We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous reviews suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Well, I think I must have visited a different hotel to the one most reviews suggest. This was a decidedly mediocre night's stay. We were in a room (Room 1) which was in need of updating / renovation. A number of damp patches on the wall and a generally tired look to the room.
Food was poor, crispy belly pork had a flabby skin (both of us had this so it was no one off) and the vegetables were underdone.
The barman was less than knowledgeable. We had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon which was OKish and I went to the bar for another, he gave me a bottle with a different coloured label which, when I got back to the table, turned out to be a bottle of Merlot (which had already been opened and a glass taken out of it). This was changed when I took it back to the bat - no apology.
Breakfast orders were both slightly wrong, but at least the breakfast was cooked to order.
We may have been unlucky, but we've chalked this one down to experience!

Room Tip: Don't have room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wren104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We travelled down Edenhall from Aberdeen to meet my family who came up from York & Hull which was a nice meeting place for both parties to drive to.We was greeted by chickhens in the carpark.... We were there to celebrate my Mum's 80th birthday, we rented the apartment for 3 days which sleeps 6, which turned out to be home from home, and it was nicely furnished, roomy, with its own garden which was ideal for mum’s & our dog. The food in the hotel was good, with a nice bar both very reasonably priced, Both Wayne & Paula and their staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is 15mins drive from Ullswater, and also has its own nice 3 mile walk right outside the hotel which goes down to the river Eden and back around to the Edenhall again. We would defiantly stay there again......Dave & Alyson

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Really lovely helpful staff, and the best meal I've eaten out for a very long time. Had a hot chocolate in the bar before bed and got a pot of it - 3 cupfuls! Really good value too - will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the far end of the top floor - perfect, really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had a lovely night stay at Edenhall Hotel while visiting the area for the Marmalade Awards. Great to find a hotel with a real heart and modern upgrading to the rooms make it fantastic value for money. We enjoyed the home cooking, bar meals and breakfast were excellent. Not far from Penrith and M6 and definately worth taking the time to drive the few miles to stay here. Will be returning to this base on next visit to Cumbria, so much to see and do. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodgewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Working in Cumbria booked the hotel over Internet really surprised and happy lovely friendly hotel with great home cooked food. Given a free upgrade to large flat on two floors with jacuzzi even the chickens were friendly outside the door every morning. If you go ask Paula to show you the chicken that spends every day in the tree!!! Great Find will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way back from a wedding in Scotland. We have stayed in Penrith itself before and enjoyed it but wanted to try a different hotel and I'm so glad we did!
Set in beautiful countryside Edenhall is a great find. The rooms (there were two couples) were both warm and clean with lovely ensuites. They were well equipped with wardrobes and drawers so it would be easy to stay here for a week comfortably.
The breakfast was served hot and there was plenty of it! We all thoroughly enjoyed it and left the table well fed.
We tried a sandwich in our room as I wasn't very well and it was delicious. My daughter and her partner ate downstairs and said the quality of the food was superb and both of them want to return again for a longer break.
A real treasure in a beautiful area, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just returned from our 5th stay at Edenhall Hotel. Great as always, Paula & Wayne great hosts and food lovely. Each time we go you can see another update and refurb has taken place. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Compton18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
931 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
467 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenhall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country House Hotel

Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £73 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenhall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Edenhall Country House and Restaurant. Our independently run hotel dates back to the mid 17th century, and offers excellent accommodation just 5 minutes from Penrith and the M6 (J40). The village of Edenhall is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and situated in the beautiful Eden Valley, nestling between the rugged Pennine hills and the spectacular Lakeland fells. With 20 en-suite rooms, some of which are pet friendly, we are larger than most B&Bs, but smaller and more intimate than many other Cumbrian hotels, making Edenhall Country House the ideal place for a short bed and breakfast break or a longer holiday. Set in over an acre of beautifully maintained gardens, Edenhall Country House is one of a number of Cumbrian hotels that makes a fabulous setting for civil weddings and wedding celebrations. The hotel is also available for functions including family parties and gatherings as well as conferences during the week. Our restaurant serves home cooked food using the best local produce. For more casual dining, bar meals are available along with a menu of light snacks throughout the day. The large open fire becomes a focal point on cooler evenings, whereas in warmer weather, you are free to enjoy the beer garden or relax in our large conservatory. Free internet access via wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Edenhall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country House Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing