We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from field (west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (north west)
Cliburn Signal Box from wood (north north west)
Cliburn Signal Box at night
1st floor lounge
1st floor lounge
Original ceiling and beams in 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Entering kitchen from 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Bathroom
View to west from 1st floor lounge
View of the Weighbridge to south from 1st floor lounge
Cliburn Station, to west of the Signal Box
View to west from Cliburn Station
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan W
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely wonderful stay. Lovely little house that was perfect for my partner and I. Although on the outskirts of the lake district it has great access and is only a short drive, which we found gave us more beautiful views of the area. The location was brilliant with the ease of getting to the typical attractions around the lakes, whilst also providing the tranquility and remote, relaxed isolation we were after to escape our busy city life. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be sure to return again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your review. We've always thought the Eden Valley was beautiful and ideally situated for visiting the Lake District, but it's often forgotten due to its famous neighbour.
We look forward to your return visit.
Thanks again,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0nP90
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, unique, looking forward to returning”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay here, commuication before hand with Gavin was quick and friendly. We used this as a base to visit the lakes and it was lovely to be greated by the chickens each time we returned back. The 'cottage' was well supplied even with local os maps which could be borrowed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to use as as a base to visit The Lakes.
We hope you can return in the future, as we love seeing guests return.
Thanks again,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnabyBe...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy nights in on the edge of a forest”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This place is just INCREDIBLE. Stayed in the signal box for 4 nights - as a surprise. Best surprise ever. Even if you're not keen on railways, the location, accommodation and friendliness of the owners can't be beaten. Tranquil nights by the log burner, feeding the chickens, walking in the forest and visiting local attractions, made it all so memorable. Will definitely be returning, bought a lottery ticket on way home in hope of living there permanently....!

Owners helpful, hospitable, efficient and very very kind! Thank you so much Gavin and Wendy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
So lovely to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you both again soon.
Yours, Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique accomodation”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Loved the signal box so calm and peaceful. Perfect base to explore Eden valley and the lakes. Thank you Gavin for the wine it was a very nice gesture,also for recommending the Butchers Arms at Crossby Ravensworth we had a lovely meal there. We look forward to staying again later in the year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, with the peace and quiet and even better that you hope to return later in the year. You'll always be welcome back here anytime, when you can hopefully enjoy another one of our local pubs. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbnorthco...
Bermuda
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

A remarkable transformation by the owner, including a state of the art environmental system.

My tribute to an enjoyable four day stay is on my computer !



Please pass on my comments to the owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we just loved how you ended up where you are now and how your family bought you the trip to our Signal Box. We would love to welcome you back again, but feel sure you family will be planning another secret trip in some other exciting part of the world!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmbgap
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just spent a fantastic long weekend in the signal box! Set in a beautiful location in the Eden valley and also close to the Lake District. The accommodation itself could not have been better cosy, fantastic amenities, lots of kitchen equipment, gorgeous renovation! Highlights were the log burner, incredible views, chicken and ducks outside and snow on our last day! Some great local walks, pine forest behind the property with red squirrels and great location for exploring elsewhere.

We will definitely be coming again and recommending to friends and family!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We just love it when guests enthuse over their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Yours,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenRho...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing property”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Have just returned from a fantastic weekend exploring around this part of the Lake District and was lucky to stay at this superbly renovated Signal Box in a beautiful location on the edge of Whinfell Forest. Everything you need for a great break is in the property and when the wind is howling through the forest, having the chance to light a real log fire burner (something you don't get to do in the city) is a real bonus. It all added to the atmosphere especially on a cloudless night when you can the stars and the milky way in all their glory. Seeing deer roaming in the field next to the cottage was a highlight. Being a country boy who misses the rural countryside, I wasn't disappointed. The free bottle of wine was a nice touch too. Will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and location of the property
Liked least: The bed was a wee bit too small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
So please you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the renovation of the Signal Box. That stove will have been perfect with the howling wind outside. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing