We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booking in was quick the staff nice, I had a single room it was very clean and spacious. The hotel was a bit creeky because of the old wooden floor. Breakfast was really good and the service was good but in the evening the restaurant had poor service.

Room Tip: Great if your visiting the lake district
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike_mozza_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights, attracted partly by the cheaper price away from the nearby Penrith town and with breakfast thrown in. Room was very comfortable, with nice bed and functioning hot shower, although lack of a non slip shower mat or grab handles made shower potentially a big risky. Staff were very pleasant indeed, as one would hope in a small country hotel. Breakfast was good, with buffet cereals and toast and full English breakfast as part if tariff. Wifi was ok.

Hotel was well located for exploring the area: a few minutes into Penrith and about 25 minutes to Ullswater Steamers. Car was necessary, given distance from town.

We could walk to the village pub nearby, but probably more sensible to drive. We in fact drove and had a nice meal and beer in pleasant surroundings.

Our window in room 1 opened to the hotel entrance, but we were not too bothered with the cockerel crowing and guests chatting late night. However if such things are likely to worry you, perhaps wise to request a different room than number 1.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

stayed here on 19/7/14 for one night bed and breakfast cost £85.yhe hotel is about 1.5 miles out of penrith,it is very homely with friendly staff.room was nice two single beds nice and clean with on suite shower room.in a nice rural setting and very quiet.breakfast was full english with help yourself to cereal toast etc.would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location for the first night stopover. Newly refurbished rooms and secure barn to store the bikes. 15 of us were very well fed with a good selection on the menu at good prices. superb breakfast sent us on our way happy and ready for the comiung slog!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel itself was great, maybe a little tired. Very comfortable bed. Fantastic breakfast. Lovely area. We saw chickens in the garden on the day we arrived, but unfortunately heard the cockerel crowing every hour or so from 3.15 AM until we eventually got up for breakfast, tired. Very disappointing that a hotel would have a cockerel in the vicinity!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LHT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenhall-Hotel, Owner at Edenhall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear LHT39, Thank you for your comments posted, however I was disappointed to read about your experience at Edenhall Country House Hotel with regards to the resident cockerel. We can only apologise about him crowing early hours of the morning, I was rather disappointed we were not made aware of this until reading this on here, as we would have liked to rectify the issue on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed over night and found Wayne,Paula and all the staff to be very friendly and received such a warm welcome we felt at home immediately. The food was good but special mention must go to the Cumbrian breakfast - absolutely delicious ! Really set us up for the day. The room we stayed in was lovely with a king size bed ,spotlessly clean and most important brilliant shower. It had everything you would expect in a room that would be twice the price. The hotel is in a very picturesque , quiet area and the locals are also very friendly which makes for a perfect place to relax and unwind. We will be back !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was booked by my son for his C2C ride, the sat nav using postcode made us turn into a dead end so use the address. Good location and if you have a bike they lock it in a barn.
Very friendly staff and very good food, may be a bit pricy but I guess where it is they have to make a profit.
The only thing that spoilt it was inconsiderate other guests, some tosser whistling at 0500 hrs and banging about to take their crappy dog out! you get them everywhere
The breakfast sausages were the best hotel sausages ever and I had few in my time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrinceLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
919 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
461 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
231 reviews
23.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenhall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country House Hotel

Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £81 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenhall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Edenhall Country House and Restaurant. Our independently run hotel dates back to the mid 17th century, and offers excellent accommodation just 5 minutes from Penrith and the M6 (J40). The village of Edenhall is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and situated in the beautiful Eden Valley, nestling between the rugged Pennine hills and the spectacular Lakeland fells. With 20 en-suite rooms, some of which are pet friendly, we are larger than most B&Bs, but smaller and more intimate than many other Cumbrian hotels, making Edenhall Country House the ideal place for a short bed and breakfast break or a longer holiday. Set in over an acre of beautifully maintained gardens, Edenhall Country House is one of a number of Cumbrian hotels that makes a fabulous setting for civil weddings and wedding celebrations. The hotel is also available for functions including family parties and gatherings as well as conferences during the week. Our restaurant serves home cooked food using the best local produce. For more casual dining, bar meals are available along with a menu of light snacks throughout the day. The large open fire becomes a focal point on cooler evenings, whereas in warmer weather, you are free to enjoy the beer garden or relax in our large conservatory. Free internet access via wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Edenhall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country House Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing