We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes Country Guest House
Ranked #25 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were visiting the Lakes District with our daughter and son-in-law and stayed at The Limes Country Guest House, Penrith, on 4th May, 2013. This was a truly wonderful "find". Each couple enjoyed a most comfortable large room with stunning views. Beds were perfect for an excellent night`s sleep. Great sized ensuites. Peter, the owner, cooked a fantastic breakfast.
If we are lucky enough to visit the U.K. again, we would definitely stay here again, and hopefully, for a longer stay. The location is great. The Guest House is surrounded by peaceful scenic countryside and handy enough to the motorway. We felt the price was certainly excellent.
We definitely enjoyed a warm welcome here.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the front of the Guest House, on the first floor. Excellent large rooms with com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamtin949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at this delightful guest house along with several other family members and friends who had gathered in the Lake District for a family reunion. In fact, our group took over the entire guest house for two nights! We had a very warm welcome and each of our rooms was really comfortable with excellent en suite bathroom facilities. The breakfasts were delicious and cooked to order. The location is very good as well - very close to the motorway but at the same time in a quiet location with lovely views across the valley. All in all, It is an excellent, reasonably priced guest house and I would highly recommend it.
Lorna Turner, Ontario, Canada.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had planned to go up to the Lake District for the weekend with our friend from Germany and we stayed at the Lime Country Guest House in Penrith. The welcome was really warm and welcoming with a cheery smile. We stayed in the biggest room with a very comfortable bed and a lovely en suite shower and not to mention an amazing view to look at in the morning after a goodnight sleep. The rooms have been refurbished of which they could not have done a better job. In the morning a full English breakfast was served with a big smile - delicious as they also cater for vegetarians which I was happy about.
The surroundings are spectacular as you're not too far from some mountains for a spot of hill walking and/or trekking after which you can treat yourself to a well deserved drink or lunch at a nice pub nearby.
All in all staying at the Lime Country Guest House was a very good experience. We would definitely stay there again and our friend from Germany also says he would definitely stay again. Thank you. Jen and Sullivan

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stopped here for one night before we traveled back down south over the May half-term break. After staying for a week in a house where the shower wasn't working very well, this was a welcome relief with a lovely soaking shower with plenty of hot water. We have three small children, but the owners were very accommodating putting an extra mattress in their family room (two rooms actually, a twin and a double with a connecting door). The rooms are lovely and bright and clean, apparently they have just finished renovating the place, and it all is very nicely done. The kids loved running around the big garden and the Rheged centre is a short walk down the road with a great play area. The breakfast was also very good and Peter the owner was very accommodating with the kids food choices. Would definitely recommend this to other people, and not far from the M6 so a good stop off point on a long journey.

Room Tip: Famiy room was very comfortable for our young family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were only passing through Penrith and wanted somewhere to stay. The welcome was so refreshing and the room so comfortable that we extended our stay and enjoyed all that it had to give. The surrounds are breathtaking. We had the room at the front and just sitting in the chair looking out the window was a sheer delight. I could not faulter this place. It was exquisite. Thank you Peter and your parents for making our stay so pleasant. The bed and pillows were the best. You felt that you were floating on clouds.
Peter and Barbara

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we have just returned from The Lime Country House Hotel. We stayed for 1 night, it was a special occasion and they give us the big room. Peter the owner give us a friendly welcome.
The room was fantastic, the bed so comfortable and the bed linen crisp and white.
the sofa was so comfortable in the room to relax on.
The en suite was a very good standard with toiletries provided. Towels soft good condition.
A lovely view over the fields by the bay window sitting on comfortable chair in room.
If you enjoy peace, this is the place to go.
Breakfast was filling and a lovely welcome from owners in the morning.
Ideal stop over for the lakes.
The hotel is under new management and they have done a brilliant job modernising it

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandasharp504187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in April with our eight year old son. There was a friendly welcome and the two adjoining family rooms were absolutely perfect. Although on the top floor of the house in the eves, these rooms were prefectly spacious with all mod cons, including flat screem TV in each room (particularly enjoyed by 8 year old). Everything worked perfectly, including a lovely powerful shower and I haven't slept in such a comfy bed for a long time!! It was so restful to lie in bed and watch the birds hoping around on the branches of the trees right outside. This place is a great antedote to corporate chain hotels. The grounds and surrounding countryside are green and extremely pleasant. Amazing peaceful in fact, despite the proximity of the the M6. It was just a shame that the weather was really too cold during our visit sit outside and enjoy that aspect properly!! We'll definitely stay again when we're passing that way.

Room Tip: If you have children, the adjoining family room is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.0 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Reigny
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Country Guest House

Address: Redhills Lane | Redhills, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Limes” is a quiet family owned and managed guesthouse on the fringe of the Lake District National Park with scenic views overlooking the Eamont river valley. Our rural setting is a short drive from M6 J40 where the A66 Trans Pennine trunk road crosses, ideally located for overnight stops or longer visits to the area. It is a fine and spacious late 19th Century Victorian farmhouse with a warm family atmosphere. Much of the interior retains the original features such as the pine staircase and substantial marble fireplaces. Outside is a private parking area and large garden which guests can enjoy. All the rooms have their own en-suite and up to date furnishings. These are complemented by room controlled heating, tea and coffee making facilities, television and free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Limes Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Country Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing