We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Agricultural Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$91
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
43
21
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
21
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb henrybarry manilowsteak and ale pieslightly al dentegood sized portionslamb shankpub grubmashmarstonsringwoodscotlandmotorwaydoglakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stopped over on our way up to Scotland. It's only minutes from the very busy junction 40 of the M6. Easy to find once you enter the town, and only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. Right behind the hotel is a brand new Morrisons superstore, which means picking up provisions is convenient, but we did hear from our room some delivery lorry noise in the early morning. The room was fine, nothing special but clean and perfectly comfortable. We ate there in the evening and it was adequate but very much ' pub food '. Breakfast was fine with good choice. All the staff we had any dealings with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johntakeiteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at the Agricultural Hotel for a long weekend during the beginning of August. Penrith is an ideal base for exploring the north Lakes area and the hotel is well situated and easy to find.
The staff and friendly and welcoming and the hotel offers good value for money accommodation.The room was clean and comfortable and has a really excellent shower. Although there are building works going on behind the hotel the triple glazing worked well and the room was generally well insulated against noise - although the pub and restaurant are busy the noise does not carry though to the rooms.
The breakfast was of excellent quality and there was plenty of choice - we also used the restaurant on a couple of evenings and were well satisfied with the food and service.
Internet access would be a useful addition

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csa_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

we stayed at the agricultural hotel earlier this year. we where travelling to visit friends and thought we would stop off here for the evening. we arrived late afternoon and found the hotel very warm and welcoming with a real open fire which i love to see. we found the accommodation value for money and comfortable. we had an evening meal that was fantastic, the lamb henry was superb. overall we had a great stay and will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Good value for money. Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was good.
Excellent service and the evening meal was amazing, really good pub food. I had a massive tasty steak with all the trimmings. They also have a great selection of Ales.
Location is also good, right in the center of Penrith.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoody1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very welcoming, friendly, relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Biccies and bubblebath, which you often don't get these days. Delicious food (we had dinner there as well as breakfast) - good choice, enormous portions of well-cooked, hot, tasty food. Breakfast was gigantic and again, delicious, and plenty of newspapers to read. Only slight downside was that tvs were placed high on the wall and quite awkward to watch, and would have liked slightly later check-out (10a.m.). However, overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polestar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews