We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage With Character!”
other travellers have booked this property
South Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Cottage
Living room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
South Cottage
Living room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room (Smart TV)
Beautifully Light Lounge
Cosy Fireplace!
Cute Decor to Welcome you in!
Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with Bath and Electric Power Shower
Bathroom
Rear Garden
Coast to Coast walk which runs through the village
A walk across the road from the cottage, looking back to Orton
Glorious Ullswater
Strolling along Ullswater
Follow the Ullswater Way!
The Village Pub, Orton
The George Hotel Pub, Orton
The George Hotel Pub, Orton
Road to Orton
Orton Village
Orton Village Entrance
From on top of Orton Scar
To Orton Village!
Orton Scene
Orton Scar Cafe
Village Store - For all the essentials!
Orton Sign
Stunning Ullswater - a favourite day out!
Road down to Orton
Road to Orton
A Day Trip to Ullswater
Heading up Orton Scar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suz_1965
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage With Character!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for a week in South Cottage to celebrate my 50th birthday and have totally fallen for this lovely little cottage. It's quirky and cosy and was exactly what we had hoped for. It's extremely well equipped from every kitchen utensil to towels to a hair dryer. Everything had been thought of. A lovely touch was the bottle of wine left for us. Orton is ideally placed for all of the Lake District and the village has a lovely feel as well as all the amenities you will ever need. Both cafes and the hotel do great food. The owner Chloe was a pleasure to deal with and we are already looking forward to our next stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure to have you stay at South Cottage and glad you enjoyed the celebrations in the cottage!! Really hope you get the chance to come back one day :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s h
1 review
“Great location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Orton is a lovely little village within easy reach of the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales NP. The village itself has a good pub and two great cafes.
South Cottage is beautifully renovated, with sun-filled living area with everything needed. The bedrooms are compact but comfortable. We had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review! So glad you had a good stay :) And I'm glad the sun was shining for you!! Do let me know if you would like to stay again. Thanks again, Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisbaneL...
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My son and I recently stayed at South Cottage, Orton for just over 2 weeks and loved every minute of our stay. The cottage is clean, warm and very well equipped with every kitchen utensil you may require, plus an extensive range of dvd's, books and information on the general area.
Orton village is a very friendly little village with one pub and a shop/post office, where we were able to buy all our groceries and necessities. Orton is also on the coast to coast walkway.
I would not hesitate to stay here again, and the owner, Chloe was very kind, helpful and understanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review! So glad you had such a lovely stay - it was a pleasure to have you! I do hope you get the chance to come back! :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCK59
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great break despite the weather”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My daughter, dog & I thought it would be nice to have a little holiday together, near the Lakes in January!! Despite the weather, we had everything gales, driving rain, snow & brilliant sunshine, we had a lovely time. South Cottage is a delightful little property in the heart of a "typical" village. You could see the pub from the kitchen window, just round the corner is the chocolate factory & not far up the road a nice little cafe.The cottage itself is well equipped, beautifully decorated & cosy & warm. The village is well situated to visit any number of lakes & attractions, but also offers some lovely walks on the doorstep. I only had one problem & its mine not South Crottages, the driveway is quite narrow and I have a large car and no driving skills! Fingers crossed we would like to do it all again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patto41
Denmark, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We used South Cottage as a base for visiting the Lakes District. It is very comfortable and well appointed, and is well located for pleasant day trips.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faraway19...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booked a short break at short notice. Chloe was very responsive and provided loads of useful info. The cottage was gorgeous, all the comforts of home and then some. Would definately recommend as a get away from it all place to go. Lots of great walks nearby - and the dog loved it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I write this on the last morning of our pre-wedding break in Cumbria.

From the minute we booked, Chloe (owner) has been the perfect 'host' even down to some last minute rebooking of dates due to a family emergency. Polite, friendly & informative. Thank you Chloe.

The cottage itself? What can I say? Perfect. Simply perfect. Everything you could ever want in a holiday rental. Clean, warm, beautifully decorated. It lacks for nothing and immediately felt like a home from home.

It's a minutes walk from the charming and friendly village shop and equidistant from the beautiful countryside of Cumbria. We've spent a peaceful couple of days walking, exploring and eating. The weather has been mixed but when not out walking, there is plenty to explore within the village and within 20 mins drive it doesn't matter. With an open fire, sharing a bottle of wine (thank you!) and watching the cottages copy of Wainwrights Walks, the evenings have been simply wonderful.

I've written separate reviews but do try the George Hotel and Silver Yard Cafe in the village for excellent food!

We're sad to leave but will most definitely be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing