We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Mosedale End Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosedale End Farm
Ranked #36 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

loved this little heaven
JoAnne offers a warm welcome
spacious, clean tidy unique rooms with special touch of homemade cake each day
good references of walks & local area information from JoAnne & left in room
good local sourced breakfast
i booked my next trip before i left & will be staying as often as i visit the area, why look elsewhere when this fills the criteria

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonewalker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Manager at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I`m gald to have ticked all the boxes of your criteria & made your stay all the more easyer by having all that you needed such as walk info & cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A very comfortable home from home in picturesque surroundings. A very warm welcome from the hosts and a great full english breakfast is provided to set anyone up for any activity you may be doing in this idyllic part of the Lake District.The accommodation is very comfortable and a home made cake is left in your room each day by Jo . Also the hosts provide a very efficient taxi service to and from The Mill Inn in Mungrisdale which provides excellent meals.However if the weather allows this is a lovely 35 minute walk to the pub to build up both a thirst and your appetite. Just a glorious part of the world and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecilop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Owner at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thanks so much for your great review. I`am glad my farm house breakfast set you up for the day, & you enjoyed the cake I leave on the hospitality tray in your rooms. Hope to see you again at Mosedale End Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and had a great night in Cumbria. Very quiet and in a great location to explore the northern Lakes. Breakfast was very good and set us up perfectly for the day ahead and the cake left in the room was a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ael34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Manager at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for writing so kindly about Mosedale End Farm, & we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A fantastic weekend was had by an extended family stay which catered for OAP to children. We stayed for a weekend in all three rooms which were extremely comfortable, clean and had lots of extra treats (including the bathrooms) - including a fantastic chocolate birthday cake! Joanne and family are extremely friendly and helpful - to provide for a great stay including letting the kids feed the chickens, visit the cows and provide a taxi service to the pub after having made the reservation for us when we booked.
The farm is beautifully located and a great base to explore the northern Lake District and/or to walk locally wich we did on the Sunday morning which was glorious. There is a wealth of walking maps and guides in each room including small laminated maps for heading off from the farm.
Breakfasts are very tasty and filling with home baked bread and Joanne provides an assortment of sandwiches, snacks (highly recommend the rocky road brownie) and drinks at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: All three rooms are really comfortable with one having bunkbeds (for 4), one having a sofa seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bililo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Manager at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to have you & your family stay with us to celebrate "Grannies" birthday. I love to bake, & to make some one a complementary birthday cake is no problem-JUST ASK. I always have rocky road tray bake on the picknic buffee table as this is my daughters favourite, & voted the best by all her friends. Hen feeding is always good fun. We would love to welcome you all back, & I could recommend a different walk or activity in the Northen Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great location, so peaceful, rooms are very comfortable. Joanne and Andrew are friendly, warm and welcoming hosts. Have stayed there three times already and going back for my fourth stay in June 2013, can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Manager at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hello Malcolm, thanks for the great review. I`ll have some cakes ready for you & hope the weather is kind for your golfing trip. See later on this month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Many thanks to Joanne & Andrew for making our short break so enjoyable. My wife's idea to stay at a working farm & she (we) had a fantastic time. the room was warm, cozy & very clean. The home-made cakes were delicious & the breakfast - especially the free range eggs...lovely! (Thank you also for letting me feed your chickens!) If you want peace and quiet, Mosedale End farm is the place to go. Will definitely return one day, hopefully stay for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drumsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Manager at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Once again, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are happy for any children, young or grown up to feed the hens. They are so funny when they come running & flapping up the field. It was great to see Angie go back to her child hood when she met the cows, as she had grown up on a working farm like ours. I`am looking forward to the next time you stay & having a laugh again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The stay was exceptionally good. The rooms(we rented 2 rooms) were larger than average with ensuite baths (which was newly fitted , ample clean towels and good warm shower).. The rooms were warm and cozy and extremely clean. She baked us fresh tasty muffins everyday.The breakfast was organic , local and delicious. JoAnne was a really good host and helped us a lot with the getting around the lakes part. She even suggested itineraries for our trip. She placed lot of toys in the room for my son to play which helped us relax at the end of a tired day while he got busy with the toys. Beautiful location and picturesque. Would definitely recommend this farm stay to all who are planning a quiet and peaceful location and go visit around The Lakes.. Thank you JoAnne for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzuqa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne F, Owner at Mosedale End Farm, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
I`am glad your son loved the toy box, he was a pleasure to have stay. I have tried to put infomation & things in the rooms, that I would like to find to make a holiday more relaxing & enjoyable - Home from Home. It was nice to meet you all, & I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
4.5 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
3.7 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
2.8 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
399 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosedale End Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosedale End Farm

Property: Mosedale End Farm
Address: Mosedale, Penrith CA11 0XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JoAnne & Andrew Fell welcome you to Mosedale End Farm. Escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life to the peace and picturesque tranquillity of Mosedale End Farm. Unspoilt superb scenery of the quitter side of the Lake District.Mosedale End Farm is a traditional white Lake District farmhouse, surrounded by stunning views in the shadows of Carrock Fell, located on the edge of the delightful tiny hamlet of Mosedale, just 15mins from the M6 Junction 40 & 15 mins from the Lakes.Home Made Cakes are served daily on the hospitality trays in the comfortable & spacious Double, Family or Grainery Suit, all en suit. (There is also a boot room for walking gear & bike storage.) There’s nothing better than the thought of a home made piece of Cake & a cuppa to come back to.After staying the night in the peace & quite, start your day with our hearty farmhouse breakfast. All our food is locally sourced Cumbrian produce. JoAnne makes fresh bread daily, Mosedale End Farm free range eggs are served at breakfast time and guests are welcome to help feed the hens.Mosedale End Farm Bed & Breakfast offers you the perfect holiday location, with activities to suit everyone close by. Walkers and cyclists have easy access onto the Cumbrian fells. Walk Wainwrigths Northern fells from the door step, Carrock and Bowscale Fell and at the end of the Swineside valley, with its swimming pool in the river Calder, leads to the Back `O` Skiddaw, & Cumbrian Way.Mosedale End Farm is set in the heart of John Peel country. With an abundance of animals to see, including foxes, red squirrels, roe deer, badgers, newts and tawny owls which can be heard hooting at dawn and dusk.Mosedale End Farm is a working fell farm whose Swaledale sheep graze the fells behind the farm. Collie dogs are used to gather and work the sheep in the traditional way. You can sometimes see this happening in the fields when you look out your bed room window. From the end of March to May the lambs are born, You might be lucky & see one being born! There is also a herd of suckler Cows and Calves as well as free range Hens which guest can feed. A stay at Mosedale End Farm will give you the chance to experience the best of the Cumbrian countryside.There is so much to do within a half hour drive of Mosedale End Farm.The town of Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle are close by, with many local attractions for guests to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosedale End Farm Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing