We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and not much more”
Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and my colleague were staying here for four nights whilst doing a tour, and I have to say it was just average really. The location was good as it is pretty much there straight away as you come off the motorway, but when we arrived, there was no one to greet us at reception. We had to ring the Travelodge's number to get someone to come to us, and then only to be told that our room wasn't ready until 3pm (we arrived at 2pm, you'd think it would be ready by then). After 3 hours of travelling the last thing we wanted to do was wait around.

The rooms were fairly basic, they had the new refurbishment which was nice but despite the fact we'd told them we wanted a family room there was no bedding provided for the sofa bed which again, we had to go and get our selves. The bathroom was basic too, the bath was stupidly small, I could barely fit in it, but it was OK for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfjx92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review chloe j. We do expect our staff to provide a warm, friendly and efficient welcome to all our guests so it is regrettable to learn that there was no one at reception, sometimes they may not be at the desk as they may be expected to complete other tasks however there should be a buzzer at reception which will alert our staff so they can provide assistance to our guests. Our check in time throughout our hotels is from 3pm, however should you wish to check in early you can purchase an early check in which allows you to check in from 12 noon at a £10.00 charge, subject to availability. Our rooms are expected to be fully set up with the correct amount of linen and towels so we are truly sorry to learn that this did not happen on this occasion. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our hotel staff so that they can be aware of the importance of customer care and ensuring our rooms are set up correctly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

However it was very annoying to see that after we had booked, Travelodge reduced the prices-so no incentive to book early. There has been a problem with some recent Travelodge stays where the water supply to the bath has been on very low pressure and only Luke warm, when for us one of the main advantages of Travelodges had been a good flow of hot water for a bath.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank BPC17652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed over Xmas. Our second stay in a couple of months.
The beds are excellent and offer a very good nights sleep. I would prefer a walk in shower rather than a shower over a bath but at the price who can complain.
The staff are great. There is a Little Chef next door which knocks up a great straightforward breakfast and drinkable coffee.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyHerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were down in Penrith for a family wedding, and the team were absolutely wonderful! My father was with us, and as he is disabled, needed a ground floor room-no problem at all-and they even arranged for us to have the room next to him. The hotel was fully booked, and they were rushed off their feet (most of the wedding party was there) yet they managed to be polite and courteous at all times. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and warm. Couldn't ask for anything more.
I must give a special mention to Lee, the night receptionist. He was absolutely brilliant. All of us rolling in after the wedding, and he could not have been any more patient and helpful-even after his all-nighter, he helped me massively in the morning when I had to deliver something to another room which they'd left behind in our car. Sally was also helpful in the extreme, and always smiling. If We're down that way again-we'll have no hesitation in booking in to this hotel. (The Little Chef right on the doorstep was also very good, as was their staff)

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building and not the annexe. Much easier if you have any queries
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelda19678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From about 1995 onwards we used to visit this Travelodge at least twice a year. It was a great value base for the Lake District.

But then it became run down and manky. On our last visit in 2007 the bed was uncomfortable and the room was tired and knackered. So we gave up on it.

It's now been refurbished. So the bed was great and the room was fresh and new.

So we'll be staying here regularly again. Hurrah!

Since we last stayed, a new Booths supermarket has been built in Penrith. It's an upmarket Waitrose with an upstairs cafe which serves the best breakfast ever - and it's a 2 minute drive from the Travelodge. So make sure you eat here in the morning - give the Little Chef a miss.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

ideally placed for a stopover when travelling south from north Scotland to Lincolnshire and very easy to find just off the M6 . We were in the annexe and it was very quiet despite being fully booked .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Room was large but was right by the reception so we heard everyone coming and going all night. Very noisy and unpleasant. Bathroom had a strong smell of damp and wasn't very clean. Good location. Actually very expensive compared to what a premier inn offers. Don't really see anyone on reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We want our customers to have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us so we are sorry to learn that you were disturbed during the night Emily M. We also expect our rooms to be clean and fresh and we would like to investigate the concerns you have raised. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £42 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travelodge
Penrith Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing