We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly comfortable and great value for money and takes dogs!”
Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly comfortable and great value for money and takes dogs!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Needed a quick stop overnight and had dog. Didn't want to leave dog in car overnight and the posh hotels weren't taking them. Going to be arriving late so ambiance and facilities not important. Very comfortable bed, great bathroom and a small patch of grass for dog to wee on behind the burger joint! Just off the motorway, easy to find. Can't fault it. Would book again.

Room Tip: Had room on ground floor which worked best with dog as no stairs and quick in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Hampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    150
    71
    27
    23
See reviews for
123
175
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It's a trevelodge what more can I say! The rooms here are a good size and have been refurbished and so are clean.
No instructions for the heating in the room but worked it out as it was cold when we arrived.

£20 one of charge for the dog is a bit steep for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First time at a travel Lodge. Very clean room and bathroom. Bed and pillows VERY comfortable with lovely cotton bedding.
Downside it was spartan. But for one night it served its function clean safe and quiet. Go again? yes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank LancashireSusi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from 25th to 29th October 2013 with our 2 small dogs. We chose this particular Travelodge because it was situated right on the edge of the Lake District where we had planned a long weekend away for walking and exploring the Lakes.
The room we had was on the first floor- it was a large double room which was very clean, comfortable and quiet. We heard no outside noise, despite being very close to the A66. We also heard no noise from inside the hotel, despite it being very popular with dogs owners!!
We were able to explore the whole of the Lake District from this base and were very happy with our stay. Travelodge is a BASIC hotel option and not for those expecting toilettres in the bathroom and all the mod cons. But if you are looking for a clean and quiet no-frills base for a trip away and, in particular, if you have dogs with you- this is an excellent option!
Our only slight concern when we first arrived was that we had been put in an upstairs room away from the reception that we would need to access with the dogs in the evening for toilet trips. However our initial worry was unfounded. The hotel is small enough that even if you are upstairs, the reception is very quickly accessed!!
We loved the Lake District and had a very enjoyable stay- thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank MrsLisaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good location and quiet considering the closeness to the M6. Easy to get into Penrith and the lake district area. Little chef next door with Burger King coming soon. This is also split into two buildings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank away-again-yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Last stopped here in April immediately prior to the refurb. Everything, and I mean everything, has now changed for the better. Staff are on the ball and welcoming (asked if I knew the area or wanted information about it), rooms well kept, odour free and spotless. Bathroom immaculate and corridors no longer covered in black marks. I bet there is a lot of soul searching at HQ that they were saddled with blue as their corporate colour as a more unwelcoming choice it is hard to imagine! Certainly, on my experience 10 out of 10 this time. There is a Morrisons 3 minutes away in Penrith that serves breakfasts from 8am and a MacDonalds just shy of the Morrisons for those in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

concerned about some of the reviews, however found this a very good place to stay. all rooms have been refurbished so no problems at all on that score - room was clean tidy spacious and well appointed. Apart from small bar of soap you need your own toiletries. Got a quiet nights sleep too. Wifi available, worked well on arrival but v slow next day, possibly bandwidth issue? however Little Chef opposite has wifi (though I didnt use, so cant vouch for it).Good location short drive or taxi from Penrith centre, lots of good bars and restaurants. bit too far to walk.
Reception staff very friendly and extremely helpful.
What is most impressive - and certainly worthy of praise and a huge commendation to the integrity of all the staff - is that i left my laptop by mistake. Rang later in the day expecting the worst. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, he went straight to my room while I was on the phone, it wasnt there, but he then checked the office and the cleaning staff had handed it in (phew). This was a brand new high spec laptop in a backpack. All credit to the honesty and integrity of all the staff - its restores faith in humanity to know there are still people with values and I got the impression they really care for their customers - the reception guy seemed as pleased as I was when he was able ot hand it back to me! Got the impression they cared. Fantastic service and thought this was worth passing on, I would highly recommend for customer service alone- and of course would most definitely stay again.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Property: Travelodge Penrith
Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travelodge
Penrith Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing