We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still 6 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Garth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Garth Guest House
Ranked #6 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still 6 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Refer to my post in Sept 13.
This B&B is truly worth a visit.
It was outstanding last year and we have visited it twice this year in June and July.
The only change is that the AA has recognised it as the friendliest B & B in the UK.
It never disappoints and Irene Nixon can't do enough for you.
My wife asked for black pudding for breakfast. You will be asked the night before. So at 5.30 off goes Irene to buy some. Now that's service.
Everything is 6 star.
We have booked our next visit.
Well done Irene you continue to excel.

Room Tip: Our preference is a room looking over the river. Great view and a balcony to sit out on. The arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
87
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good location, lovely view from your balcony over the river. Professional yet exceedingly friendly welcome and hospitable welcome. The room was top class and spotlessly clean with all beverages etc. Overall 6 stars.
Ps try combining your stay with an evening meal at Four and Twenty Restaurant, 5 minutes away in Penrith which was also top class.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Mother and I had a splendid stay here. Irene was hospitality and courtesy incarnate. The guesthouse was immaculate, the room very comfortable and the lounge very welcoming. We enjoyed taking tea on the lounge balcony. The view of the river Lowther was idyllic. The breakfasts were uniformly delicious and extensive - very good fruit, wonderful full English and the best porridge I have ever eaten. When I arrived, Irene settled me with tea and biccies. They were frequently offered thereafter. She was uniformly and absolutely genuinely concerned with our comfort and welfare, even gave us a lift into Penrith and Brian offered one to Keswick over the weekend. My US adapter didn't work, but she let me borrow one a previous guest had left. Overall, the joint best B&B I have ever stayed in - along with the Alcuin Lodge in York - and an experience I hope to repeat here. River Garth apparently has many repeat guests.

Room Tip: Very comfortable family room with a modern bathroom. Pleasant view of sheep from window. Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed one night last weekend and had a great stay. The house is immaculate, everything absolutely spotlessly clean and very comfortable, especially the LARGE bed! The location is super, overlooking the river...we watched a lovely sunset before getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented and delicious. I particularly liked the linen tableware..none of your paper napkins here! An extra nice touch was that Irene introduced us to our fellow guests with whom we had breakfast - a thoughtful hostess who couldn't do enough to make us welcome and comfortable. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: When you turn off the main road as per instructions and appear to be going down a private road...kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week for 2 nights. Irene and Brian are super hosts. Very friendly. The room was sparkling,the bathroom (we had a shower) was stocked with every thing you may need or may have forgotten. Super size bed. .Breakfast was amazing, cereal fruit, full cooked Scottish breakfast and toast was fantastic.The room with patio overlooked the river and across to the bridge. The village is called Eamont bridge. we went for a walk as it was a lovely warm evening, was a circular walk at the side of the river then a quiet road took about an hour was beautiful. We ate at The Beehive just down the road. Wonderful food and a great bar man called Jack couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return to this 5* B and B and would give it 10 out of 10. Gail and Chris Wakefield Yorkshire. Thank you Irene and Brian

Room Tip: Just type in River Garth Penrith. Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Irene is an amazing host. It feels like staying in a very attentive friend's home. Immaculately clean and well appointed and Irene and Brian were so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was perfect. Thank you for making us feel at home. We will definitely be back. Simon and Lynda.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smallbutvicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a balcony room over looking the River Garth which was lovely,it was spacious with a king size bed which was super comfy.I must also comment on the shower,i get so disappointed by showers that dribble,this was a waterfall shower.It was Great !!!!!
Breakfast was a fantastic spread, several cereals,and range of fruits and yoghurts, a full English which was very good with the meat coming from Cranstons.Fruits juices and tea or coffee.It was a Fantastic couple of days and the host ,Mrs Irene Nixon has just won the AA friendliest B&B in the UK and thoroughly deserved.i would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

Mr P. Desouza ,Cheshire

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PETE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
1.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garth Guest House

Property: River Garth Guest House
Address: Eamont Bridge, Penrith CA10 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — River Garth Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River Garth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Garth Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing