We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Christmas stay in cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smithy House

Smithy House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smithy House
The lounge with log burning stove The downstairs bedroom with slipper bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Smithy House
The lounge with log burning stove
The downstairs bedroom with slipper bath
4 poster king size bedroom with shower
Twin bedroom with flat screen dvd and tv
kitchen and dining room with 'Esse cooker'
The lounge with the wood burning stove
Kitchen and diner with 'Esse' range cooker
Upstairs shower, wc and hand basin
The house in the background from the green
The local pub The kings Arms
The local Brantwood Hotel
Smithy House Visit Britain 4 star award
The garden and drive showing the village green
The downstairs bedroom
The utility room
Lake Ullswater
Upstairs en -suite with toilet, shower and hand basin.
Downstairs ensuite toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FamilyWLa...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas stay in cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in Smithy House for a week over Christmas and it met all our expectations. The house is tastefully decorated, very comfortable with lots of attention to detail and very well equipped. With the log burner and range cooker it felt very warm and cosy. We had no problem cooking our Christmas dinner there and sitting round the pine table in the cottage style kitchen/ dining room was lovely. Location is good- Stainton is quiet and peaceful but just off the A66 so easy to get to Penrith, Keswick, Ullswater etc. Colin the owner was helpful when making the booking and providing info and answering questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thanks for the review, your Christmas dinner sounds lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rikado2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem of a place to stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my family stayed here for 3 nights for my husbands 50th birthday,what a beautiful and homely place to stay,it was magical with all the homely touches and also catered for every thing and every one.i have stayed at a lot of beautiful cottages but this is the best one and I carnt wait to book and go back again,I really didn't want to come home I now wish I'd booked it for longer.colin was fab from booking and keeping in touch till we came home,I must say your cottage is a credit to you and your wife,it's amazing,thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalyan
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian G
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Smithy House during the last week of August 2014 and found it an ideal base to explore the Lake District (A66 only 5 mins away and easy access to the Kirkstone Pass allowing access to Windermere and beyond).
The cottage itself is superbly appointed with everything you will need, comfortable lounge to relax in of an evening and excellent beds ensuring a good nights sleep, we took 3 cars and fitted them all in on the parking available (if a tight squeeze).
The Kings Arms Pub in the village was a warm and welcoming place and the food was lovely ( try the Lamb Dinner on a Sunday , it was top notch grub)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: The only thing would be that the living room only has the one window so we had to turn the lights on early.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alipali6
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are a family of 4 adults, 2 children and a small dog. Our stay was memorable. We felt it was home from home. It had everything that we needed. Washer/dryer, dish washer and plenty of kitchen utensils, including George foreman and slow cooker that were both used. We enjoyed sitting at the kitchen table to eat as a family and then around the log fire in the sitting room. We hired a hot tub but it would have been the cream on the cake if the house had one! We are hopefully going to stay there again next holidays.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyM19...
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat - Great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Situated in a quiet village, Smithy's House is the perfect getaway for a small group of friends or family. We stayed from 29th March - 2nd April and took our well behaved Labrador along. There was plenty of space for 5 of us (all adults) and our dog. The house was very clean and has everything you could need, from bird feed for the garden wildlife, to hair straighteners! There is plenty of information on the book shelf about the surrounding areas and there are 2 pubs within a 5 minute walk.
If you like playing golf, it is also well positioned for the golf courses around, my family played at Keswick Golf Club, but there is also one a little closer in Penrith.
Having never been to the Lakes before, we will definitely be returning and more than likely will come to Smithy's again. It is the perfect house for discovering what the lake district has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanne p
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC PLACE...”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed here last weekend, been my second visit in past few years. I love it. There is everything you need and always a little treat left for you from the owners. We had some home made jam left which was delicious. I will be visiting again. Loved the free standing bath and open fire. Local pub is lovely and Stainton is a lovely village and easy access off the main roads in North Lakes.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing