We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”

The Agricultural Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Agricultural Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for one night on our way to Scotland. I was bemused to be asked to pay upfront for our stay in spite of having paid a deposit, I guess the reception girl thought we looked dodgy and may have done a runner early in the morning. Never been asked to do this before and it did put us off somewhat.

The room was well appointed and very clean though the mattress was very soggy and gave a poor sleep quality. Every thing was on hand in the room, good wi-fi ,excellent shower and plenty of tea, coffee and milk. The breakfast was very good and well prepared.

We would stay here again, the cask ales are well kept Jennings with one guest ale.

I know this hotel from having lived in Penrith for many years when it was mainly a watering hole for farmers visiting the Auction Mart (now a supermarket). It is a Victorian building with high ceilings and a rather elegant servery in the bar. The ambience has largely been destroyed by the addition of reclaimed floorboards beneath the Victorian coving on which are displayed a few woodworking tools!! Its beyond me why anyone would spoil a nice building in this way and I hope the brewery can find the funds for a refurbish of the bar area and restore it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Varty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way south. Even booking was a pleasant experience with a very friendly voice on the phone. The room was clean and well equipped with everything we needed. It was quiet and we had a lovely sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Served with a smile and friendly chat. Definitely return here if we are in the area

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Lovely lunch from a good choice of menu,reasonably priced,nicely presented and staff very attentive. Quaint surroundings which could to with being brightened up. Dined here many years ago.Still the same high standard.Would visit again when in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank doormatAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Living locally, we wanted to eat close by. The meal provided, Roast Beef etc. was everything we wanted it to be - tasty and plenty of it. Very pleasant staff and an excellent venue. Will definitely be back - probably a regular Sunday treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Visited the hotel again last week 21.3.13. Were greeted by friendly and accommodating staff without a previous booking. They have quite an extensive menu, but for us there was only one dish on the menu, the 'Lamb Henry'. We've tried it before and again we were not disappointed. What a piece of meat it just dropped off the bone. The rest of the vegetables were so nicely prepared and presented it was a shame to have to leave some of them. They all seemed to have been prepared especially for our table, no tired vegetables on these plates. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable evening at a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Being a Veggie it's hard to eat out when you usually only get 1 token option. The Aggi usually has 4 or 5 options. Vegan options also available. All requests catered for. Other dietry requirements caterd for. Excellent food at an excellent price in a friendly, warm, relaxing environment. TV and newspapers available to use. As a woman I have no problem going into this pub on my own for a quiet drink. read of the papers, watch of the news, and there's always some friendly chat at the bar if you want it. No one ever gets made to feel unwelcome by the staff. No undesireables tolerated. Veggie friendly; woman friendly; child friendly; dog friendly. Open fire. Eat in the bar or dining area. Staff are always friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip, nice friendly pub with a big roaring fire making a nice welcoming atmosphere. Friendly staff and service with a smile, nice hospitable welcome on arrival. Evening meal was excellent as was the ale. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful and served with a good morning pot of tea. The room I stayed in was good, plenty of room and a nice hot shower en-suite. Only criticism for me was the bed, poor mattress which led to a restless night. Would I stop here again? yes!

Room Tip: Having only stayed in one room it wouldn't be fair to tell you which room to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
931 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
3.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Agricultural Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Agricultural Hotel

Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Agricultural Hotel Penrith
The Agricultural Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing