We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff,atmosphere and surroundings”
Review of Crown Inn - CLOSED

Crown Inn
Price range: US$5 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely staff,atmosphere and surroundings”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We popped in for a ice cream in the afternoon with 5 kids,4 adults and a dog the staff couldn't have been nicer the pub was very busy but each member of staff said hello and if we were being seen too,we sat in the gorgeous beer garden.kids loved it catching fish in the lake feeding the ducks,we had a lovely afternoon so lovely we went back for tea which again was nice kids had fish and chips must have been good as had lots of empty plates,We didn't find it dirty staff were making stop checks on the toilets and if there was a problem it was sorted straight away,which is my belief all you can ask them to do.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

10 of us (including 2 kids) ate here on our last night of camping at pooley bridge!! Food was brilliant......just the right portion size and not too over-priced! the place was really busy but the service was still quick! we ate outside in the riverside beer garden as we had our dog with us and the atmosphere was great. give this place a try, i know we will be back the next time were camping at pooley bridge!
and well done to the staff......keep up the good work!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank familyMAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice pub with quite a large beer garden out the back leading down to the river. Haven't tried the food so I can't comment on that but it looked good as people were being served.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pub grub in an ideal family oriented location.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

4 friends had lunch here on a hot July Saturday. We all had burger and excellent chips in the garden beside the water,however, I have to admit each couple had one portion between them as they were huge! Families were in the water and there was a great holiday atmosphere. To be recommended,we have done so to local families we know. Plenty friendly staff too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everything you could want from a pub!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Visited The Crown at Pooley Bridge following a recommendation, and we were not disappointed, great location on the river, sitting outside in the sun, lovely reasonably priced food, great and pleasant service, what a wonderful way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing