We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
183
178
94
42
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
178
94
42
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger kingroom was cleanbreakfast boxlake districtconvenient locationbasic accommodationan overnight stayeasy accessnorthern lakesfriendly welcomeone night staynight's sleepshort drivemotorwayjunctionlaptopfi
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here on the way to and from Scotland, a Friday evening and a Saturday evening. The rooms were clean and tidy on both occasions. Check in and out was straightforward, quick and easy. Staff were helpful when we needed them. Great to have a king sized bed rather than a double. Easy access to Penrith and to the motorways to travel onwards. Able to take our dog there too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank flossybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Broke our journey to Scotland by staying overnight at Penrith. Place was clean and tidy, staff competent and cheerful, we only needed a meal and a bed for the night before continuing on. Good value for the money so we stopped again on our return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was the fifteenth of twenty hotels (11 Travelodges, 8 Premier Inns and one other) used by my wife and myself on our tour of Wales and England in August 2013. We had pre-booked and pre-paid for all Travelodges and Premier Inns.

Location:
Adjacent to Little Chef
No Lift. 15 steps of stairs to climb.

Reception:
Receptionist was sweeping area outside when we arrived. Strong smell of slurry from neighbouring fields. Receptionist confirmed accuracy of my observation.
I have rated location poor as a consequence but I acknowledge that with the exception of August it could be excellent

Bedroom:
Large room. Spotless.
Door key seemed faulty: repeated opening attempts necessary at times.
Two chairs. Good storage facilities.Flat screen TV. Tea/ Coffee making facilities. Wall mounted heater.
2 large spare pillows. Large comfortable bed. Very quiet room.

Bathroom:
2 hand towels. 2 bath towels. Shaver socket.
Spotless.

Assessment:
Cost £55 Expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonalGD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

really clean and comfortable - bed was really welcome after long day/journey.
staff were attentive and offered further advice if required. location situated just a nice distance from northbound M6 at Penrith. directions given on booking were easy and straightforward.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the main building. Quiet & comfortable stay. The room had dusty skirting, dusty desk and heater. Bit of litter under bed head and in sink plug hole. Bed comfortable. Staff very polite and helpful. Smelly shower curtain changed promptly on request. Staff stated they would investigate the lack of cleaning. Questionable security during the day due to lack of visible staff and an open main front door and door by reception leading to room corridors. At night security was better as front door was locked and desk was manned. We paid about £36 per night. I would not want to pay more that £50 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_n_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews