We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Blaenau Ffestiniog
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

A good clean and tidy place to stay over. Reasonably priced too. Will remember this one!! It's within easy access to the M6 motorway and yes, it does have a Little Chef attached to it. But if you doth mind that, it's an ok place to stay overnight.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank emgee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    71
    28
    22
See reviews for
124
177
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If this is the refurb. that Travelodge advertise they needn't have bothered. The only refurb.is the bed. The beds that slide out are rock hard. There was only one bath towel in the family room and a rather suspect hand towel which was grubby. The bathroom floor was wet and not very clean. However , the staff were friendly and it's handy having a Little Chef next door. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Idealy placed to visit cumbria and surrounding lakes etc.Very clean and tidy since the refurb.Had a 2 night stay used family room as a twin, single bed rather hard but that's just me, nice and quiet at rear staff very pleasant. not modern key cards for doors but a good flat screen TV. On site Little Chef which was excellent with nice staff, good food both choice and quality and 10% off meals for Travelodge customers (proof by keys)
Very happy with stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms at rear (less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Actually this isn't so much about the quality of the Penrith Travelodge as it is about the way the company can put the customer in a very difficult position on a whim without seemingly any recourse.

I booked one Saturday nights accommodation two weeks in advance to attend a family occasion at a restaurant located in the fairly nearby village of Askham. Having travelled from Newcastle upon Tyne earlier in the day my wife and I were taking advantage of the visit to Cumbria with a run to Grasmere and a little sight seeing before our intended check in back at Penrith around 5pm. Something around 4pm (standing in a garden centre in Grasmere) I received a phone call on my mobile to say there was a problem with my booking, in short there wasn't a room for my wife and I, but never mind said the girl we have it sorted your accommodation needs out for you.....we have transferred your booking to the Travelodge in Carlisle!!!! Wonderful....so now what should have been a ten minute drive from Penrith to Askham and back you are expecting me to firstly drive roughly 50 miles from Grasmere to check in at Carlisle, then a 25 mile drive to Askham village for our meal and a 25 mile back to Carlisle. Needless to say I raised absolute merry hell at even the slightest prospect of this being considered a reasonable solution to Travelodge's booking incompetence whilst attracting much attention from other garden centre shoppers at my animated gestures yelling down the phone at being put in this unacceptable situation. Eager to confront this matter face to face with the Penrith Travelodge staff while heading from Grasmere with some urgency I received a further phone call around 20 mins after the first to be told that miraculously a room had now become available at Penrith.

Doubtless some other poor soul had become victim of the same phone call and been binned from the Penrith lodge instead of my wife and I. What a disgrace that this should ever...under any circumstances...happen to guests. Never again Travelodge, you have lost my business for life in a vote of complete no confidence.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank sabreliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Compared to the numerous other travelodges we've stayed in, this one is a bit behind on investment. Yes, the bedroom area itself has the new beds and curtains etc but they're still on keys rather than cards for the doors and the bathroom was tired and in need of replacing with one of the all-in-one plastic units they have in the other Travelodges we've stayed in. One of the kids' beds was very uncomfortable too although main (new) bed very good.

However, the staff here were great. You couldn't wish to meet more friendly, pleasant people and they are a credit to the chain. Room kept very clean and well-serviced too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfortable - choose the anex as it is away from the main road as the main road never sleeps.
Most guests stay here to visit the lakes and surrounding area - good base. Keswick only 25 minutes away. Penrith has lots of good eating.
Hotel is hardly ever visited by business people, mostly tourists stay here which means it has a different "air" about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandovery, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We experienced excellent service as we have come to expect from Travelodge Penrith. The fact that it has now been refurbished made a considerable difference to our comfort. It is easy to find and is an ideal stopping place on our frequent trips to visit our grandchildren in Scotland.
We liked the new beds but felt more light was needed to shave in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
20.7 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
22.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Property: Travelodge Penrith
Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travelodge
Penrith Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing