We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Accommodation, Fantastic Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quality Accommodation, Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I needed overnight accommodation prior to a business meeting in Penrith and was recommended Bank House. I was extremely satisfied. I was given a warm welcome, despite being the only guest, and the room I was given was very well appointed and comfortable. The en-suite facilities were excellent - with a sensibly sized large shower! Breakfast the next morning was absolutely everything I was led to expect; an extraordinarily high standard in terms of quality of food, selection and presentation. This is not a budget overnight stay, but very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
124
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Bank House is a traditional property with fine views comfortable beds, quality soft furnishings and nice cosmetics.

The owners know the area well and were really helpful recommending places to eat in the evening. The town centre is only a 10 min walk away but the property is on a hill so may not suit people with mobility issues. Parking is on street but is unrestricted and there is plenty available.

The breakfast was excellent with emphasis on organic locally sourced food and the home baked bread was particularly morish - thanks Sarah for forwarding the recipe !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandLPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Just stayed the one night but it was lovely the owners are lovely and friendly, we had the twin room as all double rooms full but we didnt mind as it was really a lovely room beds are really comfy it was hard for me to get out of it . Breakfast was gorgeous everything you could possibly want my husband and I had full English all there products are local. Tea and coffee when you want it and she makes a lemon cake which is to die for . The toiletries are a nice little touch very nice. We went to the George hotel in the high street for our tea we went into the restaurant and if your not staying at that hotel theres only certain choices of meals and are more expensive but still worth a visit food is good. Really looking forward to revisiting bank house .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

At Bank House we enjoyed 3 nights of friendly, unstuffy and totally relaxed hospitality at its best in accommodation of the highest order. The large room and en-suite, double size shower, luxury towels and super comfortable bed and the super array of fresh locally sourced and predominantly Fairtrade produce and super home made bread and cakes on the table made this a memorable stay. Best porridge ever. No hesitation in recommending Bank House.
Read less

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeikeboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Would definitely recommend Bank House. The views were stunning especially in snow; decor and comfort of bedroom wonderful and tasteful. Obviously a much treasured family home too, having been in the family for generations. Delicious breakfast consisting of home-made bread and porridge both made from organic oats/flour sourced from local mill. Proprietors very friendly giving time for conversation and information.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our upstairs room had super views across a lovely large garden area. It was quiet and peaceful. At breakfast we enjoyed further garden views from the window seat. They make the best ever whole oat porridge and the menu options should appeal to everyone. The house is uphill from the town, within walking distance of both town and station. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We recommend this B&B as highly suitable for a stay in Penrith. Perfect for exploring the Lake District.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. I'm sure all the rooms are as good but may not have the same outlook over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Very quiet location - no noise front or back except for a rattling window which I fixed with some paper.
Nice, clean sheets and towels.
Lovely breakfasts and good strong coffee (as requested).
Nice friendly owners - very helpful with maps etc.
it's a long walk up a steep hill from town - I like this but Penrith is a hilly town - 15 or 20 mins walk from the station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
16.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#10 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bank House Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing