We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cinema: like how they should be.”
Review of Alhambra Cinema

Alhambra Cinema
Ranked #3 of 7 Fun & Games in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Penrith, the Alhambra Cinemas provide a first-class cinema experience, screening all the latest cinema releases as well as independent and foreign-language films in comfortable and relaxing surroundings.Now with Dolby Digital projection and Dolby Digital sound.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cinema: like how they should be.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Small friendly place, very helpful staff, pop corn , drinks and confectionary very reasonable. Reminded me of the old cinema on Low Fell. Really comfortable seats. Had a great time with the kids. Much better than any of these large multiplexes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint cinema”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Whilst stopping in penrith area we visited this quaint cinema. We decided this would be a nicer experience than the nearby multiplexes. We were not disappointed. The staff were well dressed, even a bow tie and took you to your seats. There are only two screens but the seat were comfortable and the projection and sound excellent. We will come again when visiting. A real experience with friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 356Chooch356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and inviting”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Alhambra Cinema is a gem in Penrith. A local independent cinema which has very good movies on and has great access for the disabled.

Angela, Darren & the staff are always very helpful and approachable.

The sweets and drinks are affordable, with an excellent choice suitable for all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KHTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic cinema!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We visited yesterday and had a great time - comfortable seats and friendly staff. So much better than the impersonal huge complexes you find in other places.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place, great staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a superb cinema that shows an excellent range of films. We visit regularly with the children when the new must see films are released (wreck it ralf, ice age 4, monsters uni, dispicable 2 etc etc) and also go ourselves when we get a rare night away from the rugrats. If you live in city or large town this is a throw back to how cinemas used to be. Keep up the good work

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Netherdene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alhambra Cinema also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Alhambra Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing