We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
185
186
101
46
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
186
101
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger king room was clean breakfast box lake district convenient location basic accommodation lady on reception an overnight stay easy access one night stay night's sleep friendly welcome short drive lakes motorway junction laptop
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

However it was very annoying to see that after we had booked, Travelodge reduced the prices-so no incentive to book early. There has been a problem with some recent Travelodge stays where the water supply to the bath has been on very low pressure and only Luke warm, when for us one of the main advantages of Travelodges had been a good flow of hot water for a bath.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank BPC17652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed over Xmas. Our second stay in a couple of months.
The beds are excellent and offer a very good nights sleep. I would prefer a walk in shower rather than a shower over a bath but at the price who can complain.
The staff are great. There is a Little Chef next door which knocks up a great straightforward breakfast and drinkable coffee.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyHerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were down in Penrith for a family wedding, and the team were absolutely wonderful! My father was with us, and as he is disabled, needed a ground floor room-no problem at all-and they even arranged for us to have the room next to him. The hotel was fully booked, and they were rushed off their feet (most of the wedding party was there) yet they managed to be polite and courteous at all times. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and warm. Couldn't ask for anything more.
I must give a special mention to Lee, the night receptionist. He was absolutely brilliant. All of us rolling in after the wedding, and he could not have been any more patient and helpful-even after his all-nighter, he helped me massively in the morning when I had to deliver something to another room which they'd left behind in our car. Sally was also helpful in the extreme, and always smiling. If We're down that way again-we'll have no hesitation in booking in to this hotel. (The Little Chef right on the doorstep was also very good, as was their staff)

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building and not the annexe. Much easier if you have any queries
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelda19678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From about 1995 onwards we used to visit this Travelodge at least twice a year. It was a great value base for the Lake District.

But then it became run down and manky. On our last visit in 2007 the bed was uncomfortable and the room was tired and knackered. So we gave up on it.

It's now been refurbished. So the bed was great and the room was fresh and new.

So we'll be staying here regularly again. Hurrah!

Since we last stayed, a new Booths supermarket has been built in Penrith. It's an upmarket Waitrose with an upstairs cafe which serves the best breakfast ever - and it's a 2 minute drive from the Travelodge. So make sure you eat here in the morning - give the Little Chef a miss.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

ideally placed for a stopover when travelling south from north Scotland to Lincolnshire and very easy to find just off the M6 . We were in the annexe and it was very quiet despite being fully booked .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews