We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed a night on Coast to Coast - lovely quiet rural location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Great Britain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stayed a night on Coast to Coast - lovely quiet rural location”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here one night on our Coast to Coast (a cycleride between Whitehaven on the Irish Sea and Tyneside on the North Sea).

Our reception was friendly and welcoming, and the hotel were happy to store our cycles in a large shed (this was pre-arranged).

The rooms were compact, twin rooms, but were clean and tidy with a small TV and en-suite bathroom (with shower). The rooms we stayed in wont lend themselves to people who want to relax in their room and have room service, or those with active kids.

The hotel has a bar and a restaurant. We spent the evening in the bar, watching Wimbledon tennis semi-finals with the locals. There were other guests in the bar, as well as a few locals and the atmosphere was both friendly and welcoming.

Food was available in the bar, and was of good quality and was of the pub food style - good sized helpings, hearty food. Perfect for those who have been walking in the nearby hills or have ridden 50 miles over the Lake District!
There is also a restaurant where Breakfast is served - this offers a quieter alternative for those who would prefer it.
A few of us went for a walk after dinner. The village was very quiet and picturesque, there are footpaths nearby, but we didn't explore them, instead taking a 10 minute walk to the nearby church to stretch our stiff legs.

Breakfast was good - a good range of cooked breakfast offerings including porridge, with cereals and toast, etc.

I would recommend staying to those exploring the local area, the hotel is located nicely outside of Penrith and offers a quieter alternative to the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablo_stays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    77
    18
    17
    6
See reviews for
37
91
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
328 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A lovely location away from all of the lights and noise. From reception to dinner, the service couldn't have been better or more cheery. Dinner selections were few and the food wholesome and regular except for the sticky toffee pudding which was excellent as was the apple crumble.
The room was larger than we usually got and plenty of room for our gear. The grounds have some pretty gardens and lovely chickens. I would go back for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Myself, partner and 2 year old stayed here for 2 nights. Nothing was a trouble to the staff or owners, Wayne and Paula. We had a super comfortable 2 night stay, with amazing food and hospitality.  Our little one especially loved chasing the chickens in a morning (very funny too watch)! We have our return stay booked already!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazboy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stay here when working in Penrith and the staff are great, they're always friendly and make you feel welcome. Lovely food too!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Having decided to take my girlfriend to a quiet tranquil spot for a night away I was happily surprised with my choice, the hotel was lovely and clean the couple running it were Kind and friendly, the food was of good quality and plentiful would recommend the hotel to anybody

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolChris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

stayed here with my mum in a twin room good friday night, very nice staff and lovely room, breakfast was excellent, and location was perfect for nearby tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012 via mobile

we stayed for a week Judith the bar tender/waiter was excellent friendly and chatty

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenhall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country House Hotel

Property: Edenhall Country House Hotel
Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenhall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Edenhall Country House and Restaurant. Our independently run hotel dates back to the mid 17th century, and offers excellent accommodation just 5 minutes from Penrith and the M6 (J40). The village of Edenhall is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and situated in the beautiful Eden Valley, nestling between the rugged Pennine hills and the spectacular Lakeland fells. With 20 en-suite rooms, some of which are pet friendly, we are larger than most B&Bs, but smaller and more intimate than many other Cumbrian hotels, making Edenhall Country House the ideal place for a short bed and breakfast break or a longer holiday. Set in over an acre of beautifully maintained gardens, Edenhall Country House is one of a number of Cumbrian hotels that makes a fabulous setting for civil weddings and wedding celebrations. The hotel is also available for functions including family parties and gatherings as well as conferences during the week. Our restaurant serves home cooked food using the best local produce. For more casual dining, bar meals are available along with a menu of light snacks throughout the day. The large open fire becomes a focal point on cooler evenings, whereas in warmer weather, you are free to enjoy the beer garden or relax in our large conservatory. Free internet access via wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Edenhall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country House Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing