We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know it makes sense !”
Review of Johnby Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Johnby Hall
Ranked #38 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You know it makes sense !”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This, as others have written, is a beautiful place to stay.
The main house and our accommodation - we stayed in The Kelly Suite - oozed historical charm. We were lucky to have very pleasant weather and this showed just how special the place clearly is.
Henry, Anna, the lovely kids and caretaker were very welcoming - tea, cakes and chat on our arrival.
Our suite really was special - a very comfortable sitting room and an enormous bedroom with very comfy bed. Nothing modern - but everything that you needed.
The breakfast was quite simply gorgeous, and taking the stone spiral staircase up the tower and into the grand hall was brilliant.
A fantastic couple of days, the dog loved the wood, and the local pub - Boot and Shoe - provided us with a very nice meal and a good pint. The Dog and Gun in Keswick can also be recommended.
Ignore any negativity about this place because it doesn't have any.

Room Tip: The Kelly boasts real historical charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Johnby Hall for 1 night we were welcomed by Anna, Henry, Nicholas and Lucy who were all very friendly and hospitable. Anna made us coffee and cakes we had in the lovely garden. We were shown the studio and Anna offered to put the heating on. We were leaving early on the Sunday morning 5.30am ish so Henry bought us over a breakfast tray which was very nice. I am quite a snob on my travels, so if I was to be picky yes the place was old fashioned but then it is a very old building. It was clean and comfortable and I would definitely visit again. Anna and Henry allowed us to leave our car and trailer on the premises on Sunday after we had checked out, which collected later. I also purchased some of there home reared sausages and burgers which were very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed at many Wolsey Lodges and were disappointed by this property. We felt the description on the website hugely overstated the reality. While Anna and Henry were friendly, from the general chaos and lack of organisation, we had the impression they had taken on too much and couldn't give the necessary time and attention to guests or the property. We stayed in the studio and while the bed was certainly comfortable we found the space to be crowded, awkward to use and the furniture and furnishings tired and in poor condition.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed at Johnby Hall for a weekend break and fell in love with the place immediately. Johnby is a stunning property in a wonderful location, the B&B accommodation was perfect and was filled with beautiful pieces of furniture including the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and lovely little details; freshly picked flowers from the garden, selection of teas, etc. Although we had planned a weekend of walking, we were sorely tempted to not venture out at all - it felt like we were living in a Jane Austen novel! Our hosts were very helpful and welcoming and we were invited to join them for supper on our first night along with some other guests and we had a very pleasant evening with both good food and company. The only negative point was that our stay was just not long enough and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at Johnby en route to Scotland along with two couples, one of whom was travelling back from Scotland, having also stayed at Johnby on their way up to Scotland. Henry and Anna were really welcoming hosts and supper felt very much like a dinner party; the food was also very tasty. Johnby is a very relaxing and tranquil place; whilst I was staying overnight, it is clearly a great base to explore the Lakes. The breakfast in the morning was also absolutely first-rate. All in all, a very welcoming and hospitable b and b in a great location which I can heartily recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We found this B&B on a 'dog friendly' website and booked in for one night. It was the perfect place for us and we stayed for 4 nights not venturing further north as originally intended!
Our hosts Henry, Anna and the children are delightful and made us feel very welcome.
It is in a perfect spot for a tranquil relaxing break. The dogs were free to roam in the woods - as long as they left the chickens alone!
We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patron123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Johnby Hall for 2 nights and we had a fantastic stay. The grounds are lovely, the welcome you receive very warm and the accommodation (we stayed in The Studio) was great - it felt homely as soon as you walked in the door. We ate with Henry and other guests on the first night in the main house which was a fantastic experience in itself - it is not often you get to eat (such lovely food) in such historic and grand surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble and I would highly recommend a visit if you want a relaxing and special break in the most beautiful surroundings. Would also recommend the sausage at breakfast from the pigs reared on the land by the house - amazing!!! We will definitely be back....a really special place!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
0.0 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#53 of 61 in Penrith
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnby Hall

Property: Johnby Hall
Address: Johnby, Penrith CA11 0UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Johnby Hall Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing