We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Johnby Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Johnby Hall
Ranked #42 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

From start to finish this was just perfect.

We stayed for 3 nights in the Kelly Suite and love the peace & quiet, the history and the space. It is actually bigger than it looks on the photos and so very comfortable.

Breakfast cooked by Henry & served in such great surroundings was an ideal start to the day & additional touches such as helping our friends surprise us with champagne & flowers then providing a bottle cooler in case the champagne didn't fit in the fridge were the icing on the cake.

A real find and we hope to be back next August to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249JenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Johnby Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

It's a secluded, rambling, stunningly beautiful and quirky getaway in the middle of nowhere. The house is fascinating - a must for anyone who's interested in history - and the area is just wonderful - a must for anyone who's interested in climbing or nature! Henry and Anna are very friendly and hospitable, and the breakfast (made entirely with locally sourced produce) is marvellous.

The bed was just incredible - possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

I've given it only four stars for a few (small) reasons. Firstly, in the suite we stayed in (the Kelly), there was no shower. This didn't bother my partner, but I really like to have a shower. I accept that it's a very old building and that you can't go shoving mod cons in any old how - but still, I prefer a shower to a bath, especially when it's cold (as it was). Secondly, I felt it was a little bit expensive. However, I'm aware that Cumbria is very expensive and that Johnby Hall's rates are by no means unreasonable comparatively. Thirdly, the place could have been better signposted - it took us ages to find it.

Still, well worth a stay - absolutely gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkeynuts187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here with friends for one night on the way back from Scotland, and can't put into words how stunning the place is. Three adorable pigs, some very tame hens, a woodland walk absolutely overflowing with bluebells, and red squirrels running up and down a tree 10 yards from the front door. The Food was wonderful, and I've never seen such a big sausage! Highly recommended. Henry and Anna are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had an amazing stay in Johnby Hall, a beautiful and characterful Tudor manor house. Lovely home cooked breakfast with bacon and sausage from pigs reared on the farm, and eggs from the friendly chickens. One night wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

spent a night in The Studio and found it to be the perfect country escape. The accommodation was clean, warm and fairly spacious for only 2 of us, with a big old tree outside on the green with a squirrel feeder on it. The highlight for me was watching the squirrel coming and going all morning feeding and playing on the lawn. The previous day my husband and I had watched it for an hour in the small wood owned by the family and also saw a couple of deer. The breakfast was lovely and quite an experience having it cooked by Henry Howard and eating in The Great Hall. Greystoke village is only 20 mins walk away and there is a lovely pub serving delicious food there called The Boot and Shoe. In summary if you want to stay in a historic cottage, in an idyllic setting with friendly hosts and love red squirrels, Johnby Hall is for you.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Fantastic place to stay, steeped in history and a great location for visiting the lakes, pub meals and a very warm welcome for people of all ages. Excellent home-grown breakfasts each morning and an excellent dinner on our first night after the drive up from London. Our hosts were extremely helpful with suggestions, navigation advice and the local food or beverage destinations.
If driving via the Post Code on the Sat/Nav, look out for the faded white gates on the left just after the wood and just before the road takes a very gentle incline.
Great place for walks thru the forest, plenty of things to keep the kids happy with spring lambs, piglets, geese, and gorgeous flowers across the rolling fields.
Accomadation was excellent and great for family or couples, whilst extremely well placed for a stop-off on the London to Scotland route.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonUKMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is the most wonderful place, utterly relaxed and easy, very friendly, a wonderful house and terrific owners who looked after us brilliantly, gave us a wonderful supper and their company for the evening, had excellent walking for us with our dogs (who live in the car when we are away) in woods by the house, a very comfortable room with its own sitting room and extremely comfortable bed - one of the most important things there could be.
About 8 miles from the M6 Penrith but completely rural and peaceful, lovely countryside, in a perfect position.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StapletonsChantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Reigny
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnby Hall

Address: Johnby, Penrith CA11 0UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Johnby Hall Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing