We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop-over - very restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This is a really comfortable well run hotel and being close to the M6, is a perfect stop-over to / from Scotland. The hotel is not large and it is very peaceful. It is set in lovely countryside away from any road noise but only a few miles into Penrith. The garden is nice on a summer's evening.

Full marks to the staff who were extremely friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome. Our room was at the back of the hotel and although quite small it was very clean; the bathroom was freshly decorated and quiet enough for a sound night's sleep. The rooms at the front looked bigger and had fine views over the countryside. We will try for one of those rooms next time!

We ate in the bar which serves good home cooked food and is ideal if after a long journey, you do not want to drive around the countryside.

Breakfast had everything we could wish for and a good start to the next leg of the journey.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

My fifth stay at this hotel - first review. I always chose this hotel when on business in the Penrith area. It's not the flashiest but it has a nice (quiet) atmosphere and feel. A bit like a pair of comfortable slippers ! The rooms differ - I've stayed in quite a few. I prefer the rooms at the front of the hotel for the beds and the view. All rooms are comfortable but some offer some great views across the valley - great first thing in the morning. The staff are helpful and welcoming. The full cooked breakfast is very good and food from room service etc is fine too. The grounds aren't the biggest, you can only really sit out the front in a smallish area in the evenings. It has been used for functions when I've stayed there in the past and these (as described) can be a bit noisy. It''s best when you have the hotel all to yourself. Other reviews about the dark bar etc are quite correct but I quite like this.....adds a bit to the atmosphere?

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

On recommendation, we stayed at the Roundthorn on the way to the Scotland and found the Hotel very comfortable and staff extremely friendly and helpful .This made our stay a very pleasant one. .......We wil definately stay here again .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoversManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2009

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us earlier this year. I am pleased to hear that you were comfortable and were looked after well, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Roundthorn next time.
Graham Carruthers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My wife and I first stayed here in early 2007 and had a very enjoyable stay, lovely cosy rooms and very friendly service. Epicurean breakfast! A great base from which to discover the Lakes without getting stuck in the tourist traffic. Stunning views and lovely gardens. Great for a romantic get away.
We have both been back a number of times for various dinner functions and the odd overnight stay, the food, the rooms and the service just get better.
We are hoping to get back there again later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2009

Thank you for taking the time to post such great comments about your stay with us, it is always nice to see familiar faces returning and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Roundthorn later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Stayed at the Roundthorn for one night before heading into the Lake District for a business meeting the following day. It's a lovely place, a small and friendly hotel and very good value. It is not in the town of Penrith but outside in the middle of nowhere with lovely farmland views. Not many staff and lots of multi-tasking but very eager to please and really enthusiastic. Saw a few of the rooms and the top floor ones are best, low ceilings but tons of space, like a suite - mine even had a kitchen!
We had an evening meal from the supper menu (no formal restaurant) and it was great, we had the dining room to ourselves and a lovely log fire.
Breakfast was also superb and cooked to order, no tepid buffet here!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Roundthorn
.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit (and in particular the Cumbrian Breakfast!) and will make sure that your comments are passed on to the rest of the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roundthorn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

The hotel is set in the countryside, so some really nice views. The reception is a bit dated but my room was well decorated, big comfortable bed, big corner bath and powerful shower :)

The food was really good, home cooked to a high standard. The only thing is that you have to eat in the bar area, but that was no problem.

Overall I would definitely want to stay here again, even take my girlfriend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Roundthorn.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back (hopefully with your girlfriend!) at some point in the future.

Graham Carruthers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emli78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamCarruthers, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
925 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £96 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing