All staff will be made aware of your appreication and will be overjoyed to hear such lovely comments.

Thank you again for your fabulous comments. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Roundthorn in the near future, for an extended and even better experience.

Kind Regards

Graham Carruthers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A very relaxing place to stay. The scenery was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They appeared happy at work and were willing to chat and offer local knowledge. Our room had wonderful views. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundthorn_CH, Manager at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It really is fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful and relaxing experience during your stay with us.

It really is lovely to hear that staff radiate such positivity and I will personally ensure your review is passed onto all members of staff.

Thank you again and we hope to warmly welcome you back to the Roundthorn very soon!

Kind Regards

Graham Carruthers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
381 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
848 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing