We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Getaway in Gamblesby”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Cottage

A dramatic sky to welcome visitors !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A dramatic sky to welcome visitors !
The Courtyard in Summer Church Court Cottages from the front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
A dramatic sky to welcome visitors !
The Courtyard in Summer
Church Court Cottages from the front
A view out of the Courtyard across the road to the Church
A cosy lounge for great relaxation after a busy day out exploring !
The spacious kitchen and dining area
A good space to enjoy a hearty meal
The bedroom with twin beds
A great place to soak away the day's aches
Gamblesby Village Centre
A Summer view of Gamblesby
Moody Ullswater
A view out of the Courtyard in the evening sun
Local walks around the village leading to Melmerby
Gamblesby in the Winter
Anyone for a hike ?
Cross Fell - a popular nearby walk
A great area for dog-walking
A floral tribute to Spring !
We all love the Springtime !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
browntom5...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Getaway in Gamblesby”
Reviewed 11 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We were in need of some quiet and private time and we found that here. We found it easy to breathe relax and be, the countryside is beautiful and the people we met were freindly and there were lots of places to walk and enjoy, We are both looking forward to revisiting Church Court Cottages as Mark & Pat were just perfect with no intrusion and were just there if you needed them. We walked the hill-top to the highest cafe & walked to Giant Meg & her daughters and in the evening walked into the nearest village that had a great bar & restaraunt and a fantastic bakery & tea room. Definiteley reccommended, its a little peice of heaven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roddam082
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“apart from the weather ,it was lovely”
Reviewed 11 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

the cottage was really comfortable and warm , (which we needed at that time )lovely location, so very pretty in that area, just dont foget your wellies. or your dog

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3ather_7...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Comfort, Peaceful and fantastic owners”
Reviewed 10 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

The Properties have everything you could possibly need and Mark and Pat are fantastic owners, nothing is too much trouble.
Gamblesby is peaceful with a small beck running through, and the local pub one mile away has perfect hospitality.
This is our second visit this year and we intend to go again.
The properties are both family friendly and pet friendly, and we would recommend these self catering cottages to all who love the outdoors and comfortable living.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cvmathi
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Discovery of a beautiful and relaxing part of old England”
Reviewed 10 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Cottage was very comfortable and warm, equipped with everything you could wish for and more, plenty of hot water, shower was the best we have come across and we have stayed in many places. Mark and Pat are very friendly and helpful, told us of many local walks. Loads of info in cottage. Plenty of walks start from the cottage, so didn't need to use car everyday. Didn't eat out, stocked up in Morrisons, Penrith. The walk upto Hartside Cafe is quite a climb but well worth the effort, fantastic views, rather wet and windy!! Unfortunately we picked a wet week, but if it didn't rain, Eden Valley wouldn't be so beautiful. Don't want to praise it too much or else there might not be any vacancies when we want to return!! Milo (the dog) was made very welcome and had a super week. Dog walking lane just outside the cottage for early morning and late evening outings. A great holiday and will be returning soon - we hope.....Derek & Carolyn, Shepperton

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing