We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights whilst working locally, the owners were exceedingly welcoming and really friendly, as were the locals which made for a nice atmosphere in the bar.
The food was fairly standard fare but nicely cooked, piping hot and tasty.

The room was very nice, clean and toasty warm, my only concern that it may be a little noisy being close to the bar was unfounded.

Free wifi, freeview TV, tea & coffee in room, altogether a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Edenhall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Walked in and went to the bar and got the strangest looks from the local. Reminded us of the 'Slaughtered Lamb' from An American Werewolf in London'. We had to explain we were staying local and had a booking. Bar staff were nice enough and helpful.

Went to the tables and you could tell from the menu was 80’s pub food (Prawn Cocktails, Steak, Lasagne etc) and there were paper napkins in the glasses.

Vinegar on the table smelt off, waitress explains that people sometimes put chips in them and gets a new one.

Most of us go for the steak (£15) which means this should be a great meal where I come from in MK. I was lucky and got a really nice steak. Everyone elses were sadly poor and they were not happy. Peppercorn sauce was from a packet and that was about it. Chips were really nice though.

Not once were we asked if we wanted more drinks or if we wanted dessert. When we complained the waitress sort of laughed and said she would tell the chef.

All in all, the food was well over priced and the whole thing felt like the 80’s all over again. If they did the food cheaper, it would have been a much better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If your staying in the hotel and your worn out from walks then I guess the place would do.In general it's way over priced for lousy food.
Avoid the steaks as I could honestly say they are advertising sirloin but I was dished up a very fatty piece of rump. When mentioning it to the staff they found it quite entertaining?? I would assume this is something they must get used to by now!! Service wise we were never asked if we wanted any drinks at any point and I can guess by everyone's disgusted faces they knew we wasn't going to have dessert.
I won't be going back!!! But to be fair this was our first time there so it might not be that bad everytime.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Neale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at this very friendly Hotel last weekend, for the second time. Location is ideal for exploring the spectacular countryside in Cumbria. Many of the rooms had been refurbished to a good standard. Pleasant Bar with a Country Pub feel. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Any Room is fine at such a quiet rural location.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable Bank holiday weekend at the Edenhall Country Hotel, it is set in a beautiful and peacefull Village with easy access to the Lakes and the Penines. The Hotel is very Charming and welcoming. The Room we stayed in was of a very high standard and helped to make our stay more pleasant. Breakfast was of a very high standard and all meals were of a good quality and the Bar was a nice way to finish a wonderful day in the lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed for 1night on 31st Aug 2013. Beautiful hotel with a lovely friendly relaxed atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding and service very good. Bar very nice with a conservatory area. The room could do with an update part from that lovely place and most certainly would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazwaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for one night at this excellent hotel set in very nice gardens, the owners were very welcoming. The room was very comfortable with a king size bed and new furnishings, the bathroom was lovely with a great shower. A nice touch was a heater and a fan in the room, although both the room and bathroom had central heating for colder months.
We were served a very well cooked substantial breakfast which we really enjoyed..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
893 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
5.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
224 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenhall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country House Hotel

Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £79 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenhall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Edenhall Country House and Restaurant. Our independently run hotel dates back to the mid 17th century, and offers excellent accommodation just 5 minutes from Penrith and the M6 (J40). The village of Edenhall is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and situated in the beautiful Eden Valley, nestling between the rugged Pennine hills and the spectacular Lakeland fells. With 20 en-suite rooms, some of which are pet friendly, we are larger than most B&Bs, but smaller and more intimate than many other Cumbrian hotels, making Edenhall Country House the ideal place for a short bed and breakfast break or a longer holiday. Set in over an acre of beautifully maintained gardens, Edenhall Country House is one of a number of Cumbrian hotels that makes a fabulous setting for civil weddings and wedding celebrations. The hotel is also available for functions including family parties and gatherings as well as conferences during the week. Our restaurant serves home cooked food using the best local produce. For more casual dining, bar meals are available along with a menu of light snacks throughout the day. The large open fire becomes a focal point on cooler evenings, whereas in warmer weather, you are free to enjoy the beer garden or relax in our large conservatory. Free internet access via wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edenhall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country House Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing