We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for a one night stopover. Staff were very friendly and the room was basic but clean. There was only a couple of downers; there was no lock on the bathroom door, the toilet seat was not fitted to the toilet at one side and there was damage to the TV screen so part of the pictures were missing. Felt a bit cheated by the free 30 min WiFi, used it 8 minutes then thought to save some minutes for later so signed off, went in later and was told it had expired. Have done this before at premier inn and can still use the leftover minutes. Surely if little chef next door can give you unlimited WiFi Travelodge could. Little chef next door very good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    143
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
119
169
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
243 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for the bank holiday weekend Friday to Monday to attend a lovely wedding in Penrith.

The rooms were clean, large and to be expected of a Travel Lodge. The bed was surprisingly very comfy and the rooms had a decent tv and wardrobe space.

For check in I had paid extra for the early option and was challenged that I hadn't paid for it, however when asked to produce proof I showed reception my confirmation text, when this wasn't good enough I then had to prove by logging in online using my mobile phone to show I had paid! Eventually the reception staff agreed I had paid! They were helpful though and seemed stressed with the number of guests that had descended upon their hotel for 2 weddings.

On our final morning we had planned to have a lie in to recover from the heavy amazing weekend, this however was not possible due to the reception/cleaning staff deciding to clean the entire annex from 8 am onwards chatting about who's cat was darker (seriously we heard the conversation word for word) and laughing and joking at the top of their voices!! Initially I was fuming and tried to lie in some more but it eventually became hilarious as we heard everything!!

If your looking for a cheap decent clean base to explore the area then it's worth it...don't expect the Ritz but like I've said people who book Travel Lodge know what they're getting

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Needed a stopover in Cumbria and this is near the M6. Our room was clean roomy and welcoming. Everything needed for an overnight stopover and nice roomy bathroom. Tea and coffee with kettle. We had to ask for a hair dryer but that was delivered within minutes. Friendly and accommodating service and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Had a good nights sleep and left feeling quite refreshed for our onward journey parking was good and eating at the Little Chef was conveniently alongside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Mon 14th april until wed 16th april stayed at this lovely travel lodge staff are helpful and the room is comfortable and quiet..and one of the best things is the little chef..great breakfast, lunch and dinner ..not forgetting the staff so friendly after a few days like visiting old friends or family, they were so good at there jobs, making sure everything was perfect, came back late tuesday night and it was like having a restaurant to yourself.. second visit now in 10 months. Thanks guys we will be back. !!!

Wendy and Toby.

Room Tip: speak to the staff they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zira2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Warm, clean room. Clean bathroom, hot shower. Friendly receptionist. No noise from outside or inside the hotel. Comfy bed and tea and coffee making facilities. Town centre and big Sainsbury's close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I arrived Friday night to find out that I had stupidly booked the wrong date. The hotel staff could have turned me away and despite being full and very late they brought a room back into service and prepared it with an extra bed for me and my weary friend. I did not expect to be looked after so well and it was hugely appreciated, turning a potential disaster into something positive.

Room was clean and comfortable. Great value at the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomshom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a great little Inn. Quiet although next to A66 and train lines. Friendly staff, rooms are comfortable enough but did find the bed uncomfortable (roll in the middle type of mattress) Very handy for the lakes and as a stop over for travelling up north or south. I would stay again but only for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Property: Travelodge Penrith
Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travel Lodge
Penrith Travelodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing