We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of HERDWICK COTTAGE

You'll find a great welcome at Church Court Cottages !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
You'll find a great welcome at Church Court Cottages !
The Courtyard in Summer Time to relax after a busy day out sightseeing !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
You'll find a great welcome at Church Court Cottages !
The Courtyard in Summer
Time to relax after a busy day out sightseeing !
Enjoy a quiet time reflecting on the day !
I'll just have forty winks before dinner !
Mmm... enjoy the smell of home-baked bread !
Time for a relaxing lie-in.... Well... you are on holiday !
A cosy place to sleep after a busy day
A comfortable double bed that you won't want to get out of !
Why not enjoy a long soak in the en-suite bathroom !
Gamblesby Village Centre
Looking out of the courtyard on a sunny evening
A misty morning around the village
A winter view over Gamblesby
A Gamblesby sunset
Looking at life through the eyes of a dog !
Some of the fun things we see in rural Cumbria !
Village poppies
Fancy a hike ?  It's a beautiful day !
The first snows of the New Year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: A small grumble was that the brochures in the cottage were well out of date.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victoriap...
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The whole stay was perfect! Location, comfort, cleanliness etc! I could not fault anything form start to finish, it was home from home for us. The fact we could have our 2 dogs there for no extra charge was just brilliant. Anything you would need was there, it really was like being at home. I sayed for my 30th birthday and there is no way it could of been made any better. We are hoping to stay here again, would recommend this holiday to anyone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaarding...
vlaardingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“splendid”
Reviewed 5 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very well situated. Gamblesby is a tiny village, nearest shop is 3 miles away.
But it is surrounded by nature, lots of footpaths.
The Lake District is beautiful, I know, but I found the North Penninites even more beautiful.
The cottage itself is fully equipped and Mark and Pat, the owners, live nearby, so when there's something you want to know...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2011
Thank you very much for your visit and kind review. The North Pennines are often overlooked by visitors so we're especially pleased that you enjoyed them so much. We look forward to seeing you again in October. Tot ziens! Mark & Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksman
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable break guaranteed”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

This was our third visit to Mark and Pat's cottages. We love the location for ease of access to many parts of the lakes even the relatively unexplored Eden valley that have many wonderful walks and drives. Even the Northumbrian border is not far away by car and roman forts and Hadrians wall are within easy reach as is Ullswater, Grasmere and other favourite spots in the lakes. Even in the immediate vicinity of the cottage there are some lovely evening walks and plenty of wildlife not to mention Long Meg - the stone circle about 10 mins drive from the village.
During our recent stay we called in at the Field Fare store located at the Penrith roundabout and stocked up with ready to cook Danish pastry's -a superb start to the day. We even called in Morrisons a few times and picked up some take away salads for a handy meal whilst out and about.
Herdwick cottage is very comfortable and ideal for a couple and as always the complimenteary bottle of wine went down a treat. Mark and Pat are very accomodating and helpful - they are there if needed but not over bearing so are the perfect hosts. We will definitely be returning in the Autumn and would go sooner if we had the time!
Take a few Dvd's if you're not the type for staying out and book with confidence.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2011
It was really good to see you again - there can be no better endorsement than a returning guest! The Eden Valley is a great place to be based - close to the Lakes but far from the crowds and there is so much to see around here too. We often go up to Hadrian's Wall and over into neighbouring Northumberland so we know why you like it there too.Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Mark & Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing