We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penrith Travelodge”
Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penrith Travelodge”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Penrith - Dirty duvet. Ripped duvet cover. Dirty shower curtain. Not an enjoyable stay. This is supposed to be an upgraded Travelodge. We were supposed to stay 2 nights - we left after the first night.
By comparison, we had stayed in the Glasgow Airport Travelodge a few days prior and this was immaculate, with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    71
    28
    23
See reviews for
125
177
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The first two nights were spot on. Clean, comfortable, cheap etc. All the attributes of a quality budget hotel. On the third night however, things went downhill. I returned after a day on the high Lakeland hills (17 miles, 4200 foot ascent) to find the room unserviced. Dirty towels in the bath, a hospitality tray devoid of hospitality, unmadeup bed and dirty cups not replaced. Fortuitously, the missing cleaner had abandoned his/her trolley outside my door so I managed to aquire (and leave) new/used items for myself. I had tried to report this porblem at reception but others had collared the receptionist ahead of me and I couldn't face the wait. On the return to my room I passed another couple bearing wet towels making their way downstairs. I wonder, could I invoice them for my time?

Room Tip: Request a serviced room before you go to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment traveller1648. Our housekeeping team are expected to ensure all rooms are replenished during your stay so it is regrettable to learn the problems which occurred on the third night of your stay. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel staff so that they are aware of the improvements which are needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Room was smelly, carpet dirty, heater not working. Location was good as we were heading to the Lakes early next day. It was OK for 1 night but I wouldn't like to have thought I had to return there for a second night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Good----- Stayed 2 nights and could not fault the staff who were all very professional, friendly and helpful
Obvious that it had been recently refurbed with new beds, curtains, bathroom taps etc. Freshly decorated throughout and nice and clean.
Good location at a keen price for the Lakes
The bad--- Toilet pan need replacing as the bottom was badly stained brown--not nice to see!
The beds were apparently new but the edges were so hard that the rest of the bed (being softer) sagged towards the middle. Poor. And as for the rock hard pillows!!!
WIFI!!!! £5 for 1 hour!!! What's this all about?? Almost everywhere I go I get free wifi. So disappointed as I paid upfront and had to use the hour in one hit--£5!!!! And it took 4 attempts to get the link. At these charges Travelodge seem to be challenging Ryanair for unreasonable charges!!!!
So disappointed as money has clearly been spent on the facilities but still misses the point and reflects poorly on the excellent staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are truly sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with your room Eurotraveller777. We do expect all our rooms to be cleaned to high standards and for our facilities to be in good working order. Furthermore, during the daily room checks, all mattresses that are found to not be fit for purpose should be replaced. We are also sorry to learn that you were unhappy with our WiFi charges. We would like to remain competitive with our charges therefore we would like to thank you for your feedback on this issue. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Quality in this case is a mix of fitness for Purpose and Value for Money, The accommodation was cheap, clean and comfortable, I'm not sure what else you look for in a Travelodge. This Travelodge is just off the M6 near the Penrith Junction. The accommodation has obviously been recently refurbished. I was stopping on my own, so was allocated a double room, which was very spacious for one. The bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom exceptional for my needs. Small things, but the shower curtain was on a Rail that curved out giving more room just where it was needed and the shower had firm handrails so getting in and out was easy and safe. As I say small things, but they made a difference.
I was in the Annexe, which was very quiet, although it was struggle at first to find reception which wasn't immediately apparent from the entrance road. The staff were friendly although I didn't really make much contact with them.
On site at the Travelodge are a BurgerKing and one of the few remaining Little Chef's, so food was available, and Penrith is close if you want something more sophisticated.
About the only downside was that you had to continue up the dual carriageeay for about Half a mile before turning round, but that not really a hardship. I would not only stay there again, but look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: If you can get one in the Annexe they may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehoits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped for three nihts over feb school school hols. Perfect stay, comfy new beds, excellent staff service. Family rooms have two new single beds. Clean and plenty towels. Could not fault for the money. Wuld recommend. There is a burger king at the little chef opposite now. Morrisons approx 5mins away have a resturant as well

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy1brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A pleasant surprise to say the least. A clean obviously refurbished bedroom and bathroom comfortable and warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed just the one night as my wife had a company "do" to go to and it saved the drive home. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrighty320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
22.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Property: Travelodge Penrith
Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travelodge
Penrith Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing