We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice overnight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayfarers Independent Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice overnight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

comfortable and clean hostel close to city centre . staff made us feel welcome. |Would stay again. close to Ullswater and easy access from m6 motorway. Parking on street nearby with permit provided from hostel. Shame it rained, would have been better in the sunshine. Nice breakfast and cottage cafe.

Room Tip: ground floor facilities for people with walking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela_wroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here this past Friday night with a bunch of guys, we had the 6 bed dorm and twin room. Amazing service from start to finish with courteous and prompt contact prior to arrival. The place is clean, modern and well equipped. The decor is cool and we really couldn't fault it, all at a great price. We would highly recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: The Royal Pub at the bottom of the road and round the corner is a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyThomp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved the place and enjoyed a pleasant stay. Staff were welcoming and helpful.
Problem with shower room due to water collecting around toilet area (the opposite end to the shower). Generally though the room was well decorated and equipped and the hostel even had tools, track pumps etc. available in a specific room for cycles.

Booths supermarket at the top of the hill is great for breakfast. The Agricultural (a little further on towards the castle), good for an evening meal.

Room Tip: It was well worth booking the private twin room, even though I travelled alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonyck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here BH Monday Sat 3 May this year with my 2 mates. Perfect location, very clean... Was apprehensive because we have never stayed in a Hostel before however disregard all of the images such as dorm rooms etc.. Basically, this is just a very clean and well kept value for money hotel with ensuite.... Just what we needed after a hard days ride. It is also well equipped with Cycle Maintenance Tools and Walking Gear Waterproofer etc. all FREE OF CHARGE. Highly Recommended. Friendly Service also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A really nice place to stay, and such a reasonable rate. Has all the facilities that you would require. Has clean rooms, a well equiped dining room and a beautiful patio.Good pubs nearby for meals. We tried the Lowther Arms which was very good value and had excellent ales.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A brilliantly clean and comfortable YH. Free wifi, free team and coffee, and friendly staff. Great base for the Lakes and a 2 minute walk from Penrith town centre where there are many pubs and restaurants. Comfy beds also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the freindly staff, to the location and cleanliness, everything about it is absolutely spot on. The Royal Oak across the road is a great pub serving homemade food. The town centre is a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#37 of 62 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarers Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarers Independent Hostel

Property: Wayfarers Independent Hostel
Address: 19 Brunswick Square, Penrith CA11 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run independent hostel in Penrith, Cumbria, right on the C2C cycle route and the edge of the Lake District National Park. We offer excellent value hostel style accommodation with 16 beds spread over 4 rooms. With indoor cycle storage, drying room, lounge and full kitchen facilities we are an ideal place to stay for individuals, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wayfarers Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayfarers Independent Hostel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing